We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint, charming, warm, gracious”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seez
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Delightful little family run hotel on the hills above Bourg St. Maurice (and not expensive -- I think they are dropping their off-season demi-pension rates to 49e per person)
Comfortable and tastefully decorated with good linens and comfortable beds. The common areas as especially charming as they retain the original wooden fixtures (fireplace, siding, etc.)  The west facing breakfast room was as terrific place for our group to convene for our post ride beer(s - time saving 50cl Pelbforth blondes are 5e each) and watch the sunset over the Petit St. Bernard.
The dining room is a vast open space where they serve (at least during our overnight) a copious (if not overly fancy) buffet that suited our group of 20 cyclists perfectly: cold salads, soup, grill your own meats, several potato side dishes and a wide assortment of quite excellent desserts.

Breakfast was again copious and well done, not extravagant, but perfectly adequate (juices, boil your own eggs, ham, cheese, yougurt, cereals, machine coffee...)

The only drawback for some might be the bathrooms, which the owners have had to retrofit into a floorplan that was not originally designed for ensuites (there are still extra common WCs on the "pallier" as they say, or at the end of the hallways.) the bathtubs, such as they are (our at least our room's was) are poured concrete with a setp in slot cut out of the side which obviously makes a full deep bath impossible (much to the dismay of our tub-loving English group members.)

Room Tip: if you can, ask for a view out to the West, over Bourg St. Maurice and the mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Not a luxurious hotel but a friendly, charming one. Our bedroom was small but quaint (think wood panel walls and gingham soft furnishings). We had an excellent buffet dinner (cook your own steaks if you chose them!) with the largest selection of desserts to help yourself to that I have ever seen!

Only one large towel instead of two in the bathroom (& I think I heard someone else complain of the same thing) but that was soon rectified.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M0llyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosiere73, Propriétaire at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

hello thank you for your appreciation.we are very sensitive to your opinions.
Towels for showers, our bathrooms have 2 large towels, 2 hand towels and a bathmat.
But the person in charge of the réaprovisionner forget them often, too often ...
sorry sorry. alons we remedy this incident has ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

stayed here a cycle tour round mont blanc with 8 guys. Title of review says it all really, they were very hospitable ( think they opened a couple of days early because we were coming through, and had picked up a few more bookings). Really charming hotel, great views over the valley, and meals were good - self service buffet including hot plate for cooking steaks - obviously may be different during busy periods. Wouldnt hesistate to recommend this, and hope to return to ski at some point. Dip in the outdoor pool was refreshing after a days cycling!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

A very bike friendly hotel with motorcyclists from seveal countries staying during our visit.
The owners were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thepanman_1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here a lot. It's a simple and relatively old hotel, but the owners are super super nice, the food is very good and the rooms have a very nice view. Don't expect luxury here, but very good value and great hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thurston_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My wife and I fancied a late season ski trip to the Alps, so we searched for a suitable location near some of the better mountain resorts. We found the Belvedere on hotels.com and thought there must be something wrong with it - it was only £60 a night when the next cheapest was double that. We booked up and were very pleased we found this little gem above Bourg St.Maurice. Our drive from the UK took us about 11 hours, so we arrived quite late. The welcome was very warm and genuine, and we felt at home immediately. The room was quite small but well appointed with free wi-fi, a lovely shower-room and majestic mountain views down the valley towards Les Arcs and beyond. I should just say that the location is fantastic - it's perched on one of the 19 switchbacks between Seez and La Rosiere(The drive is not for those of a nervous disposition). We ate in the hotels restaurant for 2 of our 3 night stay and the food was excellent(Coq au Vin one evening and Rabbit the next). We also very much enjoyed the breakfast - not included in the room price - in the dining area overlooking the valley below. One of the more spectacular breakfasts' it's possible to eat. When the time sadly came to leave(we had an early start, needing to drive to Lyon for 10.30), our host would not let us leave without a croissant and coffee to see us well on our way. We are so glad to have found this gem and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjworton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

I stayed here over the NY weekend with my 12-year old son. The room was spacious (for French ski resort hotels) and the service from the family run staff was excellent and personal. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough.
Breakfast was €11 (€5.50 for my son), and was a typical continental breakfast, including fresh fruit, bread, cheese, ham, eggs, yoghurts, and cereals, plus juices, coffee, and hot chocolate - as much as you wanted.
The evening dinner was €25 (just €9 for my son, notwithstanding that he ate exactly the same as me, if not more). The meals were varied and of a good quality with two or three choices for main course. Given that we started with soup, then assorted cold dishes, before having the main course and desert, I think €25 is pretty reasonable.
If you are using the hotel as a base for skiing, it's best to have your own transport. The hotel do offer an (on-demand, I think) shuttle service to La Rosiere, but the advantage of staying here is that Les Arcs is a 30 min drive (take the funicular from Bourg, do not follow the signs for Les Arcs, as we did), and Tignes/Val are around 35 - 40 mins away [for Tignes, a good start point is Tignes Les Brevelles (sp. ?)]. The hotel has (some) discounted lift passes, so do ask what is available. Driving to/from resorts may not be everyones cup of tea, but it worked OK for us on a 5-day trip, plus were able to vary where we went according to local weather conditions. One thing though - winter tyres were essential when we were there - if hiring a car, they are mandatory in Switzerland, so if flying to Geneva, hire from the Swiss side rahter than the French side. You can get away without chains in all but the most severe weather (they are very good at keeping the Bourg - La Rosiere road open).
Hope that helps - I should point out that the hotel was very quiet when we were there, so, accordingly, there were no problems with food running out, and we were able to receive individual attention at all times.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacko97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seez
4.0 mi away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Relais du Petit St Bernard
Relais du Petit St Bernard
#2 of 8 in La Rosiere
78 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chalet Eden
Chalet Eden
#5 of 10 in La Thuile
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
7.6 mi away
Hotel La Petite Auberge
Hotel La Petite Auberge
#10 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
56 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Boton d'Or
Hotel Boton d'Or
#2 of 10 in La Thuile
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Route du col du petit saint Bernard | Lieu dit le Belvedere, 73700 Seez, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Seez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Seez
Price Range: $78 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Main Road of the Alps. In the Heart of Winter Resorts of La Rosiere 10mn, 20mn Arcs, 35 Minutes From Val D'isère or Tignes. Beware of Gps in Winter (November 15 / June 1 to Verified by Snow) All the Alpine Passes Are Closed to All Traffic ..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere France/Seez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing