We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayringerlehen
Nearby Hotels
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baerenstueberl(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nutzkaser(Ramsau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pension Berganemone(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Landhaus Sonnenstern(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Koppeleck(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
39
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkworking farmbreakfast is servedgoatsbalconycomfortaustria
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 42 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had low expectations and were pleasantly surprised. We absolutely loved it here and will return.
Good:
-Very friendly couple/family running the hotel. Great information and made us feel comfortable.
-Nice big room including table and chairs plus a small sofa/sofabed including nice balcony
-Self serve drinks 24h a day (beer, wine, water, soft drinks) + special pizza oven and frozen pizza. All this is on a trust based system where you mark what you drink/eat.
-Sauna. This was one of our highlights, booked the sauna for an evening (2.5 hours) and basically means we had the sauna and small relaxing room only for ourselves. Door locked and very private. Extremely relaxing.
-Breakfast had normal meat/cheese/bread etc that you would expect, BUT in addition they had fresh milk from their own cows from that morning, fresh eggs from own chickens and 1 morning even self made cheese from the cow milk.
-Ramsau in general is a nice place for hiking

Bad:
-Location is on a main road, a bit loud from road noise
-Rooms are also a bit loud, can hear the other rooms fairly easily
-Pillows uncomfortable

Room Tip: We stayed in a normal room, but seems the apartments are only slightly more expensive but much bigger. Not sure about this though.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at the Mayringerlehen! As you can tell from the attached pictures, we are animal lovers and this is a working farm. For those of you who aren't animal lovers, let me be clear - you don't need to be around them if you don't choose to. I especially loved a moment seeing the cows obediantly heading in line to the barn for milking one evening. Speaking of milking, there is farm fresh milk with your breakfast and there were two kinds of cheese made from the milk of the Johann and Sabine's cows. Oh - and not made in some cheese shop, but made by Johann and their dairy herd assistant. I loved it when Sabine attempted to explain to me the Almabtrieb; the period of three months when their cows graze in the high country. One of the cheeses had been made by the man who tends their cattle during the Almabtrieb. We'd just come from an Almabtrieb festival in a different location so I was able to understand what she was telling me with no problem! We also did some day-trips from here including the Salzkammergut Lake District and Hallstatt. Great location for venturing forth as well as exploring the little village of Ramsau and it's lovely church and cemetery. The "honor system" mini bar was appreciated one night when we went in search of a cold beer. This is a very pleasant, charming, friendly, warm place to stay. We would dearly love to come back some day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

If you are looking for a bed & breakfast that provides good service and value to tour the Berchtesgaden area, the Mayringerlehen is a good fit. Ramsau was convenient when we wanted to spend time in/around Berchtesgaden, as well as drive to Chiemsee to do the castle tour there. It was also close enough to Austria to sight see there as well. Although the owner did not speak wonderful English, she definitely could speak enough to be helpful, and went out of her way to make sure that we had everything we needed. We had to get two rooms as we were traveling with our two teenagers, and the price was less expensive at the Mayringerlehen than anywhere else I researched. Another perk was that, for a nominal charge, we had access to a washer and a dryer, which for our 3 week trip to Germany and Austria was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a few nights in May of 2011 and had the time of our life ! The innkeepers were extremely hospitable, friendly, and informative. Everything was very atmospheric, including our room (and its view unto the Alps), the common areas, and the farm. Cleanliness was indeed next to godliness here and the breakfast foods were scrumptious, fresh, and much of it was organic, homegrown and homemade. These accommodations and the hospitality are definitely unparalleled in all aspects. I have absolutely nothing negative to mention about this place and the surrounding towns and environs. Magical is the one word that is best used to describe it and we will most certainly be back !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archaeology88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

First of all, we were driving from Lake Konstanz and we hit a lot of traffic. We did not arrive until 9! We had tried to call earlier in the day, but did not get an answer. We were worried we wouldn't be able to check in or something. Johan showed us in and was very very nice and not at all upset or the least bit annoyed we were so late! He even carried our bags upstairs for us to our room. We had a view looking out to the barn and the beautiful alps! The view was amazing. There is a room where you can do your laundry, make coffee, purchase and cook little pizzas, and purchase drinks. Ramsau doesn't have many places to eat for dinner especially late, which is when we always seemed to want to eat. My friend and I ate at the Best Western Berghotel Rehlegg. The staff btw are extremely nice there! (If you go, tell Freimar that Ashley and Astrid in California say hii!). Ok back to the b&b. Breakfast is served early, but one morning, the morning after we first arrived we were so tired we didn't get up and ready until 9:30 and Sabine had left breakfast for us so we could still eat! She was soooo sweet!! The breakfast each morning consisted of yogurts, breads, cheeses, meats, cereal, fresh and I mean FRESH cows milk, fruits, vegetables, orange and apple juice. It was perfect and lovely! The b&b is very clean and Sabine really does go out of her way to make you feel welcome and taken care of. I saw their kids, but didn't have any interaction with them except for hello. There is a laptop in a downstairs common area that you can use to check email etc. The B&B does have a working farm so there are cows, chickens, a bunny, and guinea pigs (i think that's what they were). It's a beautiful place really! Ramsau is picturesque. The river is clear and blue! There is a beautiful church in Ramsau also. Ramsau is close to Berchtesgaden and Salzburg and many other cities. It's the perfect place to explore nearby cities =) I highly highly recommend staying here. I don't think you will be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semisweetreverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews