We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute paradise!”
other travelers have booked this property
At 20' walk from the village, quiet and peaceful gîte to stay with private swimming pool and jacuzzi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
At 20' walk from the village, quiet and peaceful gîte to stay with private swimming pool and jacuzzi
the cabanon and the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
At 20' walk from the village, quiet and peaceful gîte to stay with private swimming pool and jacuzzi
the cabanon and the pool
the cabanon in the suroundings at the foot of famous MONT VENTOUx
path leading to the cabanon from the pool
south east view from the pool
the stone made poolhouse
a southern view from the garden
one terrace
northern  gardens and path leading to the cabanon.
the bedroom
the shower room
the shower room
A VIEW FROM THE BEDROOM
THE SUNSET VIEWED FROM THE PROPERTY
That bird and many others can be seen at the property
WINE TESTING BY THE POOL IN THAT SO PROVENCIAL ATMOSPHERE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mazan, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SherryPf
Brampton, Canada
1 review
“An absolute paradise!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the cabanon in September. It was even more beautiful than the pictures! We spent the week making short trips to the local villages and sights, so we could spend part of every day at the place. We loved having so much outdoor space to ourselves! Every direction has a different and outstanding view. We spent several evenings just watching the sun set in the west, leaving a gorgeous orange sky. We spent a morning wandering through the old section of Mazan, which was beautiful itself. We would definitely recommend this spot for a relaxing and romantic vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wide open countryside, views, private pool, lounging areas
Liked least: needed to be careful on the stairs, a bit more cupboard space for food would be good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It's good to read you really enjoyed your stay as we AREtry to still remain faithful to our guest's requirements and give justice to the description on the website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Oasis of calm.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This place is really noisy! The skylarks and bees make such a racket as the sun rises over Mt Ventou and blazes and sinks far West behind the misty spires of Carpentras. Mazain is well located for the major attractions of Vaison, Orange, Avignon, Arles, the Luberon etc, but in spite of our well intended homework, we left them for next time. It's a half hour's easy walk to the boulangerie, or well supplied SuperU from the Cabanon through vinyards and olive fields - 10 mins by car - and Cante Perdrix local wine co-operative offer an unmissable Presige red. It's so near Chateauneuf du Pape! The local tourist office in Mazan are a joy.
The stairs take some getting used to and certainly this and the stone steps in the garden are unsuitable for children or the infirm. You would be limited in bad weather (we were lucky) to reading in bed because the entire downstairs really is a dining/kitchen area. The bathroom is comfortable (always plently of hot water), and cooking facilities are of excellent quality but limited space dictates that it's restricted to 2 electric hobs and a seemingly fragile oven. You have to think simple. But with the quality of food from the markets in the local villages this is not a problem. The large brick barbeque came into its own - with excellent advice from the butcher in Mazain. So stock up with at least your essentials beforehand. You will just want to stay put.
The location, garden and pool make this one of the most enjoyable and tranquil holidays we have ever had. And I write this safe in the knowledge that we have already reserved our dates for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although you loved the place, we can read you find the kitchen dining area a little bit small ; we are doing our best to improve and have another separated dining room built soon. By the way, just keep in mind the cabanon is just for 2, no children admitted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayjess
Rehovot
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning panoramic views in picturesque, private cabanon with pool”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a delightful week in Le Cabanon in August. When we arrived, we were amazed by the gorgeous panoramic view and the wonderful privacy of this lovely little cabanon set in beautiful surroundings. The location is fabulous, if you don’t mind being quite isolated, as you are in the countryside with only vineyards & farms all around. The closest village of Mazan is about a 5 minute drive away. The cabanon has been fitted out thoughtfully with a tiny but servicable kitchen/dining area, nice modern bathroom with excellent shower adjoining, and bedroom upstairs. As others have mentioned, the staircase could be an issue for elderly people, as it is quite open & steep, and you need to be very careful. The outside area is simply gorgeous, with the wonderful private pool and comfortable places to sit and read or eat and enjoy the sunsets. If you do have bad weather, it could be problematic, as there is no comfortable place to sit indoors - we only had one rainy day, so it wasn’t an issue. Apparently there are plans to extend a covered area to deal with this problem.

It’s an amazing place for a holiday & we would have gladly returned and indeed asked to book again, but to our surprise, our request was ignored and instead of receiving an e-mail to confirm a reservation, we received an e-mail which we still cannot understand asking us to pay for damage to the refrigerator handle, which to the best of our knowledge was left in perfect condition after our holiday (we are careful visitors, respectful of other people's property)! Despite efforts to clarify since, our e-mails were not answered, which was a disappointment after such a wonderful holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed. The owner, whom we only met once on arrival, was very pleasant, and actually waived the security fee when she gave us the key, which we appreciated and we would certainly have reported any damage had there been any, so we are left mystified!
All in all, despite the surprising and unpleasant ending, we would still highly recommend this cabanon, as it's one of the most amazing places we have ever stayed in Provence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning panoramic views & privacy
Liked least: The steep, open staircase
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I can understand you are disappointed if not angry because I did not go any further with your enquiry for the next season coming, but there was a breakage which you did not repair nor paid for which we resented much.
We are not just owners willing to make business, but authentical and fair people meaning to grant the best of a holiday to our respectful guests, in a confident atmosphere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting in a charming villa”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at the Cabanon for our honeymoon in July, it has a very beautiful garden and is surrounded by vineyards so feels private. The villa itself is quite compact but had everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2013
Thanks for your review
All the best
Catherine MOURIES
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You won't want to leave!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My wife and I arrived at the cabanon around 5.30 pm on a Saturday evening, my wife never left the premises until one week later, the following Saturday morning! Forgotten were trips to villages, markets and tourist sites, this cabanon supplied all our holiday expectations and beyond. Situated approximately 3k from Mazan walking to the village is just a little too far, especially when the temperatures are high. However, a short trip every morning by car (alone!) for supplies is an easy drive. A couple of supermarkets, a wine cave selling wonderful rosé, oh, and yes the obligatory boulangerie. Back to the cabanon: Only one thing could cause a problem, especially if one has knee problems, and that is the steep climb to the wonderful bedroom. We are both in our 60s and coped well with the climb (and, to be honest, we did not find it difficult). However, the steps are a little awkward. BUT this cabanon has things that dreams are made of . . . peace and tranquility; modern conveniences; its cleanliness; privacy; wonderful pool, patio area and barbecue. A stunning hideaway for a romantic week or two, and a base to explore. But be warned, exploration may have to wait until next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: Waking up in the middle of the night and needing the bathroom.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2013
Thanks very much for your review.
Hope we'll meet again.
All the best
Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion.
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BrianHeun...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

WOW! We celebrated our 10 year anniversary with a 2 week trip to France. 1 week in Paris and our 2nd week in the beautiful Provence region. We decided to rent Catherine and Christophe's Cabanon located just outside the small village of Mazan. Situated on a hill one has a spectacular view of the valley below as well as the towering Mt Ventoux to the back. Tranquility is what it's all about! The property was extremely neat as well as the Cabanon. We made use of the barbecue on three occasions and experienced some wonderful evenings on the outside veranda. When there, do make the effort to experience the Monday Bedoin market! Brilliant! Also try the Le Grillon restaurant for a decent steak. Also make an effort to get to the closely located town of Fontaine-de-Vaucluse! Spectacular! While there I would also suggest a ride up to the top of Mt Ventoux! Our hosts where extremely helpful in making suggestions of places to visit in the region. Will I stay herE again? 200% thumbs up from us and a big YES!!! Once again, thanks Catherine and Christophe for you hospitality! Brian & Wilna

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Wonderful setting!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing