We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back - for a longer stay!”
Review of Auberge du Vin

Auberge du Vin
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Mazan
Attraction details
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“We will be back - for a longer stay!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and myself treated ourselves to the introduction to the Wines of the Rhone Valley as part of our recent holiday to Provence.

Our only regret - we didn't come earlier and stay longer.

Linda and Chris were excellent hosts - and nothing was too much trouble for them. Everything from sandwiches, to booking a restaurant in Carpantras for dinner, through to a wonderful breakfast the following morning - everything was thought of and was really excellent.

The wine course itself lasted a morning and provided an excellent insight and introduction into the local wines and how to taste - something that Anna and myself have taken to doing a lot since we returned! But all in all, this was thoroughly recommended. A brief introduction by aid of a powerpoint, we were treated to a lesson in history, geography and ecology of the local area. We then visited the vineyards just outside the Auberge, and saw the different grapes undergoing their growing process, before having a tasting session. All of which was exactly what we were looking for - our only regret was that we only stayed one night - we will be back, and for a longer period too!!

Thoroughly recommended.

Chris and Anna

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJephcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Simply delightful!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Our time at the Auberge du vin was simply delightful. Our hosts LInda and Chris were generous natured, attentive and just fabulous. They provided us with wonderful food, good wine and an amazing setting to enjoy it in. The grounds were very well kept with a lovely pool to enjoy and relax by. Our accommodation was of an exceptional standard and very comfortable. The court yard in front of the main farm house building was a perfect setting for relaxed breakfasts and also diners in the evening at sunset. Linda gave us an incite into wines with an introduction to wines lesson. She was brilliant at pitching the teaching to keep our interest and made it fun too. (We were wine novices!!!) The holiday package was packed with varied activities such as a picnic over looking a vineyard and Bastille day celebrations along with visits to local restaurants,vineyards and market. What a fab time we had! We would highly recommend this holiday destination without any hesitation. We hope to plan another holiday to the Auberge du as it sits up there as one of our best holiday experiences. Thank you LInda and Chris.

Helpful?
Thank Julbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaField, Owner at Auberge du Vin, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Glad everyone had a good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wine heaven in the heart of Provence”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I first met Linda in August 2010 when a group of friends and I spent the most wonderful afternoon enjoying the relaxing ambiance of Auberge du Vin. Linda ran an informal afternoons' wine tasting. We sampled 6 different local wines and Linda knowledge and enthusiasm was infectious.. Linda then cooked the most incredible meal, matching the wines we had sampled earlier to each course and we all sat around sampling the wines and enjoying our meal. The setting of Auberge du Vin is breath taking; surrounded for as far as the eye can see by the most amazing array of different vines with the spectacular Mont Ventoux rising majestically in the difference. It was this trip to Provence that kindled my love affair with French wines and my friends and I have since met Linda for further samplings . Anyone who enjoys wine, at whatever level would love this experience.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“How to really experience the Rhone - through its wines!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

While staying at Auberge du Vin, we also took a two-hour course on wines in the Rhone region. We sampled six wines and also did a short tour around the Auberge to view three different types of vineyards and their vines. Linda is an excellent instruction and we both got a lot out of it, enough that we are planning another one, this time longer, with friends.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Flojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine Wonderland”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Tasted gastronomic delights and vineous excellence in the tranquility of a auberge with "the english lawn" (a walled garden) and delightful pool.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaField, Owner at Auberge du Vin, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thanks very much- your comment sums it all up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Vin also viewed

 
Carpentras, Vaucluse
Mormoiron, Vaucluse
 

Been to Auberge du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing