We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
8
26
30
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
8
26
30
25
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 97 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Many freeride possibilities, when you dont expect new hotel and you dont care about old furniture and equipment, is good. Ski area is direct in front of apartments, good cheap week deals incl. ski lifts. Pool. Lack of wifi (or expensive). Shops nearby.

Room tip: no high etage, only 1 lift, must not work all the time
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Milan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2015

The apartments are split over several blocks and depending on when you book, or with whom, will depend on which one you get. This time we booked through ski France and were allocated a room in block B. This had the advantage of being the one with the main reception and also the swimming pool. The Residence offers easy access onto the slopes, by walking a short distance along the road outside the apartment blocks, where you can get on the snow and make your way onto the main slopes. The swimming pool is handy to relax in after a day on the slope and if your room is in block B then you won't have to change blocks to get to it. The biggest downside is the steps into the building, the front door is built slightly uphill and is serviced by some steps and a slope. All the steps feeding into block B need attention as some are crumbling and could cause injury. The best option is to use the slope and avoid the main steps.

Room tip: Remember to take a bath mat, as the showers are fitted with a standard shower curtain that never seems to fit properly. If you want tea remember a kettle, only a coffee peculator is supplied. If skiing / boarding pre book your lift pass direct with the lift company, it's cheaper and will save you time at the cashiers.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2015

We have just returned from our 2nd successive ski holiday to Puy Sy Vincent, staying at this accommodation. Although the 2014 holiday was excellent in every way, in the past year the staff at Les Gentianes have completely changed. During our visit last week, the new staff were rude, made us feel as though it was our fault if anything was wrong & were generally unhelpful. We stayed in C block again, where the apartments are of very good size, but getting a little tired & in need of redecorating. Our friends in B block had a much smaller & older apartment even though they booked & paid for the same as us. The prices have increased significantly in the past year too.

Room tip: Make sure you stay in C or D block.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our 2nd stay in Les Gentianes was as restful as the first one a couple of years ago, despite some parts of the building (entrance hall) shows aging signs. Our apartment was in a good shape, clean, comfortable, quiet, correctly equiped and with superb mountain views from windows an balcony. Excellent value for money. Location excellent for hiking. Late afternoon spent at the swimming pool (eventhough too small) and Sauna. Will be back.... with more hikes in "Les Ecrins".

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anzere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived Saturday 4pm unfortunately so did everyone else, had to que an hour and were told our room wouldn't be ready for another hour (does say rooms might not be ready till 7)
Our friends ran a bath on arrival but it wasn't connected to the pipes & flooded their apartment
We spent €32 on sheets which seemed a lot
You need to rent towels but we brought our own
Our heating didn't work, only the bathroom rad worked, I told Reception who spoke to the very rude maintenance guy & was told he won't come to room, he said it works he checked it last week, if we left bathroom door open and rad high it heated the room adequately so I didn't push the issue.

We arrived Saturday & was told a cot would be brought to our room - it arrived Wednesday but only after asking every day and phoning mountain vacations and getting them to speak to reception.

Our booking was messed up, we were all expecting ski passes and were expecting 2 adults and 3 kids to ski school. No one had our booking details we were sent from 1800ft to 1600ft back to 1800ft to reception which was shut as Sunday and wouldn't be open till the following afternoon so we missed a few days skiing. We were given 2 adult and 1 infant ski passes so ended up having to buy more €100 per adult and €82 per kid! We also had to pay for 1 adult to to ski school which was a lot.

Wednesday our hot water packed up & we were told we'd used it all even though we'd been out all day, we ended up washing in our friends apartment.

€300 euro deposit taken, if you don't clean apartment and get reception to inspect they on last day they keep your deposit, the sign telling you this goes up on a Friday and is tiny so beware.

Kitchen equipment was a dishwasher, hob & microwave all in good order. FYI Cutlery and cooking utensils in drawer in dinner table - easily missed. No kettle no toaster no oven. Shop at Aldi on way into Puy St Vincent, as road in is frightening and quite a drive.

Ski slopes were very good, cafes & restaurants were very good and reasonably priced. ESF was enjoyed by all.

Found a little shop at the end of our block sells lovely fresh baguettes, no one tells you where anything is so have a good look around. Also there is a cheese and meat shop, a Bakery & a chemist at 1600ft (inside).

They charge you for anything and everything, have to buy a TV card and ask for a remote to get TV to work - we didn't bother as had a portable DVD player with us. They charge to park in covered bays but if a bay was open we just parked in it anyway or parked on the road, no one said anything.

You can ski straight down a red to ski lifts or across the red over the kind of bridge onto a blue. If new to skiing there is a free bus down to 1600ft where all the cafes esf etc is.

FYI: There is swings/slides and sledge run at 1600ft and bouncy castle at 1400ft.

Swimming pool was very small and dirty but the water was warm.

If you come prepared with your own stuff (sheets/towels/cleaning products/loo roll/food) and safe in the knowledge that if anything goes wrong no one will help you'll be fine

I'd definitely return to Puy St Vincent but would prefer to stay at 1600ft apartments

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews