We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel whats the problem ????”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
newcastle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel whats the problem ????”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Having read the other reviews i dont know what people expect? We (my wife and I) have just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel and found it to be of very good standard and quality.
Yes there was some issues I.E the stairs but the hotel is fine.
Hotel is split into two, main hotel and there are 3 blocks of bungalows, two within the grounds and the other bungalows were up a hill approx 500m away. We were originally booked to stay in these but on arrival we asked if we could be in main hotel and the duty manager at reception said, without any hesitation yes, we later found out that the bungalows were all closed for the season and all guests were now in main part of hotel. We did speak to guests who had stayed in bungalows week before and they said although smaller than hotel rooms they were fine and would have no hesitation of staying in again. We did visit the furthest away, just to be nosey and they had all the main ammenities of main hotel aswell and looked Ok.
The hotel did have a lot of stairs and would be a big problem for people with mobility issues, there was two lifts but they did not go to all floors or pool areas.
Hotel very clean and staff were excellent. Our room had 2 large flat screen TVs, two bedrooms and a whirlpool although i dont think all rooms were this size or had the same facilities, guests we socalised with each night did seem very happy with rooms.
Our rooms were cleaned and bed changed each day except Sunday.
Restaurant was large and airy and staff were very good. All meals were buffet style and there was a good selection at every meal which included salads, fish, pasta, meat (we had lamb chops, pork chops, steak, meatballs etc) and there was sauces fresh bread every day (warm in morning) good selection of deserts and there was a greek night each week. Wine and soft drinks were available at every meal as was beer at lunch and evening meals along with Tea, Coffee and fresh water.
In between meals you could get pizza and sandwiches at pool bar and cake and biscuits in the afternoon. There was also ice cream all day at pool bar.
The pool was cold but refreshing and very spacious area, A good thing, reserving chairs was not allowed.
Drinks were available all day from 9.00 am till 11.00pm either at pool or in the evening also in main bar in hotel. This included local beer, brandy, ozzo, raki, wine, soft drinks and tea or coffee. After 11.00 pm a charge applied.
Entertainment did not exist when we were there but there was a stage area beside pool were entertainment had happened during earlier weeks.
Hotel is a little remote, very steep hills down to bay at bottom which had two tavernas (Stellios is superb) and nearest town, Agia Pelagia, is a good 30 minute walk along winding roads and hills. There is a bus stop outside of hotel which takes you to Heraklion twice a day. The hotel also provides shuttle bus to bay twice a day.
Hotel is very good and i would definetely go back if i was looking for a quiet, peacefull holiday but if it's nightclubs etc you need to look elsewhere. Do try the massage at Hotel it's very good.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to face sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mstonebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    274
    174
    73
    47
See reviews for
291
385
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

If you are one of those all inclusive people, then maybe this one aint for you. But if you wanna see greece and only need a bed to sleep in, then i have no complaints. Well the breakfast is kind of disgusting, i cant say for lunch and dinner because we were not all inclusive.we went to small very very nice traditional greek restaurants, and you all should too( Stellios family tavern, Zorbas...)The staff was mostly ok. They speak english very good( as everybody should)( we re not english). There are of course not so nice ones too, but what can you do! If you go to the bar, main bar or pool bar, look for Nikos( sorry Nikos,now you gonna have more work;), this guy is soooo nice, does his job very good, makes people laugh, you never have an empty glass and bothers to talk to everyone. To be honest, i dont know if i d rate the hotel as good, if nikos were not there. Lets put it this way, we are probably going back next year just to visit nikos and the receptionist, Felix, cause they were so nice, helpfull and became very good friends.and i cant say this about every bar man in the hotel but i m not saying names. I hope the owner of the hotel will read this so he knows which guys are important to his busines and which arent. Cause people like nikos and felix are what makes the stay in the hotel much more enjoyable so its these guys that bring the money and not longfaced, no talking to strangers( tourists), in a bad mood barmen! So overall i was happy with the hotel but only because i ve met the right people. What i m saying is, dont take the all inclusive, go to restaurants,taste everything you dont know and try to know greek people, cause they are a rare kind! Dont stay in the hotel all day, drinking cheap raki and brandy with other tourists, and eat bad greek food made by polish guys. GO TO GREECE AND LIVE LIKE THE GREEK.Then youre going to have one of your best holidays yet.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mischbourkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Me and my boyfriend were looking forward to this holiday, when we arrived we were very happy with the hotel looked nice enough. We stayed for 2 weeks, and we just couldnt wait to go home. The food was VILE! it was either pork or pasta every night, i honestly never want to see pasta again. The times of the food were too early or late. Not enough choice, the breakfast was either fried egg or scrambled (which by the way was disgusting, definitly used any leftovers from the morning before.) Snacks were horrible either manky pizza or dried bread with rock hard cheese and crusty ham. The variety of drinks was pathetic, ouzo, raki (minging), white wine and red wine and brandy, if you like spirits, bring some money. This all stopped after 11 which when we booked we were told that it was inclusive.....definatly not inclusive.

Most staff were polish and couldnt speak a work of english which was frustrating. They were all very rude and preferred to serve people who spoke there own language and we were left at the bar for a while waiting for drinks. Not at all helpful. All the animation crew were terrible well all two of them, no enterainment at all unless you call the odd music quiz fun!! same music played EVERY DAY ALL DAY, its like ground hog day!! very unhappy with them. Staff are crap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! not up to the standardn that you expect of a four star hotel!! If your put in the bungalows...I hope you like steps!!!

Air conditioning in room.......no effect! its placed at the far end next to the patio door so you cant feel it. Nice location and georgous place but seriously hotel was a joke, not at all what I thought it was going to be to many foriegners who are also impolite and strange. would never go back ever, they need to improve a lot i feel sorry if you have booked to go here read the reviews first..wish we did!!!

The only good thing here was meeting Nikos who works in the pool bar, he really made are holiday, spoke very good english, very funny and always made sure you had a drink in your hand....best part of the holiday.

Room Tip: rooms in the main part of the hotel are a lot better than the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

For a couple we paid close to 2 thousand pound for our holiday to Blue Bay, we were promised the food was lovely and there was plenty to do, we were informed we would have a lovely double bedroom with a bath tub and great views. On arrival things looked promising- until we were driven in a car 300m up a hill to a small set of appartments with the tiniest shower and 2 single beds pushed together. Room decor consisted of rusty patches and chipped off paint. When we requested to change rooms we were declined, there was no rep to assist us, none of the hotel guests spoke a word of English. We decided to bear with things and try make the most of our holiday. The long hike to the hotel for the simplest thing as a bottle of water was a chour, we ended up renting a quad to aid us with the walk. All inclusive didnt include vodka! and ended at 11pm, you then had to pay for a glass of pop or walk the long walk to the hotel reception for a bottle of water from the vending machine. The food was repulsive! There was no entertainment except a 10 minute childrens disco which was foreign. The pools were thilthy and sun loungers past their sell by date. We were glad to come home. Worst holiday ever. Only good time we had was when exited the hotel and went to the centre and attended bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I do not usually write reviews but I felt compelled to put a few bullet points that may help you make a decision about this hotel before you book:

1. ALL INCLUSIVE FINISHES AT 11PM - this includes all drinks (coffee and water included) and if you wish you drink after you have to pay!

2. Food is only available at breakfast, lunch and dinner with the exception of a slice of chocolate cake at around 3pm and ice cream available at Athena bungalows (not sure about main hotel). All other food will have to be bought from the hotel shop (open limited hours) or the local supermarket which is down a very steep hill and not for those with mobility issues. The food is very, very samey - if you don’t like pasta I wouldn’t recommend. We had pasta for lunch and dinner for 10 days along with fish, chicken and pork with salad - the food was tasty but there was little variety.

3. Try and get a room in the main hotel - our Athena bungalow was ground floor (popular with ants and 2 large cockroaches) and was a short walk from the main building - nothing to complain about though unless you have mobility issues but it was very basic and not what we expected.

4. The pool in the Athena building wasn’t cleaned on a regular basis so did tend to have leaves in but wasn’t dirty to a great extent.

5. The hotel itself is lovely, stunning location with 2 small cove beaches (steep hill to access) and very peaceful - very modern and well furnished (apart from our room which was not pleasant) and the staff were friendly and always smiling. One point to mention would be, as a couple, there are no bars or nightlife within walking distance (especially at night as not well lit) so it is very quiet and as all inclusive finished at 11pm we were in bed quite early - great for relaxing but poor if you wish to eat and drink out.

All in all we had a lovely first holiday together - we like a quiet holiday but this was too quiet for us. Would not go back but not because it was a horrid place, just would like more for our money!

This is not meant as a moan but more as a guide to young couples who may want to travel here!! :)

Room Tip: main hotel is a must if you can get one - usually only given to familys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank devongirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Myself, my wife and 10 year old son went to to the Blue Bay in Agia
Pelagia in August 2011. This was the worst holiday we have ever had. We
booked through Jet2 from Leeds & Bradford. Firstly, the photo on the
Jet2 webpage is deceiving because the hotel you see in the background
is not the 4 star Blue Bay but the 5 star Sea Side. We, like I assume
others thought it was the Blue Bay in the photo.

The outbound flight went very well. Our problems started when we left
Heraklion Airport. We left the airport and no Jet2 rep to meet us, we
had to find the booth ourselves some 100 yards or so away. We were
given an envelope with information and told which bus to board. It was
9pm and the bus did not leave until after 10pm. The rep never bothered
to come on the bus to let us know why we were kept so long. It turns
out they were waiting for some people to get on the bus who were
already on. They had apparently done 2no envelopes for the same person.

We got to the hotel about 11am (did not approve of the driver using his
mobile whilst driving along twisty roads but I guess this is typical of
the standards over there). Check in fine and shuttled to "bungalow" up
small hill 1 min from main hotel. My god the light switch was hanging
off the wall, the toilet cistern was at 45 degrees held on by one screw
and we just happened to be directly below the bar playing loud music
and we could hear all the noise you would expect and when we checked
this bar would be ope till 1pm we rang reception for another room. They
promised to change the next day. Shattered from our journey we did not
get to sleep by 2pm. Looked out from the balcony, partial sea view we booked, they were right, big bush spoiling our view but go to edge of balcony and we could see the sea.

The next day we went to reception and told to come back after 12 noon as
rooms were vacated by then. We unpacked minimum items and repacked and
took our suitcases into reception about 1.30pm. I saw the same lady and
then got told there would not be a room till the next day. I must admit
I lost it at this point and demanded another quieter and safer room
which was suitable for families. The lady got her boss who also said no
other room was available so I threw the keys across reception and
demanded a change of room. The lady said I was not promised another
room yet I told her the guy last night and the lady stood next to her
told me there would be another room. I was quite irate at this point
and she asked me to sit down and would come back to me in 5mins. She
did so and hey presto another far more suitable room was found.

The hotel was generally very clean but the restaurant was awful. It was more
like a cattle market at best a cafeteria which always appeared to be
busy constantly with people dashing about, certainly not relaxing more of an ordeal. The food was poor quality and repetitive. It was hard to find a clean plate as most had not been washed properly. Greece is known for lamb but was on the menu once and
that was scag ends with more bone than meat, the same for the pork and
chicken. Drinks were very good plenty of choice although 2 euros for
fresh orange was a rip off. The restaurant staff which i got told were
mainly eastern europeans must have been competing for miserable
waitress of the year. I kid you not in the week i got one smile and one
"finished" when collecting a dirty plate. I must say however they were
very efficient and cleared away and wiped the tables very quickly. I
must give credit to one bar waitress Kamilla, who was from Poland and
very friendly.

The night time entertainment was rubbish, bingo, Mr Blue Bay & Miss
Blue bay and games. There was no singing, dancing, or other live
entertainment other than from staff apart from the Cretian evening which
you had to pay extra I think it was 15 euros each and 7 for kids not
quite sure but for an all inclusive another rip off especially when
part of the fee was for food which you have already paid for.

It is 2.5km to Agia Pelagia, it would have been nice if the hotel had a
shuttle bus but only provided transport to a smaller nearer beach down
a steep road. So we walked about 40 mins and got occasional taxi (10
euros).

The bar / restaurant areas has lovely views but beware to keep the bar area cool large sliding doors are open with a glazed balustrade exposed, do not lean on this balustrade as only 2 screws hold each upright and it moves when you lean on it - big drop below.

To cap it all we arranged to extend our room till 6pm with reception (20
euros) the day before and told this was OK. We were by the pool at 1pm
and a lady came over to us and said we should have vacated our room by
12 oclock. They said they had a room for us in the main hotel. She
passed her mobile to me to speak to reception and I refused to get
changed, pack up our suitcases, move to another room just before we
were going to lunch all for a few hours, more incompetence I rest my
case.

We got the impression that this hotel was cutting corners and doing
things on the cheap and customer satisfaction is not a priority. We
went on holiday to be stress free but our experience was anything but, we were glad it was only a week, we could not wait to get home. We would not go back there even if the
holiday was free.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great common areas and good location, maybe a little isolated. The room was big and clean, with great views to the sea, but the forniture and the bathroom were a little old-fashioned; it really should be changed. The bed was uncomfortable.
The food was bad. It was a self service all-you-can-eat with poor quality (natural orange juice in breakfast was extra charged for 2 EUR).
The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragilbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agia Pelagia hotels
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Panorama Village & Hotel
Panorama Village & Hotel
#13 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexander House Hotel
Alexander House Hotel
#17 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Resort Hotel

Property: Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Address: Agia Pelagia, Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' is located on the northern side of Crete, Mononaftis Bay, 22km from the capital city of Heraklion, in the quite village of Agia Pelagia. Thanks to its privileged slope position, it offers breathtaking views of the Cretan Sea. For a vacation in an environment full of natural beauty, 'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' has a wide selection of room types, offers excellent service as well as a range of leisure activities. 'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' is an ideal choice for relaxing and enjoyable holidays. It is also a central point for excursions throughout the island of Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Agia Pelagia
Blue Bay Agia Pelagia
Blue Bay Resort Hotel Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing