We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“class and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“class and quality”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I had the most relaxed holidays ever!I loved the landscape and the beautiful architecture.
The views from my room to the endless blue were awesome. There are always things to do and you don't feel you want to leave the resort.
I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginakion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear ginakion

Thank you so much for your time writing this wonderful tripadvisor review and also for choosing the Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort for your beach holidays in Crete.

We hope to see you again soon, in the meantime we welcome you to join our facebook page. Just search for “ Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort”. We have a great “group” of friends and we keep everyone updated with reasons to come back!

Best Regards

E.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    247
    113
    82
    52
See reviews for
355
307
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have been to Crete twice before but had not visited Agia Pelagia. I was amazed to see the wonderful beach and the amazing resort with everything a modern family wishes to find. Friendly staff, freshly prepared food, things to do without wanting to leave the place, gourmet breakfast with a greek flavor, events that we will remember with or without looking back at our summer photo album.
After 10 days of vacation, the children were asking when we were coming back. Soon. Really soon. Next summer maybe? Definitely. Wearing our favorite blue bathing suits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy201472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Sandy201472

Thank you so much for this amazing review on our trip advisor page and for choosing to stay at Out of the Blue Capsis Resort for your family holidays in Grete.

We are so honoured to read what an amazing experience you had at our beach hotel and all of your kind praise you give about our facilities, location and food.

We look forward to welcoming your family back to our wonderful resort in Agia Pelagia for another amazing holiday experience.

Please feel free to email any special requests you may have prior to your next arrival and be assured we will do our upmost best to fulfil them.

Best Regards

E.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

we arrived at Out of the blue in Agia Plagia last year for 4 days. it was very easy to get there, we had a car and a comfortable parking space near the reception. the check-in was quick and efficient. we got a room in the Oasis section. it was very nice, large, modern facilities. close to everywhere (pools, beach, restaurant...)
all the other facilities in the hotel were great! you just do not need to get out of the resort at all!
we had a perfect time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We went there in end of September –early October last year…..It was the best time to recharge your batteries by the way, they have great Spa and indoor pool, and the sea was still warm! The natural beauty of this resort is not something I have seen in other resorts before. Truly relaxing…. The suites are gorgeous with huge flat screen TV's. It has everything! Can't say enough about it. And Nice people in Crete… and the staff in the resort re always there if you need something, yet never in your way. Especially Manolis at bkfst and dinner and Thalia at the Poolside Restaurant… All in all, this place really made our trip. I sincerely mean that. I am a fan of trying out different places when I revisit areas, but honestly, there is no chance that I'm going to stay anywhere else if I come back to visit Crete..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

To begin with this is my first review on this website because I just think the potential guests must know what they should expect. The hotel stars in Greece are often meaningless. And the words like “elite” in a hotel name is often nothing more than a cheap trick to attract inattentive people. The positive reviews couldn’t have been made by real people or by people who travel a lot. The hotel was packed though with mostly Russian and Ukranian tourists who arrived through travel agencies. So:

Arrival: No one helped with luggage. The receptionists were all busy and looked tired and unhappy, so we had to wait 5 minutes or so for our turn.

The Room: It was spacious but with cheap Ikea-type furniture, though less dirty than the bathrooms (which were full of ants, some tiles missing and with stains).

The Pool: the water was cold, no towels. We had to leave quickly because some sort of a limbo contest started and entertainers were shouting too loud.

The restaurant at the waterfront: The lady who met us was upset to see us. She asked why we came. We said we would like to have dinner. She thought a while then replied that unfortunately they had only special lobster dinner, which was very expensive. We agreed for the price though and sat at the table. Then the manager came and dropped a la carte menus on the table. We asked if we could have lobster dinners but he said it’s impossible and we should choose only from the menu... The food was worse than average, but the bill was higher than in most Michelin starred restaurants. While we were eating deserts they took off all tablecloths from the other tables, they were all dirty with stains of previous food and looked horrible

Breakfast: It was included in the room price. We ordered it to be brought into the room. They brought it but asked then to sign a bill for EUR 196. I said we have it included in the room rate, and the room service man said ok and went away. To be on the safe side we looked in the menu again and found the set breakfasts with prices varying from EUR 15 to EUR 22 per person (I will try to attach the menu and the bill to my message). We ate the breakfast (it wasn’t bad, to be fair). Then I received a call from reception. They told me to come there because they needed to talk to me. I came and the lady there said we have to pay full price as per a la carte menu – because it was brought into the room (there was nothing special in the order though – all food was same as they have in the buffet for breakfast or as per their set breakfast menu). I asked why they hadn’t told us when we ordered – she replied it should have been obvious. Then she said I should wait for the manager and he would explain why. He repeated the same nonsense and added that we would not leave the hotel if we don’t pay for this breakfast in full OTHERWISE HE WOULD CALL THE POLICE. All in all it took them 2 hours to come these words. I had no more arguments.

The good thing is that it was our last day and we had a real 5-star hotel of a reliable and well-known US chain booked nearby where we could finally relax and enjoy the beautiful island of Crete with its warm hospitality, fabulous food, clear sea, divine mountains and wild nature.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Artemio_J_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Artemio_J_P

You are right in that. There are business owners out there faking reviews. We are from the old school of business ethics that insist on earning a good reputation over time with excellent customer service ..

We ensure you that the reviews here are 100% legitimate and left by our real customers. As you can imagine, we really appreciate the time they took to do this ... We are one of the most famous hotels in Greece with guests from all over the world .

The resort’s advantage is our specialized spa and wellness services as well as the organization and host of international conferences and events. For the record, it is worth mentioning that the hotel was chosen as the only official hotel for the football tournament held in Heraklion during the Olympic Games in Athens 2004. Widely known companies have trusted us for the organization of their congresses and famous personalities from Greece, Europe and Russia choose us for their ingognito vacations . A visit to our facebook page will convince you ...

As you can understand , all these years ,demanding customers honor us with their choice and not “inattentive people” as you mentioned.

Furthermore, the hotel has been awarded with the “Star Diamond Award in 2008” , the World of Hospitality Award 2002 for "Best Innovation in Terms of Environmental Protection", the ITMA Incentive Travel & Meetings Association / 5th National Bronze Award in 1999 and is a member of "THE GREAT HOTELS OF THE WORLD ».

In 2013 & 2014 , our Luxurious OH! All-Suite Hotel & Spa , Divine Thalassa Neighborhood and Crystal Energy Hotel at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort officially joined the Preferred Boutique Hotels network, thereby adhering to the high, rigorous facility and service standards imposed by the renowned brand.

We invite you to come to our resort and see for yourself, enjoy our high quality premises and facilities and enjoy the numerous services we provide for each of our valued guests.

Kind Regards


E.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I think this is one of the best spa & wellness hotels because of the many good and relaxing beauty treatments offered . The hotel is very well positioned on the seafront – great views from the sea view rooms. We booked a sea view room with a balcony and it was amazing. The interior I also really liked. As I said, I was very impressed by the very innovative beauty and health treatments offered by the spa. True professionals!! Try the massage with cretan herbs, the massage with chocolate or arrange an appointment with the in- house doctor, she can suggest you very specialized antiaging treatments! I loved this place! It makes you feel like a queen <3

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EloisaAddonizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapsisEliteResort, Social Media Manager at Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear EloisaAddonizio

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort in Greece. We are very happy to read your overall comment about the resort's facilities, services as well as your rejuvenating experience of our unique and innovative spa & antiaging treatments.

We hope to see you soon when you need another great spa holiday to escape from the daily routine, and we look forward to your many returns.

Warm wishes

E.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a huge hotel complex with different type of accommodations on a very beautiful private peninsula.
It's rather confusing when you try to book a room as you will not know where to stay for your needs. So here's some help:

Ruby Red Regal Hotel: is the first part which was built quite a time ago and is more in the centre of the peninsula. Adjecent to the hotel lobby.

Eternal Oasis Neighborhood: This is where I stayed with kids and that what its for. Just next to the kids pool. Great if you have kids

Oh! All-Suite Hotel: High up on the hill, secluded. Close is the Italian restaurant serving good pizzas and a small and elegant swimming pool.

Divine Thalassa: A long the crest, with a sea view. Nice for couples. Close to the beach.
Crystal Energy Hotel: In the centre just opposite the Ruby Red Regal. This building contains the breakfast hall and the fitness centre.

The double room was very modern, clean with a good separate shower. Beds are very comfortable. It’s a vast area across the whole complex, but walking is easy and you can always order a club car.

Breakfast: Buffet style in a huge hall and outdoor area. The variety is big, the food is of very good quality. It’s a slightly hasty atmosphere as it caters to a large number of people. Extended hours to 12am for breakfast would be great!!

Pool life: Many different pools and two beaches offer enough for any taste.

Restaurants: Very good Greek tavern (fish!) and a good Italian pizzeria serving good pizzas and excellent pasta. Prices are relatively moderate.

Other guests: Lot’s of Russian travel groups. But they are all very nice and friendly people.
Travelling with kids: Great hotel for kids as there is a lot to do and see. (Zoo!) But there are also areas appealing more to couples.
Gym: has a few machines, bicycles and even some free weights. See view! (15€ for single usage!)

Outstanding friendliness of all hotel staff, from the reception to the bar tender!!

All in all a hotel super close to the airport for a few days if you are a couple or 1-2 weeks with kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cosmocomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Pelagia
0.6 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,099 reviews
1.2 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
21.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
951 reviews
26.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
18.7 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort

Property: Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#5 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Out of the Blue, Capsis Elite Resort is a 5-star deluxe hotel complex located on a private peninsula surrounded by a luscious Botanical Garden of 167.000 m2 that captivates your senses with its majestic Aegean views. The property is situated 20 minutes from the City and the International Airport of Heraklion and next to the traditional fishing village of Aghia Pelaghia. For those who seek to combine the beauty of the Greek Islands with the utmost of luxury, this resort complex provides guests a choice of 2 hotel collections with 3 different hotels/concepts with various types of accommodation, from family bungalows to private pool-villas. A natural beauty resort which is surrounded by ponds, cascades, colourful gardens and private cultivation of organically-grown fruits, vegetables, herbs and flowers used in the hotel restaurants and bars. The resort features the Capsis Minoan Amusement Park, 4000 sq m,the only one amusement park for children in Greece which features games and activities based on the Greek myths and combines fun and education with interactive games. Sand and fine pebble beaches, 7 swimming pools, 6 restaurants, 8 bars, a water sports centre, a shopping boutique, a nutrition and detoxification unit and a complete spa centre are only some of the wellness and gastronomic facilities on offer at this elite resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of The Blue, Capsis Elite Hotel Agia Pelagia
Hilton Garden Inn Malia
Sofitel Agia Pelagia
Agia Pelagia Sofitel
Out Of The Blue Capsis Elite Resort Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing