We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Agia Pelagia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2012

From the moment I booked this holiday, my family and I were very much looking foward to it after reading the previous trip advisor reviews. Also the hotels own website showed very impressive photographs. We were so excited. However, I am very dissapointed in having to only give his hotel a 3/5.

Positives

* Oustanding location and just the most amazing views from every angle
* Comfortable rooms
* Lovely pizza's and snacks lunch time at the Pelagos pool
* Fun animation team
* Close to a shingle beach with a small selection of bars/restaurants
* Nice pool areas
* Guaranteed sunshine

Negatives

* Food is rarely hot and selection is inadequate for a 5* hotel. Much of it is the same with a couple of changes daily
* Limited fresh fruit available, generally tinned or sliced oranges/melon only.
* Constantly at Breakfast, there was a queue for the fresh orange juice (where 1 jug was brought out at a time)
* Although generally the staff including the animation team work hard, there is not enough of them to cater for 700 plus guests, particulary at peak times
* No money exchange facility available in the hotel. We needed to exchange sterling and I asked at reception for assistance. I was advised to go to a bank in Heraklion. However, on speaking to a waiter at Stelios's restaurant on the beach (which is excellent), we found out the Blue Bay Hotel opposite exchanges money for you.
* The water in your shower can fluctuate between hot and cold if using at peak times
* The air conditioning unit is very slow to get the required temperature. Always ask for a second room card so you can leave the air conditioning on when out of the room
* No menus were available for the 2 'pay' restaurants on site unless you ask. Would have been nice to ponder over them during the course of the holiday.This is not 5*!
* We found the quality of the food in the chinese restaurant very poor. Again poor to other 5 star hotels we have stayed in.

To sum up, if you manage to secure a good deal i.e £700 per person er less for a fortnight and you are planning to eat out a few nights each week, the location i.e views are oustanding and are worth paying for. Fortunately, we planned to eat out a number of times during the holiday and were not restricted to the hotel 24/7. After speaking to returning guests,who had mixed reviews of the hotel on their return, it appears that the hotels standards have dropped over the last couple of years.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank vicky186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

לכל מי שחשב ללכת למלון הזה
אני ממליץ לכם שלא להגיע לשם
אכזבה ענקית
האתר נראה נפלא
אבל בפועל הכל שם על הפנים
השירות לא קיים כלל, האוכל זוועה
לא מתאים בכלל למשפחות עם תינוקות ובמיוחד עם עגלות
תחפשו לכם מקום אחר
תאמינו לי, יותר גרוע לא יכול להיות


I'll translate it briefly to English right now:

DINING
the food in the main restaurant is awful.
My wife vomited the whole night after she ate at the Chinease resturant

ROOMS
Absolutely NOT suitable for babies (in terms of safety)

SERVICE
Very poor

NO VALUE FOR MONEY
This is absolutely NOT 5 star hotel. maybe 3 stars
ALL Fxxxxx up hotel

THE WORST 5 STAR HOTEL I HAVE EVER BEEN

TRANSPORTATION

The only good thing during this bad experience was the booking through Resorthoppa
They came always on time, kindly drivers, and they even upgraded us to a private taxi free of charge

Igal

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Yelena73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerseaside, Manager at Sea Side Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you very much for choosing Seaside Resort & Spa Hotel for your holidays and for taking time to write your comments, helping us improve the quality of our services.
We would like to express you, our truthful sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your last visit in our hotel.
You mentioned that the food is awfull, we suppose you didn’t like it. We are very sorry for that.We have a 14 days menu ,every day different with different theme buffets.This menu every day includes about 120 choises. Even our menu includes some specialities from your country, from Israel,just to find something familiar to you.We are sorry if your wife was sick ,after eating in the Chinese restaurant as you said, Surely it doesn’t happen due to the food. It is the first time we have reported , that someone got sick from the food.
We hope that we will have the honor of welcoming you back to the Seaside Resort & Spa Hotel in the future in order to have the chance to offer you unforgettable holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were sent here by our travel company as our hotel in another resort was closed for refurbishment. As this was an upgrade from what we had booked we were really pleased. The hotel was clean, relaxing and good value. We enjoyed the range of food available at meal times, with food to cater for a 2 year old, and a traveller who only eats fish. We spent a lot of time relaxing by the pool and found the animation team did a great job keeping the atmosphere fun without being too in your face. All in all we had a fab time!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markymisfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent a week here in June. All we wanted was to go from pool to beach and back again. If like us you want a quiet relaxing break this hotel is ideal. If you want action and activity, then I suggest you look elsewhere. There is not a lot to do in and around the hotel. No shops to talk about apart from the odd beach shop, bar etc. ie no resort. I thought the evening meals were a bit same'ish day in day out. And yes, the hotel is built on many levels and may not be suitable to some. Right, so why have I rated it very good, because it is. We holiday on a regular basis and I think I know when I'm getting good value for money. If you want peace and quiet, book it.

Room Tip: With a hotel this quiet, do you really need your own pool !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We had a great holiday! The seaview is amazing. The design of the hotel is very modern. It is very quiet. Not many kids (which we prefered. If you have kids don't stay at this resort, i'm sure they will be bored very quick). The staff is friendly. Most of the people are slightly older. There are quite a lot of russians. The evenings are slightly boring, no free drinks after 11pm. The entertainment is very bad, i don't like silly games with ice cube etc. there is a disco in the evenings which is quite boring ( in a meeting room with people sitting at staring at the people who dance...).
Please don't go to the chinese restaurant it is tasteless and i actually think the prepare everything in the microwave.

Apart from that it is a brilliant hotel. And we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week 10th -17th May and had a fantastic relaxing break, which is just what we wanted. The hotel is set in a beautiful location built in to a cliff side. The hotel has two main hotels the bigger of the two is where the snacks are served from 12 pm and the animation team do all there activities from this pool, the other is very quiet with only back ground music. The food was very good people seem to forget this is a 5 star hotel in Greece and not the Hilton in London!! We were more than happy with the selection of food, breakfast had everything from bacon and eggs, fruit, selection of fresh bread, doughnuts or pancakes (alternate every other day) or something cooked fresh such as an omlette. Main lunch was in the restaurant which we did not try, as we ate every day at the pool bar - pizza was served continously all day till 5. The buffet food around the pool was served 12-2 which had a selection of salads, sandwiches which you can toast if you prefer, which I did most days and 3 or 4 different dishes pasta etc. We went down for the evening meal most evenings around 8 and although there was always plenty of tables it did get quite busy at this time and again there was always lost of choice - a roasted meat every night - local Greek food such a mousaka, salads, bread 3 or 4 other meat dishes there really was plenty of choice. The puddings were excellent, if you have a sweet tooth I thoroughly recommended the chocolate mousse. They are very strict in the main restaurant in the evening and men must wear long trousers/jeans. My husband forgot one evening and although went to dinner in smart shorts was still asked to get changed.

The fridge in the room was re-stocked with two waters, pepsi, lemonade and orange every other day, on one ocassion ours was not restocked till the third day but we rang through to reception and it was refilled immediately. The entertainment at night is nothing to shout about, the animation team do an excellent job and are very friendly - we don't go on holiday to get involved with the entertainment but if you do there is a range of things to choose from.

For the ladies do take your own hairdryer as the one supplied is in the bathroom is not very powerful, Some of the vip rooms had there own pools - we met a couple who paid extra for the last 3 nights to have a room with their own pool, they told us is was great value.

The hotel has a chinese which is part of the all inclusive you get one visit per stay and this was excellent, a set meal to choose from and very quick service.

As the hotel is built in to the cliff there are a lot of steps and the hotel is built over a lot of levels so do bear this in mind.

We visited Agia Pelegia one evening which cost 20 euros return and the same taxis driver offered to come and collect us and return us to the hotel, as it was low season it was very quiet we had a nice meal but we could have had similiar food in the hotel. But I would say in high season is is quite nice as all the restaurants were set along the beach.

We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing break in the sum. The weather was hot every day 30 degrees and only one morning it was quite cloudy.

Finally I am dog lover and there were two dogs that often were around the restaurant entrance at meal times, do not let this put you off if you do not like dogsou c as they would only come to you if you called them. They were very friendly but if you are like me keep an eye out for them as the bigger of the two often got tied up without a drink for quite long spells, I never saw this but one lady complained to the hotel and they untied him, I always tried to give them a drink where I could.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We've just got back from a week at this resort. The layout of the hotel is lovely, the first impression is the beautiful views. The gardens are well maintained.

I'm a vegetarian and found there to be a good selection of food for me. The all inclusive drinks are also good. We ate one night at the paid for restaurant, and one night at the Chinese, which were both lovely too. The service was not as good as I would expect. This is totally not the fault of the staff who were rushed off their feet. There wasn't enough staff to keep everything running smoothly. Consequently there was often a queue at the bar while one bartender was trying to make all the cocktails by himself.

The room was very nice with good decor. The bathroom needed a bit of maintenance but was generally ok.

I had a lovely two hour treatment at the spa. The staff in the spa were friendly. The gym equipment is a bit basic but ok.

The one down side is the lack of facilities for getting cash out. We couldn't withdraw cash anywhere in the hotel and couldn't use our cards to pay for trips. The nearest cash point was a 30 minute walk. Consequently we only went on one trip and had no money to leave tips for the staff. The hotel is losing themselves money by not providing this service.

The entertainment staff were very enthusiastic. We were there to relax and so didn't get involved in any of the games, but there are things to do if you are so inclined.

Overall we had a lovely relaxing time. If you are looking for a peaceful holiday with good food and drink then this hotel would suit you.

Room Tip: The rooms with shared or private pools looked the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Pelagia
1.6 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 30 in Agia Pelagia
1,057 reviews
0.6 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
21.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Side Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Side Resort & Spa

Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agia Pelagia
#6 Family Hotel in Agia Pelagia
Price Range: $156 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sea Side Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Side Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in Crete; it combines affordable holidays in luxurious settings, natural gardens, all under the sea breeze of the Aegean Sea. Friendly staff, great accommodation, attention to detail; all these ensure a memorable holiday to all of our guests. Sea Side Resort & Spa is a great way to spend your Greek holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Side Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Side Hotel Agia Pelagia
Sea Side Resort And Spa
Sensimar Sea Side Hotel
Sea Side Resort & Spa Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing