We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I liked :
The room
The private pool
The view (you are surrounded by the sea)
The quiteness
The service & thier kindness
The All-inclusive
The Spa

I didn't like :
The food (please be safe, avoid the chinese restaurant)
The wifi
The location (far from the main spot of Crete)
The beach (small and full of stones instead of sand)

Room Tip: Select a room with sea view & private pool, you will enjoy your trip :-)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucieGVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,176)
There are newer reviews for Sea Side Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel is quite pricey for what you really get. Views and panoramas are just excellent (from rooms, pools), you don't see it usually, but that's it.

The service, rooms, restaurants, food is average in better case (e.g. fitness is terrible).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barker80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived in this hotel on 05/09 at around 12h local time. We were told that our room was not available due to an overbooking so we had to move to a different hotel of the same concern.
Already not a great start of our holiday.
6 other people that had booked the trip with the same tour operator (Neckermann Belgium) accompanied us to the other hotel, because their room was also not available.
We were moved to Athina Palace for 1 night, were we had to check in again.
It was quite a big hassle, we couldn't unpack and the next day we had to check out again. The next day at 12h we were moved to the right hotel. In total we lost 26h of our holiday due to this overbooking.

I talked to a few people and apparently overbooking happens regularly in this hotel.

The reception was not very helpfull, they blamed the reservation department for the overbooking, and the tour operator blamed the hotel. We booked this trip around 13/08/13. We didn't hear from the hotel or the tour operator until we were physically there, that the hotel was overbooked.

The manager on duty that day promised us he will threat us like VIP to make up for the overbooking.

When we arrived in our room with sea side we noticed there was a big empty space where a bed/couch should have been. I reported this twice to the reception. Twice they told me the would see with housekeeping what they could do to fix this.
Nothing happened.On the website of this hotel it's clearly stated that this type of room should have a couch/bed.
Anyway, we decided to move on with our holiday and not let all of this ruin our trip.

During the whole stay the reception of the hotel was not really helpful. They seem to work very inefficient. Depending on who you talk to you get very different answers on the same question.
In the end we got a late check out free of charge, but it took us 4 visits to the reception to arrange this. We constantly had to remind them of agreements that were made. This is not the kind of stuff I want to be doing on my holiday.

Fortunately the rest of the hotel is wonderful.
There are 2 big pools and a bar next to each pool.
The staff at the bar were very helpful and very friendly.Cocktails at the bar were ok. They are not great, but they are the best I had until now in a all-in formula. (4 previous all-in trips)

The food at the hotel is also quite nice. The staff working in the main restaurant was also very helpful and very friendly.Both staff of the bar and the restaurant had to work very hard.

There is an early breakfast between 5 and 7 (reservation required on previous day) when you plan a trip. I was very impressed with this kind of service. The early breakfast is not as good as the breakfast but this is the first time I had this kind of service.
It's also possible to ask the hotel to prepare a lunch package when you go away for the whole day. If you leave after 7h you can compose the lunch yourself from the breakfast buffet.

If I decide to go back to this hotel I will phone + email the hotel to check that the room I booked is available.

Room Tip: Some rooms with private pools only have sun on the pool in the morning. If you decide to book a roo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g0uranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked through Lastminute.com resulting in EasyJet flights, Low Cost Holidays Ltd, holiday with Cretan holidays for transfer and CHC Sea Side Resort and Spa hotel at Agia Pelagia, Crete

LOCATION – a great location on the end of a peninsula overlooking the sea. There was very little around the resort, but a pleasant beach with a restaurant and two supermarkets. There is a lift down to the beach and then a short down hill walk. The hotel is modern with rooms on different levels, it is a tiered arrangement with a lot of steps or alternatively slopes providing great views out to sea, but I can’t imagine it’s great for the elderly or disabled. Beyond the bay you can see Heraklion which is a 40 minutes transfer to the airport.

FACILITIES – there is one all inclusive restaurant in the hotel that provides a buffet style meals. The food was gorgeous with plenty of choice, we can’t believe that you can’t find something to suit all tastes. We found all food was made on the premises with little processed food served. The food is fresh and plentiful and the staff are polite. At breakfast the service is a little slow and it could be difficult to find a clear table. Champagne and salmon brunch on Sunday. Main restaurant has outside tables for dining at breakfast and dinner. We never went at lunch time as we found enough to eat at the pool bar

Pool snack bar - salad, freshly made pizzas, freshly grilled burgers, chops, fish, a selection of deserts, crisps, cook your own toasties, veg, etc. There is beer, wine and local spirits at the bars, also cocktails.

The Chinese restaurant was genuine and you were permitted one visit per week. It was located opposite the main restaurant and had a good selection of food. You had a choice of 5 dishes each.

Free wifi in the reception

ROOMS –We stayed in room 526 looking out the front of the hotel looking across pool to the bay. The rooms were air-conditioned permanently and you need to put your key in a slot to make the electric work. Good for a 5 star hotel with Flat screen TV with free channels, hairdryer, free safe, hard beds, well decorated with clean modern bathroom. Cleaning staff were excellent. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

Room with private pools seemed to have rooms above them with balconies looking over them, so not sure how private they are?

POOL AREA – two large fresh water pools; one quiet with bar and one with animation team, bar and snack bar. Plenty of loungers for all the guests in September; no 6:30 towel run to get a lounger. There is a small dedicated children’s pool. The indoor pool was attached to a spa and gym and required an extra charge.

Twice each day a member of bar staff walks around the pool with a tray of drinks and then again with a melon skewer.

SPORTS AND ACTIVITIES – Pool tables, darts, water polo, table tennis, French boules and aqua aerobics

ENTERTAINMENT – The Animation team were young and enthusiastic. We did not engage with them as we were looking for a week of relaxation.

SCUBA DIVING – we found a friendly dive school in the local beach within 5 minutes walk.

All in all, a wonderful hotel, staff were great and a good buzz in the hotel. We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dale_Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hotel's location is awesome, it is in the middle of the mountains in front of the sea, the view from the rooms is amazing. Food is clean and very delicious whether it is in the main restaurant or at the pool.
There are two pools, one with a restaurant and a bar the other is smaller and only with a bar. The second pool's view is awesome, the sea is just in front of view. The water inside the pool is not warm, but many times it was cold to freezing!
Although it is a five star hotel, the rooms can be rated as 4. The mattresses is not comfortable at all, you feel like sleeping on the floor; moreover, the bed is small.
The cleanness in the rooms was good, but some days I noticed some flaws in cleanness in the bathroom.
It is a perfect hotel for a vacation, all in all everything was good, the staff is very friendly and they know English very well that make it easier for communication.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Areen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the hotel. We stayed 1 week and were very happy with the service (reception, restaurants and bars) and the quality of the food was very good. The view was stunning and unfortunately we had to leave after 1 week. I would prefer a softer bed but that is of course a personal thing.

Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went home relaxed and happy from a great vacation. It was a 5 star hotel, compared with other Greece hotels it was the 5 stars worthy. But according to the European norms we would give it a 4 star recommendation. The hotel has a fabulous location, very close to the see, you didn't have to walk very far. Due to the location on the top of the hill, we could see the sea from every angle of the hotel. This was very beautiful. The restaurants are clean and good, we had also dinner at the 2 theme restaurants and the food was delicious, nothing to complaint. A extra point goes to the services we got in the restaurants, very pleasant and amusing. We had a great room, enough space, clean and a mini bar that was restocked every day. The pools are very well maintained, in one there was e n alternation with good animation, the other pool had a nice view of the sea. At any time there was an excellent service at the hotel, if something was not to your liking you got direct help from the front desk, management... we could not complain! They were very friendly. The day trips of the hotel are sure good, given the excellent location of the hotel close to the national road, you have a quick connection to the rest of Crete. If you want to go out yourself with a rental car, the rental point in the hotel is recommended.Very good cars and the inurance are all in. It was a very quiet hotel, you did not bother to loud animation, good night's slaap. We took also advantage of the wellness center, this was compared to other hotels, the best we have had so far. Definitely worth the 5 stars. We have had e very nice holiday here, definitely worth repeating!!!

Room Tip: rooms nr 237,
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Pelagia
0.6 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
1.6 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
21.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,021 reviews
21.3 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,326 reviews
18.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Side Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Side Resort & Spa

Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range: $162 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Side Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Side Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable holidays in luxurious settings, natural gardens, all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. Friendly staff, great accommodation, attention to detail; all these ensure a memorable holiday to all of our guests. Sea Side Resort & Spa is a great way to spend your Greek holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Side Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Side Hotel Agia Pelagia
Sea Side Resort And Spa
Sensimar Sea Side Hotel
Sea Side Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing