We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“definitely not a 5star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“definitely not a 5star hotel”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is not too young, rooms are not modern, but clean. Towels are changing every day, mini bar every second day, air condition works properly.

Good points:
Amazing view from every part of the hotel.
Service, guys in restaurants and bars are very friendly and professional. The best girls in pool bar - Alexandra and Lobby bar - Go Go (she does the best coffee in the world!)
Excellent food! A LOT to choice - everyone can enjoy.
The hotel has rent a car point, good prices and helpful guy there.

Bad points:
The hotel is located away from Agia Pelagia, you can go there by foot (go to the stairs opposite the hotel and go up, there is the way, you don't have to go by main road - I don't know why ladies on the reception give false information that you have to go by the road... by the way they don't seem to be nice). Or you can go there by bus - 2.5E pp one way, this is ridiculous in the 5star hotel you have to pay for a bus.
The animation... very poor, they don't care about people, give you a ball and play water polo, no one count scores or anything, and three animations guys play darts in the same time... They don't take a part in their job. They drink all day and night
with guests - maybe it's allowed... but doesn't look good.
Drinks from 23pm to 1 am you have to pay. 5star hotel!
No playground for kids.


We recommend this hotel, but not like a 5star and not for this price.
But rent a car and go to see Crete, especially Balos Lagoon and The Dourakis Winery!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moniaandtomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    611
    224
    94
    64
See reviews for
494
1,155
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

it was our 1st holiday together and it was amazing. we booked a superior double sea view room and the view was beautiful. we were in the centre of the complex, close to both pools and bars and less than 5 min walk from the beach. the animation staff were friendly but unobtrusive. we loved the set up of the quiet pool and the fun of the lively pool. the food was excellent and varied(the diet starts today) i would recommend this hotel to anyone but be aware as its built on the side of a cliff there are a lot of stairs and slopes.

Room Tip: we had room 229 centrally located but still quiet and after a walk round the complex we think we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallylou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel and spa was once very nice but now it is very tired. On arrival at 22:30 we were advised that no food was available and we were provided with something purporting to be a sandwiches. They were wrapped in cling film they were awful. The reception on arrival looked very dingy and first impressions were not good, however the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. When we arrived at our room (201) whilst is was clean, the hairdryer kept falling apart, the shower high level clip was broken and the shower leaked over the floor. The housekeeping was adequate, but only just.
Beware of the decking by the pool and sun bed areas, it is rough and you may well get splinters in your feet from it if you do not wear some form of shoes!! Our party did!!
The hotel entrainment was dire.
The positive points are the food and drinks were very good and the bookable chinese restaurant was excellent.
Would I visit again? Definitely not, a least until the hotel had been given a major make over.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djc011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Have just came back from a weeks holiday here with 3 female friends (all middle aged) Great relaxing holiday, very clean, food fantastic, staff extremely pleasant at all times, animation team, Sam especially, were still full of energy even though near end of season, would recommend this hotel to anyone :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I don't even know where to begin in summarising this amazing vacation.
This hotel gave us the bet experience since the first call of conformation, which was polite and helpful.
When we arrived to the hotel, the lovely women in the front desk told us our room was upgraded from standard to VIP room with privet pool. Our trip was pretty of-season (early October), and i guess the hotel wasn't fully-booked, but this was an amazing start!
The hotel is astonishing, with an amazing view and a beautiful location and facilities. The all-included deal is indeed ALL-INCLUDED - With a very good and rich meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner), and a snack-bar between meals which is great and fun. In addition, we had a free dinner in the Chinese restaurant in the hotel, which was also really good. We enjoyed a full-day open bar, that included local wine, beer and alcohol (Ouzo, Raki, Brandy and etc.). The room had a small mini-bar, with soft drinks, which got re-filled everyday.
But the most amazing part was the service! All along our vacation, every single server was so kind and nice, and willing to help, with a big smile. the front-desk women, the waiters, the bartenders - The all made us feel welcome and made sure we are enjoying.
The hotel is a bit far from city centres, so in the first day we took a bus to Heraklion,which took us from the lobby to the city in only 3.5 euros. The day after, we rented a car from the car rental that located in the lobby. There, a very nice guy named Nicola helped us Renting a Car and was very kind and helpful with excellent recommendation on where to travel. The roads in Crete is pretty simple, and with excellent road signs, so I recommend to try to travel with car - We had a great day with it!

We will defiantly come back in our next trip to Greece, and recommend this hotel to any of our friends traveling there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avshalom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

this very unique location resort is a nice one.
the hotel located on a mountain and very divided so you can enjoy the quietness and this magic mononaftis beach.
we ordered two rooms and got only one at first night , so it was a bit shocking. they arranged it the day after and tried to pleased us.
rooms are average but nice though.
service and cleaniness are very good.
you can enjoy two pools and panoramic view with free sneak bar which ias very good.
not that comfortable for families with babies cause there lot of stares.
overall very nice resort, we enjoyed very much. recomended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yonatan306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our room with private pool and panoramic sea view guaranteed already a pleasant holiday.
Almost every day we enjoyed the fresh grilled fish, just grilled at the point, not overcooked.
Housekeeper Anna did a good cleaning and the minibar was every day refilled, water in our case.
Resumé: Restaurant, Room, Location and Service great.
Remarks: Cola and Tonic from the bars is very very sweet.
Some evenings with live Greek music near Thalassa bar and main restaurant in the evening would be fine.
We will come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Pelagia
1.6 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
18.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
21.3 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Side Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Side Resort & Spa

Property: Sea Side Resort & Spa
Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Side Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Side Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable holidays in luxurious settings, natural gardens, all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. Friendly staff, great accommodation, attention to detail; all these ensure a memorable holiday to all of our guests. Sea Side Resort & Spa is a great way to spend your Greek holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sea Side Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Side Resort And Spa
Sea Side Hotel Agia Pelagia
Sensimar Sea Side Hotel
Sea Side Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing