We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent fish and other sea food, but rather pricy”
Review of Mado

Mado
Ranked #15 of 32 Restaurants in Le Crotoy
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Decent fish and other sea food, but rather pricy”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We enjoyed a plat de fruits de mer and a rich fish menu called "Le préféré de Michou". Although the quality of the ingredients seemed ok, the excessive use of cream made us worry that something had to be hidden. The bottle of 'standard' Entre-Dexu-Mers went down very well, and the view of the bay was a nice extra. Quality-price ratio could be better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    119
    83
    70
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but not the best”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Enjoyed the place and most of the food - one of our steaks was a little gristly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food, attentive, profession service”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here for only one night - sadly - but had a wonderful evening feast. We both had the special "Kermesse aux Poissons" [fish feast] set menu, which consisted of 11 courses, 8 fish, 1 cheese, 2 desserts, plus coffee and as much wine as you like. Each course on its own would have been a perfectly acceptable starter - after 11 of them we were struggling! The courses included coquilles Saint Jacques, marinated herring, fish soup, mussels in white wine and cream, cured salmon, sole and turbot ..... we lost count. A bottle of wine was placed in an ice bucket at the start of the meal and replaced when it was empty.
The restaurant itself is justifiably popular and was very busy but we could not fault the professional, attentive and friendly service. It is an old-fashioned restaurant in the positive sense - classy, no gimmicks, superb food and superb service. Our room was probably the best hotel room we have ever stayed in. Stylishly classy without being gimmicky or over the top, a beautiful bathroom and the most amazing view out over the bay. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstMateKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“in english and french below. very nice...”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

in english and french below.

very nice place.
the oesters were not as good as they were at a cheeper place where we went the day before. but the lamb was great.

clients were mostly in their 50s or 60s. but unless you like noise, it'll be ok.

service was different accorsing to the waitress : the old one was kind( we had a baby) the young red headed one was ice cold. that had its charm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sams555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We have eaten Chez Mado several times as we are regular visitors to the area. The food is good, the prices are reasonable and the service is quiet and friendly. We recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank surreychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mado also viewed

Le Crotoy, Somme
Le Crotoy, Somme
 

Been to Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing