We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic accomodation, but good food and relaxing holiday”
Review of Amazona Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amazona Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2010

this small set of apartments are run by a delightful friendly family.
we stayed half board and maria cooked us some fabulous authentic greek evening meals.
no choice from a menu as is you would expect from hb, but each morning she would seek our approval for her choice in the evening and it was absolutely wonderful to try all her recipes.
the apartments themselves are adequate and basic, especially the plumbing, in common with the rest of greece
they are desperately in need of updating and very dark. but they where clean enough and maid service was every other day. with lots of clean towels
we went with our two teenage children and the two bed apt was not big enough for all us us as there was no separate seating area and everyone ended up sitting on our bed.
they are really just two rooms with a bathroom and a very small kitchen area in one of the bedrooms.if we where to go again as a family of four i would book two studios
air conditioning had to be paid for separately and was very expensive at 150 E for our apt for 10 days
the spotlessly clean pool was wonderful although small we often had it to ourselves,.even though we where there at peak holiday period
every evening the pool area and pool where cleaned by the apartments owner until it was sparkling
there are two beautiful beaches nearby .one in the main resort area where all the restaurants are located and a second quieter shale beach
we found the resort to be quite expensive and we where also very surprised that most shops and restaurants do not accept any type of card payment
there are a lot of half built projects in the area and it looks like crete is feeling the credit crunch like every one else.
we booked this as a fairly cheap holiday and we got value for money.and for a sun ,sea and sand holiday with good food i would go there again

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank killantrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

From the moment I arrived until the moment I left I felt like having a warm bath staying at Amazonas.
They really like to give you the feeling being on a holiday!
I enjoyed my stay a lot, and will come back there for sure!
It's clean, the staff is friendly and the they will try to help you in anyway!!
What more can you wish from the place you stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparky6502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

All very quiet in October , but if it is peace & quiet you want - you've got it ! Short walk to lovely beach - all amenities within a few hundred yards . Food consistently brilliant - well done Maria & Felix !

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JonathanLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We have just returned from holiday in Agia Pelaghia, having booked a 9 day stay at Amazona apartments, The desription of these apartments is very misleading - the photographs show this as clean and bright with garden and play area, whereas in reality it is dirty and overgrown - you would need a machete to enter the garden. In addition, the outline suggests 'comfortable accomodation' but we can assure you this was not the case - the double bed is in fact two single mattresses on a wooden base set in concrete ! The kitchenette gave no means of preparing own food as the cooker did not work and we had to replace the kettle 4 times in the first 4 days and even then the 4th kettle leaked. There were also bare wires on the fridge. Not recommended for a relaxing break. George, the owner, however was quite charming - the only saving grace for the place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stansdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Really enjoyed staying at the Amazona Apartments. Definetely want to go back again! Really didn't want to leave. Felix and the staff were all very nice and helpful and made our stay delightful. From a glance at first the rooms didn't look as expected but within a few hours we were in love! Perfect for walks to the beach and the tavernas. Would definetely reccomend this hotel to everyone. Thanks Felix!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Room8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We discovered AA in 2009 when booking upon our arrival in Crete. We needed a launching pad and stayed a couple of nights upon arrival and also booked before departure at the end of the hols. We decided to go again this year, but this time for a week. The rooms are clean, the family is lovely, the pool is welcoming and safe for young kids, as is the general area as there are gates that can be locked, and Papou keeps an eye open all the time for safety's sake. Felix and Maria run the bar and restaurant area just above the pool area so what more could you ask for? The beach is a few minutes walk away, Heraklio a short drive away, and other wonderful places to discover, that Crete has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RomanSal1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Visited the Amazona Apartments for the 1st time, they are lovely and clean rooms, nice Family. Bit of a walk to Beach. Had a Meal at the Acropolis of the front and that was Superb and Value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbaralimnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agia Pelagia hotels
0.1 mi away
Andys Plaza
Andys Plaza
#24 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Out of the Blue Capsis Elite Resort
0.1 mi away
Villa Apollonia
Villa Apollonia
#15 of 37 in Agia Pelagia
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Happy Cretan Suites
Happy Cretan Suites
#1 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Side Resort & Spa
Sea Side Resort & Spa
#2 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
2,243 reviews
1.3 mi away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazona Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazona Apartments

Address: Agia Pelagia, Crete 71500, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Agia Pelagia
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Agia Pelagia
Price Range: $25 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amazona Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amazona Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazona Apartments Crete/Agia Pelagia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing