We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent home atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pela Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pela Mare Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence
Hlohovec, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent home atmosphere”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Pela Mare is very nice hotel with home atmosphere. Recommend to everyone that prefers quiet places and doesn´t like crowded hotels. We had a charming view and I recommend to get up earlier to see sunrise over the sea. Cuisine was excellent, every evening, we were eating for 2 hours and we tasted the meal. We were very content. Despina, thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria_from_Hlohovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
79
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great place with panoramatic view a bit windy. Despina's cuisine and hostility is perfect, recommend for all who like home atmosphere, so we really enjoyed the time spent there. We have visited 2 islands Spinalonga and Santorini, both very nice trips.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mithrandiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldercruix, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Due to an overbooking at a nearby large hotel we were moved to Pela Mare, what a hidden gem this place is. We enjoyed panoramic views of the village and sea (all 24 apartments have a sea view). Although still all-inclusive at the larger hotel we decided to stay and purchase food and drinks at Pela Mare as the quality of service and home cooking from Despina was worth every penny. The owners are always on site and can be seen working with the staff to ensure all guests have a very enjoyable time. In all the holidays we have been on this was by far the most relaxing and we would recommend it for the chill-out factor alone. Pelal Mare is 30 mins from Heraklion airport and is an ideal base if you wish to hire a car and have a touring holiday. We will return asap for many years to come. Many thanks to Nicos, Poppy, Despina and Katerina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda403_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskoga, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our sixteenth (i think) week at Pela Mare. We still think this is the nicest apartment hotel compared to the other places we have stayed at. This because of the view, the pool, the pool bar, the area round the pool and the apartments. We always have rented a car, so the 2200 meters down to - and in particular up from - the village with it's beach is no problem for us. The apartments have all we need, and are fresh and clean. The staff are nice and helpful, and also the other guests make this a pieceful and quiet place to stay at all day long, instead of spending the days on a sunbed at the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Excellent place ! Great view, very comfy apartments with fabulous view overlooking the sea. Entire hotel is very cosy, friendly and relaxing. It has been our third trip to Crete and best experience so far. Walking distance to the national road makes the hotel location very comfortable for those who like to travel either with public transport (which BTW works fine) or by car. Swimming pool is very clean and never really crowded. Pool bar is a very special place where we spent few mornings for a greek coffee and quit a bit of time enjoying delicious food typical for the region. Last but not least .... the team running Pela Mare hotel: Nicos and Despina ... makes this place very special. We just felt there at home ! Despina's cuisine ..... the best ever !!!!

Room Tip: Each and every room has a beautiful view overlooking the sea. The hotel is just quiet, no worries of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and i were moved to Pela Mare from a neighbouring all inclusive hotel (which was over booked) and we were so glad for the move. We gave up our all inclusive rights at the other hotel and chose to go self catering as everything; food, drink, hospitality...everything was better at the Pela Mare!

The rooms are basic and clean, everthing you need (if your going to spend all day indoors watching tv then stay at home?). The swimming pools where kept clean and the views from the pool/bar area are amazing (likewise from our room balcony).

The staff (and their families) are amazingly friendly and we have never felt more welcome and looked after. We definatly hope to go back and have reccomended this hotels to our family.

Forget the tour operators and book direct. The hotel manager (Despina) at Pela Mare took much better care of us throughout our stay than our tour operator did!

The walk back from the beach and tavernas is a killer, but there is no need to go anywhere when the best chef in Agia Pelagia is at the Pela Mare!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChloeTerry84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We've been there for a week. First in the season. Everything was prepared with top quality and the time spent there was a pleasure. Walking down to the town is tiring but you can get used to it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateusz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agia Pelagia hotels
1.0 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Irida Apartments
Irida Apartments
#9 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
793 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
870 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spiros-Soula Family Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pela Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pela Mare Hotel

Property: Pela Mare Hotel
Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pela Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and peaceful apartment complex that offers hotel services. Ideal for families, couples of all ages and travelers who wish to explore the island. Pela Mare Hotel is a 360o view, apartment complex in the village of Agia Pelagia situated on a hilltop only 1200 meters away from two distinct and wonderful sandy beaches. The captivating garden apartments create a relaxed atmosphere surrounded by breathtaking scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pela Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pela Mare Hotel Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing