We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our best experiemce in Kreta. Irecommand to everybody”
Review of Taverna Stelios

Taverna Stelios
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was our best experiemce in Kreta. Irecommand to everybody”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

After many bad choices in the hotel restaurant we tried this family taverna and we decided to eat every time here in our last days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Verzy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    53
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerhaven
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A really Greek tavern”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Ecxellent typical Greek food.Stelios is very friendly,and always with a smile.Fresh cretan vegetables ,tzatziki,mousaka.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gerdgerdof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Lovely restarant , very friendly great staff who really make you so welcome with free fruit and drinks , excellent value for money.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The perfect end to a perfect day on holiday”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

After a day exploring the beaches we walked along the coastline and down into Mononaftis bay where we saw this lovely tavern which overlooks the beach. Stelios is the father but the two brothers Manolis and Kostas looked after us (two friends enjoying a week's break in Crete). They have a range of different local dishes: fresh fish, meat, vegetables: all made with home grown produce, they are varied, incredibly tasty and unbeatable prices too. At the end of the meal Kostas appeared with a smile saying "Vitiman Time" and flourishing a dish of chopped fruit: melons, cherries... a combination of healthy food and great taste :-) and sipping a glass of wine, listening to the gentle lapping of the waves on the shore. Wonderful :-)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonHartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stelios’ tavern- bar Mononaftis Beach Iraklio, Crete .
We saw this beach taverna mentioned in a review of our hotel nearby, and decided to try it out on the first night of our stay. We returned there every single night.
A family business for over 25 years, Stelios holds the fort in the kitchen with his daughter and daughter - in- law, while sons Manolis and Kostas provide quiet and courteous service front of house. All Greek specialities are offered – we particularly recommend the aubergine slippers and fried courgettes, but the moussaka and mussels are good too - and all meals conclude with true Cretan hospitality , what Manolis calls ‘vitamin time’- a complimentary dish of freshly chopped fruit ( melon, kiwi, cherries, banana, apricots etc) and a glass of ouzo.
Arrive between 8.30 and 9 pm if you want a table overlooking the charming fishing bay. Supper for two, with house wine, 25 - 30 euros.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Puccinichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Stelios also viewed

Agia Pelagia, Heraklion Prefecture
Agia Pelagia, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Agia Pelagia, Heraklion Prefecture
Agia Pelagia, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Stelios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing