We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Franziskushoehe
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lohr am Main
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

really nice hotel for both business or leisure. Its on the hill that watches the town inside the forest. The rooms are huge and new. Everything is in its right place. Nothing to blame at all.

You should enjoy the terrace restaurant of the hotel. Nice food and very good atmosphere. Its peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
41
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just came back for a two night, three day conference trip at Hotel Franzikushoehe. This hotel is located within the forests of Lohr am Main. Receptionists were very friendly. The room, upon entry, felt like sauna because all the curtains were opened and there was no A/C in the room or the hotel as a whole. Cleanliness was overall good, however, I did find a crawling insect next to the bathroom but being in the forests and having the necessity of open windows to get some kind of air, I guess one can expect a couple of insects here and there. The bathroom was clean, however, the shower stall was too small. The hotel provides a shampoo dispenser which in my opinion brings down the quality of the hotel. I believe that 4 star hotels should, at least, provide you with separate bottles of shampoo / conditioner and not through an all-use liquid soap. We had dinner the first night as well as breakfast and lunch the folllowing days at the restaurant. The ambiance was quite nice with spectacular views of the city and the forests. However, the meal menus at lunch and dinner was very very poor in terms of quality and taste. Breakfast, on the contrary, was delicious and filling (buffet).

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, however, I would say that it is definitely not a 4 star hotel and would say its a 2.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NakaNiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I stayed at the Franziskushohe from the 5th August until the 9th August 2009. I booked a double room with breakfast on the hotels own website. On arrival at the hotel I presented my booking documents to the hotel receptionist. Strangely I was aked did I want to pay for the booking immediately. I have stayed at many hotels throughout the world and this was the first time I was ever asked this question. My nephew who was accompanying me however agreed to pay on arrival and the receptionist then asked for 420 euros.
I explained to the receptionist that the agreed price at the time of booking was 293 euros.The receptionist repeated that the charge was 420 euros. I then referred her to the booking documents which showed the price to be 293 euros. After further reference to the computer she finally accepted that the price was in fact 293 euros and apologised for calling up an incorrect booking. This was despite the fact of being provided with all the booking documentation.
Next day we went for breakfast and upon leaving the dining room the waitress asked me to sign a slip of paper. The document was written in German. I am not a German speaker and was unsure what I had signed. The following day however the waitress asked me to sign again. I immediately asked her what it was for and she explained that my booking didnt include breakfast and that I would have to pay separately for this service. I explained to her that my booking included breakfast.
The waitress then rang reception and reception told the waitress that I must pay for breakfast as my booking did not include breakfast. The waitress then said that I should go to reception and explain my position.
This I duly did. On duty was the same receptionist who had made a mess of my original booking.
I explained to her that my booking included breakfast she repeated that it did not. Once more I produced my documentation which showed that breakfast was included. Again after referring to the computer for a number of minutes she accepted that she had made another mistake and apologised for her actions.
Needless to say this Faulty Towers experiance has influenced my opinon of the hotel.
Other issues which potential customers should know is that the hotel is perched on a hilltop overlooking Lohr. For guests who have their own transport this does not present a problem. However for those who do not reaching the hotel is a major climb and would present major problems for the elderly or disabled.
The problem is compounded by the fact that the hotel provides no transport facilities, there exists no public bus service near the hotel and there is only one taxi in Lohr which must be pre-booked.
My advice. Avoid all the hassle and book in the centre of Lohr which is a wonderful town well worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

I've had the pleasure of staying at the hotel twice...once in the winter and once in the summer. Both times were wonderful. It's a three star hotel with four star service...and a very, friendly staff. the rooms are modern, large, and comfortable. But the best part is the atmosphere of the hotel itself -- it's very warm and cozy and family-friendly. Yet, at the same time, it's got an upscale feel. This is best exemplified in the restaurant, which has a very warm, family-kitchen feel and lots of homey touches (there is even a mural that says, basically, welcome to mama's kitchen), but the food tastes, and is prepared, like an expensive restaurant. the first time I went was on business and I was alone. The second time I brought my family and my 12 year old daughter loved it. they have lots of activities for kids...which my wife and I certainly appreciated (the cooks and waiters quickly figured out my daughters favorite foods and catered to her like she owned the place). The hotel is perfectly located above the charming village of Lohr and has exceptional views. It also has access to a bunch of well-marked trails into the forest. There is an out-door terrace where they host bbqs, has the best views, and is a lovely setting to just relax. The town looks like it came out of a fairy tale...it's adorable. My wife and daughter also took daytrips to Wurburg and the outlet mall in Wertheim. I strongly recommend this romantic, idyllic and comfortable hotel for either a winter weekend or a summer getaway.

  • Liked — The location and the warm, friendly atmosphere.
  • Disliked — the restaurant closes in the afternoon.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lohr am Main
1.1 mi away
Best Western Parkhotel Leiss
Best Western Parkhotel Leiss
#3 of 7 in Lohr am Main
45 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bundschuh
Hotel Bundschuh
#1 of 7 in Lohr am Main
89 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Anker
Hotel Anker
#1 of 5 in Marktheidenfeld
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Landhotel Zur alten Post
Landhotel Zur alten Post
#4 of 7 in Lohr am Main
11 reviews
13.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Neumuehle
Romantik Hotel Neumuehle
#1 of 1 in Wartmannsroth
85 reviews
21.0 mi away
Seehotel Niedernberg
Seehotel Niedernberg
#1 of 1 in Niedernberg
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franziskushoehe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franziskushoehe

Property: Hotel Franziskushoehe
Address: Ruppertshuettener Str. 70, 97816 Lohr am Main, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Lohr am Main
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lohr am Main
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Franziskushoehe 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your 4 Star Hotel in the middle of the scenic forest of the SpessartThe Franziskushohe, hotel and restaurant with conference rooms in Lohr upon Main in the middle of the scenic Spessart, is the ideal place for an overnight stay, an extended holiday or just a delicious dinner in our restaurant. Our traditional Franconian as well as international cuisine, the comfortable rooms, a scenic landscape and our friendly and personal service are worth a visit. 12 Single bedrooms, 48 double rooms, 7 family rooms and 1 junior suite are waiting for you. Whether it be a short trip, a business conference, a family or wedding celebration - you will always find a ready welcome at the Franziskushohe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Franziskushoehe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing