We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in perfect location”
Review of Le Lion D'or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Lion D'or
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
uk
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Recently stayed here overnight and would recommend . Very clean , rooms small but comfortable.
Secure parking available and decent continental breakfast . Management friendly and helpful . Bernay is an attractive place with restaurants and bars close by .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    44
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
40
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We chose this place based on the reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. The staff were really friendly and helpful - found us space to park our van, served breakfast early because we needed to make a prompt start and even recommended some places to watch the England World Cup game. Rooms were basic but clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelL546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed one night on way south. Welcoming and friendly hosts who speak some English. The room was fine and very clean with a comfortable bed. Some parking is also available for 4 euros in gthe courtyard outside the hotel. Breakfast was a decent continental breakfast. I would recommend it as a place to stay and Bernay is an interesting, pretty town. There are plenty of restaurants in Bernay but, as we found, most are closed on Mondays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnaRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a perfect hotel in Bernay - very clean, welcoming & comfortable.
The breakfast was just right for continental & the host was so friendly & helpful.
We couldn't have asked for more, we will be back.

Room Tip: There is a superb market in Bernay on a Saturday morning but be sure to get your car out of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed one night on our trip south and again on our trip home. Pleasant hosts with good English. The rooms were clean and comfortable. No restaurant, but we were directed to excellent dining places in the town. We were provided with a good continental breakfast and even helped with a route to avoid roadworks. The hotel is conveniently situated in the attractive and old town centre We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel on our return journey to the UK in August. The hosts speak good English and were incredibly friendly and helpful.....they showed us where to park and also offered some good evening meal suggestions in the town ( there is no restaurant in the hotel but Bernay is full of restaurants!). We stayed in the family room overlooking the Main Street. It was perfectly acceptable and clean. There was some noise from the street but you have to expect that in a hotel in the centre of a town.

Breakfast was continental ....croissants, bread cereals etc and was very pleasant. Bernay itself is a very pretty town and is well worth a visit. The Saturday market was spectacular and we enjoyed browsing in the morning before we went to catch the ferry home. All in all, a good value stopover hotel with some authentic French charm. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the street will have some noise, especially if you stay on a Friday night as they start s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeetrootBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arrived a day earlier than planned and the charming owner found a room for the extra night without any fuss or bother. The room was clean,spacious and pleasantly furnished.The breakfast was excellent with a good variety of bread,cereal,yogurt and croissant
The hotel is in an excellent position for exploring the delightful town of Bernay and the Saturday market is literally right outside the front door. There is parking in the courtyard of the hotel. There is no restaurant but there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. The owner and his wife speak good english and went out of their way to make us welcome .
Only complaint is that the towels in the bathroom were only changed once in our four night stay but that may have been an oversight of the chambermaids. Also the mattress had some kind of plastic protector under the sheet and as the weather was warm it made the bed quite hot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernay
1.7 mi away
Acropole Hotel
Acropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bernay
110 reviews
14.4 mi away
Acadine Hotel
Acadine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Le Neubourg
129 reviews
16.1 mi away
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
#1 of 1 in Campigny
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Lisieux
Ibis Budget Lisieux
#1 of 14 in Lisieux
360 reviews
21.1 mi away
Armony Hotel
Armony Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bourg-Achard
94 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cygne
Hotel Restaurant Le Cygne
#2 of 2 in Conches-en-Ouche
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion D'or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion D'or

Property: Le Lion D'or
Address: 48 rue du General de Gaulle, 27300 Bernay, Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Communaute de Communes de Bernay et des Environs > Bernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bernay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Lion D'or 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former post house, located in the centre town at 3mn of the station and close to the tourist office, the Hotel of the Lion d'Or accomodates you in a cordial and convivial environment. With its 23 fully-equipped bedrooms, its elevator, its bar and its private carpark, the hotel constitutes the ideal stage for your tourist excursions and business trips. We propose a formula "Evening Stopover" for the VRP. We also organize thema weekends (paint, discover the region by bicycle...). Bernay is an ideal base for many highly interesting tourist visits (castles, museums, churches) and also offers a range of opportunities for walkers, cyclists and horse-riders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Lion D'or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing