We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem worth discovering!”
Review of Pela Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pela Mare Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here the first week in September. It was fab and we had a great time. Pela Mare is on the hillside so the views are incredible, it's also out of the way from noisy 18-30 hotels and loud tavernas so is fairly peaceful too. Yes, there is a steep 5 min walk down in to town and the beach but it's doable and not even a consideration if you have a car.
Despina and Nico are friendly and keep the place beautifully clean and the food in the bar is delicious.

You would be crazy to miss out on this little gem. You can always rev your holiday up but finding somewhere calm and pleasant at all times is damn near impossible these days.

I would like to add that if any reviews you have read of this place that say mountain views, yes it is on a mountain side but ALL rooms face the ocean, the mountain is at the back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ceehoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 197 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our visit to Agia Pelagia this year, in August, was as pleasant as before.
Pela Mare with its apartments, pool area and the nice staff made us feel welcome and we enjoyed the week.
We also noticed some improvements since last year. Twelve of the apartments had been renovated. Re-painted, new beds, new flat screen TVs. Very nice. The other twelve were said to be renovated before next summer.
We also appreciated the dinners, which were even better than before and had a high standard.
In the village we discovered that our favourite tavern Zorbas, had repainted the furniture and equipment in a elegant light colour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Scuba diving Holiday in Agia Pelagia Crete. Staff excellent and helpful. Accomodation basic, but clean and adequate. Lovely pool with a fantastic view of the bays around Agia Pelagia.Food excellent and the choice is yours. A bit far from the beach, but still worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was a mixture of positive and negatives.

Positives

Amazing views-they were fantastic from both the pool and the balcony.
Pool was great, cold but large and clean.
Plenty of sun beds..no bagging needed!
Rooms very clean and the living area was huge.
The terraces are lovely, good size and beautiful to sit out and watch the views with a cold beer!

Negatives

We didn't find the hotel owners very friendly..sometimes helpful but sometimes not!
We had an apartment where the bed was pushed up against the wall on one side so you couldn't turn over in the night or you would bang yourself on the wall.bedroom was fairly small overall.
The bathroom was ok- there was no fixture for the shower extension on the wall, so you had to hold the extension over your head....not a huge problem but would be easy for the hotel to sort out.
The rooms were not always cleaned daily or the beds made daily...not a huge problem though.
We paid for breakfast the morning after we arrived and at six euros each, it was quite expensive. You do get orange squash, coffee/tea, bread, cheese, ham, cornflakes and yogurt but seemed fairly expensive to us.
Overall, could do with a bit of TLC.

Agia Pelagia is a lovely place, mainly Greek tourists which was great as far as we were concerned. A great restaurant there is Cochili on the sea front..fantastic staff and food!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mojitomadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am travelling for four months along the Mediterranean Sea. I have already been through Spain, Italy, France and several islands in Greece. I came to Crete and Greece last year so I am very familiar with the level of quality of hotel that is possible for around 50 euros. Pela Mare was the best value I have seen and better option than many more expensive options. The owner and staff made all the difference.

What to like:

1. Pool that is regularly cleaned and well maintained. Perfect for cooling off in the summer heat.

2. Hilltop location provides beautiful views and means you are able to enjoy the beach and town amenities without having to listen to the noise when you sleep or want quiet. Yet it is only 15 minutes to the beach and dive centre!

3. Food! The hotel manager, Despina, graciously agrees to cook whatever you would like. As I don't eat meat, I had fish and salad that was delicious and fresh. The poolside location provides fantastic views while you eat as you can see in the photos. It was a real treat to be treated as family rather than yet along client.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Pela Mare is very nice hotel with home atmosphere. Recommend to everyone that prefers quiet places and doesn´t like crowded hotels. We had a charming view and I recommend to get up earlier to see sunrise over the sea. Cuisine was excellent, every evening, we were eating for 2 hours and we tasted the meal. We were very content. Despina, thank you!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria_from_Hlohovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great place with panoramatic view a bit windy. Despina's cuisine and hostility is perfect, recommend for all who like home atmosphere, so we really enjoyed the time spent there. We have visited 2 islands Spinalonga and Santorini, both very nice trips.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mithrandiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agia Pelagia hotels
0.6 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
1.2 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,216 reviews
1.0 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Irida Apartments
Irida Apartments
#7 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pela Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pela Mare Hotel

Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range: $52 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pela Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and peaceful apartment complex that offers hotel services. Ideal for families, couples of all ages and travelers who wish to explore the island. Pela Mare Hotel is a 360o view, apartment complex in the village of Agia Pelagia situated on a hilltop only 1200 meters away from two distinct and wonderful sandy beaches. The captivating garden apartments create a relaxed atmosphere surrounded by breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pela Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pela Mare Hotel Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing