We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hostellerie Berard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hostellerie Berard
Kuranda, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

On arrival we parked our car in their garage which was bit tight for a normal sized car to get in. However, our room was beautiful and overlooking the surrounding hills. We had dinner in the bistro since the main restaurant was closed that day. The menu is very versatile, the service very friendly and patient despite being extremely busy that night. The profiteroles for dessert are a delight!
Breakfast was served in the main restaurant with a great view.
The village itself is very charming and offers many pretty alleys to discover, there is an excellent home ware store with local products located just next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the hills, maybe there are some rooms facing the coast with a ocean view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obiwan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your remarks and details about our hotel, surroundings...

Yes, exactly, the hotel is situated in a hill-top village facing the valley of vineyards.

You like the real Provence and we love share with you our patrimony and Provence impressions.

Waiting the pleasure to welcome you again.

All best,

Danièle BERARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    116
    67
    46
    19
See reviews for
52
288
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mougins, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

OK, we stayed only 2 days and 1 night. What I will try to do is also comment a bit on some feedback that have been given in other reviews.

General:
- As for the location and the surroundings: this is vintage Côte d'Azur. And yes, we live there so we can confirm.
- Indeed, as described in previous reviews, it is a place that consists of multiple buildings and might therefore be less accessible to people who are handicapped or have walking difficulties. In our case, we arrived too early, left are luggage at the reception, went to the spa and when we came back found our luggage in our room, which was in another building. Nice service!
- As for the parking, they have a free one which is 200 meters away from the main building. Once again, if you are handicapped or have walking difficulties, better take the paid and guarded garage offered by the hotel.

For the Hotel:
- We stayed in the "Moutarde" room. Very proper and well maintained, but I agree with previous reviews that an upgrade of the ventilation/airco system is in order.
- And for those who complain: yes, unfortunately EUR 21 is quite a normal price for breakfast in a French hotel. And I agree, but quality is good, though.
- As they don't yet have a bar,

For the Spa:
- Excellent and original facilities and the personal treatments are very good.
- Problem is that it's very small. The management should limit the number of people they let in, which is probably why they charge the hotel guests as well. We unfortunately were there on a Saturday afternoon and with 8 youngsters making a lot of noise it was not very relaxing.

For the restaurant:
- We don't care too much about the Michelin star as we have eaten at most 2 and 3 star restaurants in Europe and know what a star means: not that much.
- My lady forced me to take the Menu Gourmand (only served for all guests on the table), which was just simply excellent but way too much food.
- As for the wine list: I found the prices quite OK. Apart from the fact that all restaurants make their margin here, don't underestimate the Bandol region: they make some of the best white and rosé wines in France. But unfortunately much less known compared to the Bourgogne and Bordeaux regions.
- On the service: excellent. Note the kitchen is next to the restaurant so from where we were seated we could hear the chef shouting orders to his brigade. As amateur cooks we didn't mind, we actually enjoyed it, but this could be bothersome if you come for a romantic dinner.

And for all the comments on Madame Berard: yes, we met her everywhere, in reception, the spa, the restaurant, during breakfast. I agree she has a strong character, but in the short time we stayed she personally helped us out on some issues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EVO67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guests,

We have read all your comments and really thank you for your impression.

Be sure, we'll do our best to propose you a good service, comfortable rooms and warm welcome.

Your remarks will help us and we hope you'll choose our hotel hotel & spa for your next trip to Provence.

Warm regards,

Danièle BERARD and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were touring France in a convertible with the idea of staying a night or two in various places around the country. We got to this hotel and stayed four nights!! There are two restaurants, one is a bistro and the other has a Michelin star. Try and get a room in the Bastille overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

During meetings in La Seyne sur Mer it was hard to find a good resturant. Hence, it was a very pleasant surprise when we found the resturant at Hostellerie Berard for a dinner at night. The resturant is located in a small village overlooking the village and provide great atmosphere and fantastic food. The course were rich in content with many good tastes worth exploring. Fabolous!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank OleHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

we stayed there for a week end in low season and we got a discount on the room price. The hotel is nice, charmy, the rooms are well equipped, the staff is gentle and helpful.
We had dinner at the bistrot the first night and it was good, some kind of difficult french dishes rivisited,too expensive anyway.
The SPA: we didn't know the place, we had just seen some pictures on their website. When we arrived there, as it often happens with the SPAs, we realized that the place was far smaller than it seemd to be in the photos..
There's a small swimming pool with warm (not really hot enough) water, and some jacuzzis inside. Then ther's a small sauna, a small hammam, two showers and a small basin with freezing water. That's all.
If you stay at the hotel, you still have to pay 35 euros to get into the spa.
Then, if you want to reserve other treatements, you'll have to spend a loooot of money!
Really really expensive.
The gym is a 5 x 5 metres room with: 1 bycicle, 1 step, and 1 tapis roulant. that's all.
Neither the breakfast is included.
Cadière d'azur is a nice village at the top of a hill, lke many others in the region, not far from the seaside, romantic, not many other things a part from the hostellerie.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBE83, Directeur général at Hostellerie Berard, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Google Translation
Chers clients,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris la peine de donner votre avis sur notre hôtel.

Vous avez bénéficié d'une promotion (automne doux) qui a fait l'unanimité auprès de nos clients.

Cette promotion n'incluait pas les autres services : petits-déjeuners, spa...

La description de notre spa de 500 m² sur 3 étages indique bien les conditions et la situation. Vous parlez de petits espaces mais peut-être que vous recherchiez une thalassothérapie, ce que nous ne sommes pas.

La température de notre bain bouillonnant est conforme à la réglementation. La salle de cardio training avec vue panoramique sur la vallée, est équipée d'appareils TECHNOGYM (y compris le KINESIS dernière génération avec vidéo).

Le bistrot de JEF et sa salle avec vue également panoramique propose des menus à partir de 19 euros et des plats de grande qualité. Les légumes du jardin, la pêche locale et les viandes proposés sur notre carte change très régulièrement au fil des saisons.

Recevez, nos sincères salutations,

Danièle BERARD / directrice générale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armenia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Berard 3 nights in late October. The Hotel and room were very unique in the pleasant village of La Cadiere D’Azur. The spa is a professional facility. We enjoyed dinner in the Le Bistrol de Jef (great) and in the Hotel Dining room (excellent). Jean-Francois Berard teaches a cooking class we signed up for months before our visit. The class was the highlight of our trip to southern France. The Hotel, Dining and Class remain highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Only had the chance to stay one night in this charming spot. The village is a proper little French village, full of locals with one main street lined with cheerful cafes and bars going right through the middle and lovely views from the centre of town. A wonderfully friendly spot all round and a bit of the beaten track.
The hotel is like a maze, recommend trails of breadcrumbs to find your way around but that really adds to the charm. The bedrooms are in 3 different parts of the hotel, we had a large group and all the rooms with varying prices were charming in their own way. We were told the hotel closed at midnight and were waiting for the late arrival of some friends from a delayed flight into Marseille - inadvertently arriving at reception to check in at 0025 - the owner had mercifully and wonderfully stayed up waiting for the late arrivals.
She was there first thing the next morning also and is an utterly charming and beautifully groomed Frenchwoman full of curiosity and chat. We ate in the bistro for dinner, superb service and very good bistro fare. The spa looks welcoming although no time to try it. Definitely a hotel to recommend, feel lucky to have come across it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are modern and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cadiere d'Azur
3.1 mi away
Dolce Fregate Provence
Dolce Fregate Provence
#1 of 7 in Saint-Cyr-sur-Mer
1,201 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
Hotel & Spa du Castellet
#1 of 2 in Le Castellet
377 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hostellerie La Farandole
Hostellerie La Farandole
#3 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
Best Western Soleil Et Jardin
#4 of 7 in Sanary-sur-Mer
308 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ile Rousse Hotel Thalazur Bandol
4.1 mi away
Grand Prix Hotel
Grand Prix Hotel
#2 of 2 in Le Castellet
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Berard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Berard

Property: Hostellerie Berard
Address: Gabriel Peri, 83740 La Cadiere d'Azur, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > La Cadiere d'Azur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Cadiere d'Azur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Berard 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostellerie Berard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Berard Hotel La Cadiere d`Azur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing