We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely time but read this review as a guide for couples :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I do not usually write reviews but I felt compelled to put a few bullet points that may help you make a decision about this hotel before you book:

1. ALL INCLUSIVE FINISHES AT 11PM - this includes all drinks (coffee and water included) and if you wish you drink after you have to pay!

2. Food is only available at breakfast, lunch and dinner with the exception of a slice of chocolate cake at around 3pm and ice cream available at Athena bungalows (not sure about main hotel). All other food will have to be bought from the hotel shop (open limited hours) or the local supermarket which is down a very steep hill and not for those with mobility issues. The food is very, very samey - if you don’t like pasta I wouldn’t recommend. We had pasta for lunch and dinner for 10 days along with fish, chicken and pork with salad - the food was tasty but there was little variety.

3. Try and get a room in the main hotel - our Athena bungalow was ground floor (popular with ants and 2 large cockroaches) and was a short walk from the main building - nothing to complain about though unless you have mobility issues but it was very basic and not what we expected.

4. The pool in the Athena building wasn’t cleaned on a regular basis so did tend to have leaves in but wasn’t dirty to a great extent.

5. The hotel itself is lovely, stunning location with 2 small cove beaches (steep hill to access) and very peaceful - very modern and well furnished (apart from our room which was not pleasant) and the staff were friendly and always smiling. One point to mention would be, as a couple, there are no bars or nightlife within walking distance (especially at night as not well lit) so it is very quiet and as all inclusive finished at 11pm we were in bed quite early - great for relaxing but poor if you wish to eat and drink out.

All in all we had a lovely first holiday together - we like a quiet holiday but this was too quiet for us. Would not go back but not because it was a horrid place, just would like more for our money!

This is not meant as a moan but more as a guide to young couples who may want to travel here!! :)

Room Tip: main hotel is a must if you can get one - usually only given to familys!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank devongirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
There are newer reviews for Blue Bay Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 947 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

Myself, my wife and 10 year old son went to to the Blue Bay in Agia
Pelagia in August 2011. This was the worst holiday we have ever had. We
booked through Jet2 from Leeds & Bradford. Firstly, the photo on the
Jet2 webpage is deceiving because the hotel you see in the background
is not the 4 star Blue Bay but the 5 star Sea Side. We, like I assume
others thought it was the Blue Bay in the photo.

The outbound flight went very well. Our problems started when we left
Heraklion Airport. We left the airport and no Jet2 rep to meet us, we
had to find the booth ourselves some 100 yards or so away. We were
given an envelope with information and told which bus to board. It was
9pm and the bus did not leave until after 10pm. The rep never bothered
to come on the bus to let us know why we were kept so long. It turns
out they were waiting for some people to get on the bus who were
already on. They had apparently done 2no envelopes for the same person.

We got to the hotel about 11am (did not approve of the driver using his
mobile whilst driving along twisty roads but I guess this is typical of
the standards over there). Check in fine and shuttled to "bungalow" up
small hill 1 min from main hotel. My god the light switch was hanging
off the wall, the toilet cistern was at 45 degrees held on by one screw
and we just happened to be directly below the bar playing loud music
and we could hear all the noise you would expect and when we checked
this bar would be ope till 1pm we rang reception for another room. They
promised to change the next day. Shattered from our journey we did not
get to sleep by 2pm. Looked out from the balcony, partial sea view we booked, they were right, big bush spoiling our view but go to edge of balcony and we could see the sea.

The next day we went to reception and told to come back after 12 noon as
rooms were vacated by then. We unpacked minimum items and repacked and
took our suitcases into reception about 1.30pm. I saw the same lady and
then got told there would not be a room till the next day. I must admit
I lost it at this point and demanded another quieter and safer room
which was suitable for families. The lady got her boss who also said no
other room was available so I threw the keys across reception and
demanded a change of room. The lady said I was not promised another
room yet I told her the guy last night and the lady stood next to her
told me there would be another room. I was quite irate at this point
and she asked me to sit down and would come back to me in 5mins. She
did so and hey presto another far more suitable room was found.

The hotel was generally very clean but the restaurant was awful. It was more
like a cattle market at best a cafeteria which always appeared to be
busy constantly with people dashing about, certainly not relaxing more of an ordeal. The food was poor quality and repetitive. It was hard to find a clean plate as most had not been washed properly. Greece is known for lamb but was on the menu once and
that was scag ends with more bone than meat, the same for the pork and
chicken. Drinks were very good plenty of choice although 2 euros for
fresh orange was a rip off. The restaurant staff which i got told were
mainly eastern europeans must have been competing for miserable
waitress of the year. I kid you not in the week i got one smile and one
"finished" when collecting a dirty plate. I must say however they were
very efficient and cleared away and wiped the tables very quickly. I
must give credit to one bar waitress Kamilla, who was from Poland and
very friendly.

The night time entertainment was rubbish, bingo, Mr Blue Bay & Miss
Blue bay and games. There was no singing, dancing, or other live
entertainment other than from staff apart from the Cretian evening which
you had to pay extra I think it was 15 euros each and 7 for kids not
quite sure but for an all inclusive another rip off especially when
part of the fee was for food which you have already paid for.

It is 2.5km to Agia Pelagia, it would have been nice if the hotel had a
shuttle bus but only provided transport to a smaller nearer beach down
a steep road. So we walked about 40 mins and got occasional taxi (10
euros).

The bar / restaurant areas has lovely views but beware to keep the bar area cool large sliding doors are open with a glazed balustrade exposed, do not lean on this balustrade as only 2 screws hold each upright and it moves when you lean on it - big drop below.

To cap it all we arranged to extend our room till 6pm with reception (20
euros) the day before and told this was OK. We were by the pool at 1pm
and a lady came over to us and said we should have vacated our room by
12 oclock. They said they had a room for us in the main hotel. She
passed her mobile to me to speak to reception and I refused to get
changed, pack up our suitcases, move to another room just before we
were going to lunch all for a few hours, more incompetence I rest my
case.

We got the impression that this hotel was cutting corners and doing
things on the cheap and customer satisfaction is not a priority. We
went on holiday to be stress free but our experience was anything but, we were glad it was only a week, we could not wait to get home. We would not go back there even if the
holiday was free.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great common areas and good location, maybe a little isolated. The room was big and clean, with great views to the sea, but the forniture and the bathroom were a little old-fashioned; it really should be changed. The bed was uncomfortable.
The food was bad. It was a self service all-you-can-eat with poor quality (natural orange juice in breakfast was extra charged for 2 EUR).
The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ragilbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The staff were very helpful and the food was fantastic I have never eaten so much fruit and vegetables. The whole complex was clean and tidy and the all-inclusive drinks were always available .

Slight negative in the bungalows the shower was tiny, although the room itself was spacious and view of the beach great. Also, 105 steps up to dinner not for the unfit or infirm

The weather was guaranteed over thirty each day, although the beach was pebbly and small and a long way back up the hill.

I would recommend this hotel as it was peaceful and not many English people

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Hotel very clean,Food very nice,Beds rock hard,location a little isolated for me.
Generally a relaxed holiday no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Hotel is in a beautiful scenic location in between mountains and the crystal blue sea.
The hotel is in 3 parts and i would strongly recommend being in the main building. We stayed in the family room which had two bedrooms and a bathroom with two satalite TV's and was comfortable and spacious and clean. The pool area is nice with two pool slides and a bar area. 5 minute walk to the beach which we did every day however not for the elderly or for anyone with walking difficulties as the road leading to the beach is quiet steep but if you are in good health not necessarily fit this walk is manageable. The Hotel restaurant is managed by George who always has a smile on his face and greets everyone each day without fail and the food is to a very good standard with lots of variety and the staff are always helpful. The Main Bar has a great view overlooking the resort and is again managed by Nikos who has a great personality very funny and tries to make your stay an enjoyable one. We spoke to other tourists whilst we were at the main bar and also at the pool area and the common theme that we all agreed was that it is great to have a variety of music but a little more Greek music would have been better to give the resort its authenticity as hardly any Greek music was played to make you actually feel you were on a Greek Island. There is a Greek night every other week as our stay was only 10 days we unfortunately miss this. The reservations Manager Maria was fantastic who was always helpful to all our needs and went out of her way to make our stay memorable. Felix at reception was also great and gave us plenty of information when we were trying to organize our trip around the Island. The Pool Bar area lacks personality and i believe this is an area that strongly needs to be looked at as you spend most of your day around the pool. Facebook and other internet sites should not come before customer service and the computer should be moved from the bar so staff should put customers always first. All inclusive drinks which are local are stopped at 11pm after that you are expected to pay not something we were told about when booking so please be aware. Overall Management and Hotel are great who aspire to make your stay a great one. A hotel i would strongly recommend for a relaxing chilled out holiday a car is recommended for the evenings if you wish to visit places as there is not much to do around the resort with very few shops to visit in the evenings and the entertainment is limited. We choose this hotel as we did want a relaxing comfortable quiet holiday and this was achieved so our holiday was successful. Thank you to Blue Bay Team.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diamond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 2 weeks in this awful place: the room was dirty, smelling of smoke, and definitely needing a deep refurbishment. There were about 20 dead mosquitoes smashed on the wall. The shower curtains were unbeliavably dirty. Food quality was abysmal: everyday the same food, after three days we decided to to restaurants for dinner, despite having paid for half-board. The hotel is far away from the nearest beach. No wifi in the rooms. Staff, with very few exceptions was unhelpful, unfriendly if not eden rude. 3 days before departure I had a bag with wallet, mp3, money and documents stolen at the recepito and I got no help at all. When I filled in a complaint via email, several months later, as requested by my Travel insurance, they did not even bothered to reply.

And, as a final note, this pretends to be a 4stars hotel! Do yourself a favour: go elsewhere...

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bambacillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agia Pelagia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Pela Mare Hotel
Pela Mare Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panorama Village & Hotel
Panorama Village & Hotel
#13 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Resort Hotel

Address: Agia Pelagia, Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range: $48 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bay Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' is located on the northern side of Crete, Mononaftis Bay, 22km from the capital city of Heraklion, in the quite village of Agia Pelagia. Thanks to its privileged slope position, it offers breathtaking views of the Cretan Sea. For a vacation in an environment full of natural beauty, 'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' has a wide selection of room types, offers excellent service as well as a range of leisure activities. 'Blue Bay Resort Hotel' is an ideal choice for relaxing and enjoyable holidays. It is also a central point for excursions throughout the island of Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Blue Bay Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Agia Pelagia
Blue Bay Agia Pelagia
Blue Bay Resort Hotel Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing