We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third happy holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Third happy holiday”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Third happy holiday, I and my family a total of three people, came to this hotel in the middle of September, this is the third time to come here, infrastructure every hotel in perfect, we visited 13 countries travel. This hotel is the best, of course, can not and 1000 euros a day hotel than, all the prices here and what you enjoy is the best, Hotel ARRIVAL hotel for us to prepare a fruit and sandwiches and Orange Juice. The morning sun up very early in the morning, the scenery is very beautiful, the hotel offers a rich breakfast, dinner is also very good, a lot of variety, vegetables, seafood, meat, poultry, pizza, pasta, and a lot of. Thank you very much for the chef here provide very good food for us, and for our 20 wedding anniversary with cake, this is we have the best Chinese food, thanks to all the staff efforts.
Special thanks to the Chinese restaurant chef.

Room Tip: Third happy holiday ROOM 75
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOUN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    611
    224
    94
    64
See reviews for
494
1,155
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I do not even know where to start with this hotel....
We arrived at 1am after our flight. Immediately there were some issues with the taxi driver, and the man on reception found my reservation so that we could sort those out. This took about 10 mins. We then filled in the guest forms, handed over our passports etc to finalize checkin. It was at this point that the receptionist advised me that our room was not available and we would need to be transferred to another 'comparable' hotel. We had now been at reception for 30 mins. I asked him how, when I had confirmed 36 hours ago that everything was sorted, could our room 'not be available'? I was offered no explanation and told that we would not be charged for the transfer to the other hotel.
We should have left then.
So our bags were bundled into an old car, obviously owned by an employee, and we were driven to...hang on, where were we going?! I asked the driver and he pointed to a spot across the gulf. By this time it was 2am. So we trundled along... "What else can go wrong..." Almost as the words left my head, we saw Greek Police on the side of the road and the car we're in pulls over. Not speaking Greek, we have no idea what was going on, until we were asked for our passports. At this point, I really started to wonder what the heck I was thinking...
Eventually we emerge from that nasty experience and arrive at our 'comparable' hotel.
It was a disaster. A horrible, 1 star if that hotel. We were so thrown by it all that my partner stayed awake at night in case 'something went down'.
The next morning, we had been told a bus would come to take us back to the CHC. The bus came at midday, and picked us up, along with the other 20 people who had arrived the previous day to be told there was no room for them either, again, with no explanation.
We arrive at the hotel and there is a room for us. We're told we will still have to pay the full price of the reservation despite the previous nights disaster, but we would be given an upgraded room (to a suite) and a la carte dining included in our price. I wasn't going to risk losing a bed, so we took it.
We were transferred to our room, which, was nice. That is all I can say about it. It was nothing special, but yes, the view was amazing.
The mini-bar, included in the all inclusive price, consisted of 1 Pepsi, 1
Diet Pepsi, an orange drink and a soda water. Thats it. This gets refilled every two days....
So we headed to the pool, we ran into a lot of people from our bus ride, some with children, who were STILL waiting for rooms. We ran into them again that night at dinner, they had'a room, but they were sharing with another displaced couple.
I was speechless.
But it didn't end there. This hotel, as a building and a geographical location, is amazing. But the only positive things about the hotel are the things the staff have no control over. They are unhelpful, almost begrudging in the way they go about their business, as if it's an inconvenience for them to have guests. Anything we asked for, bottled water even, was too hard. Or 'no, not possible'. We ended up needing money to pay for a taxi, with the nearest ATM 3km's away.
Oh. And you will spend your last day without pool towels. Pool towel desk is only open from 10 til 2. And you must return your pool towel card web you check out, or it's €30 a card (the fine print). So if you're checking out before 10am the next day, take your bath towel to the pool.
This hotel is stunning. But not worth the trouble. Considering the price, I would never ever return.
Things may have changed in 8 months, but....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank CJM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerseaside, Manager at Sea Side Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear guest
First I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your arrival and also to thank you for your comments provided.
It is really very unpleasant and bad, the situation of the relocation due to problems but let me assure you that some times things go wrong during the operation .
i understand that this mutter in your arrival caused stress during your drive to the other hotel, we apologize for everything and we kindly ask you to give us the chance to welcome you again in a next visit ,in order to have the opportunity to serve you in the most best way .
Best regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is located off the main road and on the edge of a cliff, so all rooms have a sea view. You really need to hire a car if you want to explore even the local town. A visit to the former leper colony of Spinalonga (on which Victoria Hislop based her novel 'The Island' ) was one of the highlights of our trip.

Positives:
+ great positive attitude of all the staff we encountered
+ super view of the sea from our room
+ care taken to make sure all public areas are very clean
+ 2 pools; 1 for those who want the entertainment and snacks during the day, the other for those who prefer to be quiet
+ a sun bathing area near the lower pool
+ restaurant is large and it's possible to eat outside. Also we never had to wait to be seated
+ good daily choice at the BBQ area in the restaurant
+ possible to have a shower after you have checked out on your last day

Downsides:
- the room we had looks like it was from the 70's
- they were overbooked and our friends had to stay 3/7 days in an annex about 100 meters for the main hotel. There was a pool there, but the views were of waste ground with rubbish
- the hotel doesn't have noisy music during the day or evening, but one of the hotels on the opposite side of the bay had very loud disco music blasting day and night
- as it's on a cliff, there are many steps to negotiate, so I wouldn't recommend it for people with walking difficulties
- steep steps to go to the beach and the small supermarket
- lots of choice in the restaurant, but some of the daily specials were bland. e.g. I couldn't detect any sign of Thai spices in the Thai special dish nor a sign of chilli in the Mexican dish
- fruit drinks are watery versions of the real thing
- I found the 'local alcohol' drinks in to taste more of chemicals than a real gin or whisky for example and therefore I stuck to beer and soft drinks. You can pay to have well known banded drinks
- we didn't try the Chinese restaurant as the oily smell coming from there was terrible
- evening entertainment of poor quality and not many people attended

Room Tip: The rooms (75-98) located in the lower part of the complex are right by the sea although there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RogerD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

the hotel was exelant we enjoyed ar staying there the stuff was very professional and was always ready to help the gides that hotel working whit was also doing great job we got good tips to view sam amasing placis and bechs
resume of ar trip i will go back becous they make my holliday perfect

Room Tip: take the rooms by the reception sight thats wher u always get the sunn on it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deejay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The only way to describe this hotel is fantastic. The quality of food was outstanding - we've stayed at many 5* hotels, but the food here topped it. There is a great range; salads, vegetarian, fresh fish and meat on the grill, as well as a Cretan corner. All food is very fresh and all prepared on site. Georgios, the Food & Beverage Manager, introduced us to many of the Cretan specialities, all of which were delicious! He ensured our holiday was all we hoped for and he was certainly a highlight of our time at the Seaside Resort & Spa.

Our room was amazing - we stayed in room 89 and the views were outstanding; looking out over the rock and out to sea, we've never had a more dramatic view. The faciltities are great - we preferred the smaller, quieter pool, which again had oustanding views.

Overall - a great holiday, where the service we recieved absolutely made the holiday. Thanks very much!

Room Tip: The rooms nearest the peninsular are the quieter ones. We had a fantastic room (number 89) which had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent 6 days in the hotel. The food was excellent. Since we had a problem with the reservation we had a chance to see nearly all the room types on site. It is very we'll fit for a family with kids. Lots of swimming pools and nice access to the beach.
All in all one of the best all included hotels I' ve been to in the last years.
The only cons which are minor, were the entertainment team which was OK and the Chinese restaurant . Apparently they either serve food from a very unknown province in China or the cook have never eaten Chinese food. The staff is extremely friendly, we forgot our camera in the room just to get it back by mail. Very high standard of service. Waiting to get back.

Room Tip: Family suit near the quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ydariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Seaside Resort and it is a lovely resort and location. The facilities are pretty much as described and access to the local gritty beach is easy. We had an upgraded 'shared pool' room and the room itself was probably about a good 3* standard but the shared pool (shared exclusively by 8 rooms) was fantastic. My wife and I thought that for a bridal party the exclusive area of decking and pool for the eight rooms would have been wonderful. We had chosen a week right at the end of the season and guests should be aware that there is effectively a controlled close down throughout October. One restaurant (the pay one) was closed before we arrived and the Chinese one closed halfway through our stay. Also the animation team seemed completely lacklusture (although they were nagged into reluctantly providing some entertainment on one evening). Luckily the weather for our stay was fantastic and therefore we were treated to a luxurious resort which was almost exclusive to us (there were 16 guests remaining when we left), if the weather had been poor my rating of the resort would be a lot lower.
The food was OK - but deteriorated as the staff and resources declined.
The A/I is very good - but ends at 23:00 which is when the disco begins (although with us it was iffy if this happened because no one was there).
Animation - almost non-existant for us.
You are pretty isolated but you can walk around the coastal side of the Penninsular Hotel opposite to get to Agia Palagia - about a 25-30 min walk.
Staff were generally good but with some jobs worth's amongst them (especially the Chinese Restaurant).
All in all I would give it 3.5 out of 5 but if I came back I would probably try the Penninsular.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms with sea view and sharing a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Pelagia
1.6 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
18.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
21.3 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Side Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Side Resort & Spa

Property: Sea Side Resort & Spa
Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Side Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Side Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable holidays in luxurious settings, natural gardens, all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. Friendly staff, great accommodation, attention to detail; all these ensure a memorable holiday to all of our guests. Sea Side Resort & Spa is a great way to spend your Greek holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sea Side Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Side Resort And Spa
Sea Side Hotel Agia Pelagia
Sensimar Sea Side Hotel
Sea Side Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing