We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine des Andeols

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Domaine des Andeols
Certificate of Excellence
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unique place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

a fantastic place to stay in but unfortunately a really poor experience when it comes to services. don't go to have a diner in the platane place. it is full of bees but the owner of the domaine des andeols will explain you it is the nature !!!! you can't even dine ,,,,for the pool dom't expect towels unless like today it is the "sommelier" of the restaurant who is bringing or changing them.

will definitely return in this magical place if and only if the service is at the level of the prices asked

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eric e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    30
    13
    13
    15
See reviews for
42
127
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apt, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We live in the area and wanted to give the restaurant another try since it's old days of Ducasse. It was my birthday so I was looking foward to it. The prices are very high (68€ for 3 courses) so you expect a lot. But everything was done as cheaply as possible. I have never in my life had to order a second dish because I was hungry, but my monkfish was so miniscule that I had to order a lamb dish afterwards and I am not a big eater. There was no choice whatsoever and frankly to offer spaghetti carbonara as the pasta dish is an insult. Although the cooking was excellent, there is just no excuse for this sort of rip off- no amuses bouches to begin and petit fours with coffee that seem to have been bought in the cheapest supermarket. The service was mostly wooden and though things came, there wa a total impersonality.
All this is a shame as the setting is ravishing. But unfortunately, like la Coquillade nearby, it is just a moneyspinner with no love poured into it.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Momofarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

While staying a week in Provence , our friends had booked a table for lunch at this hyper-designed hotel .We were in France for more than a month, and we tend to visit almost every year, so the idea of a long, delicious, beautifully served luncheon is not foreign to us....We appreciate great cuisine, and are willing to pay the price for it.
This hotel is, first of all, in the middle of nowhere, so if you are really looking to 'get away from it all', this is the place for you...because there were exactly six other people at the domaine while we were there.
Lunch was a joke. The menu described a beautiful, lush salad...which we all ordered...and a bowl of gaspacho to go with it....
What we got was a cup of tomato soup, and a tiny salad, devoid of dressing, which looked more like a little plate of rabbit food.
We had a very reasonable bottle of wine for the four of us...and the bill came to a whopping $180.00.
To be fair, the ladies room was amazing, and the flower arrangements and photographs within the hotel itself are quite striking...but I would suggest trying to to impress the clientele with good cooking, instead of using overwrought design and topiary to cover up very unimpressive cuisine.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank mse1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Domaine des Andeols, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your comments regarding our Restaurant "La Maison des Saveurs".
However, although your text is well written, your criticism is quite severe.
I would have been very pleased and available to talk with you while there for Lunch.
Our Chef and I are very concernend about guests and everything on the menu is home made with high quality products.
Unfortunately your sharp palate have not been able to appreciate our Gazpacho wich is indeed a cold tomato soup in a sense.

Again , I regret we haven't met your high expectations and we will work harder to satisfy all our guests.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tha Hague
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was distinctly the lowpoint of our 10 day trip around Provence... this hotel is completely weird... whilst trying to be designer... the decoration makes it completely asceptic... un pleasant and simply NOT A NICE PLACE TO BE.

We had a room overlooking a parking lot (Great at over 200Euros per night) which allgedly had a "private Garden" which was 3 x 3m triangle of gravel out a back door separated from the parking by some bushes... we had a bedroom with a bathtub in the room, but it was not at all nice as the water kept wetting the bed and it was in no way divided...

The service was completely absent... and when they were there they simply did not seem to give a blast whether you were there or not.... it really seemed like they could not care if you existed.

There is no SPA to talk of.. there is a wet room with a young boy who can apparently give massages... (not terribly professional at all)

It seems like they are trying to be too clever and have simply lost the plot..

The restaurant was ok, with nice enough service... but it was expensive and I didnt come to Provence to have an Italian Chef cook my food...

Really this is one that is overhyped... they've done a great job of selling themselves... but really they are not there to deliver.

Room Tip: Just avoid the place completely.. there are much nicer hotels in the region....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martinius34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Excellent decoration, phantastic architecture, breath-taking scenery.
Very helpful service - felt very well looked after
Dinner at the restaurant was outstanding - choice was a bit limited
Do not forget to go for lunch under the plane tree (or up in the huge tree-house up the plane tree) in the back of the domaine ,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterK928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern france
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

I guide bike tours in Provence. I've heard about this high end 'design hotel' for a year and stayed there with a group of 10 men this Sept. 2010. Out of the 4 hotels on the trip, this was the most expensive. Service at the hotel was non-existent. They did not have a rooming list of who was in each room. We found half used bottles of shampoo and lotion in the bathroom. There is erotic art and pornography all over the place. The shower in the 'spa' has clear glass doors and looks straight into the bar. They cancelled massage reservations on the spot. The masseuse who was there was probably also the landscaper as he did not seem to have any specific massage training. The entire place is a disaster and should be shut down.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chiefdomestique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

The location is udoubtedly lovely. We stayed in the cheapest room (which wasnt cheap) and whilst the design element was good, the room was uncomfortable. The upstairs bit has a low and sloping ceiling (i hit my head 3 times). There is no air conditioning save for a very loud portable unit down stairs and a very loud aircraft engine noised fan upstairs. The bath was nice but product was not updated when empty.
The most disappointing element about our stay was the food. Our experience meant that we only actually ate at the hotel once, but it was bad enough to remember for a long time. We had other meals in the area which were excellent. This was just not... Once again all the pretensions with no delivery. Maybe chef was having an off day, but having eaten in some great places around the world this didnt even scrape average..

Service was friendly but a little haphazard.

Its a shame because the place has real potential but I've satyed in sooo many better places around the world I wouldnt go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thetaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
4.3 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#3 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
6.1 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
4.0 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Andeols? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Andeols

Property: Domaine des Andeols
Address: 1 les Andeols, 84490 Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, Apt, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Apt > Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine des Andeols 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine des Andeols reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Andeols Hotel Saint-Saturnin-Les-Apt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing