We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicest location in Wimereux”
Review of Hotel Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Atlantic
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wimereux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Hotel Atlantic is the only hotel on the promenade in Wimereux. It is an excellent 4 star hotel with private parking free of charge, well accomodated rooms with sea view and a generous breakfast. We also enjoyed the sauna (free for guests) and the exquisit restaurant on the first floor.
The supplement for a room with a balcony is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 730 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed midweek, had lunch and dinner in the restaurant overlooking the Atlantic and spent an extremely comfortable night. Included in the price of the room was an exclusive hour in the Spa, a steam room, sauna and lounge area - very romantic. The food here is a cross between nouvelle and haute cuisine, extremely well presented and full of flavor. Yes, it's not cheap but it's worth it for a special treat. The service was excellent and all the staff very friendly, they spoke English but as I like to practice my French they were happy to converse with me in their own language. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. Room 303 was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night before heading on to Giverny and then Burgundy. Our room on the ground floor looked out over the promenade to the sea and we enjoyed the lovely sunset. The room was well appointed and comfortable although a little warm at night. We ate in the fine dining restaurant choosing the "Promenade en Mer" menu and wine flight to match. The service was impeccable, food delicious and wine choices interesting and very well matched. Breakfast was plentiful. We will come and stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 22Nigel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

From the courteous welcome of the receptionist who took us personally to our wonderful room overlooking the beach which was beautifully decorated with all one required, to the excellent restaurant with superb service, presentation of food, .... And taste! Costs a bit more for a stay.... But WELL worth it! Don't miss this hotel... Or the restaurant on your visit

Room Tip: You get a sea view with all rooms but room number 3 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were welcomed by a kind, efficient, warm and smiling receptionist. Our room (205) was large and like all rooms it had a view over the Atlantic ocean. The furniture was ample and comfortable and the bathroom had a bath-tub. Free WiFi in the room and proper coat hangars were appreciated.
We had dinner in the main restaurant which was beautifully cooked but slightly spoiled by rather cold and formal service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Delightful hotel in excellent location. Rather dismissive receptionist and confusion over restaurant booking but charming staff sorted it all out.
Not sure why the room had pictures of the Empire State Building
Very small shower which appeared to have a rather tacky shower curtain where a door should have been

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steamside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Having visited some years previously just to have lunch and having enjoyed the food very much, we booked for a weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary, something we do most years, though usually staying at Le Chateau de Montreuil in Montreuil-sur-Mer (nowhere near the sea btw). What a disappointment - the room despite having a balcony and sea view, which was a bonus, was not very attractively furnished and with an incredibly uncomfortable bed - it was about the standard of a Premier Inn, but for the price of something far more luxurious.
We had booked for the restaurant, so were looking forward to that. The food was standard French food, not nearly of the standard we had experienced before, ok, but I have had better and we kept being offered so much bread throughout the meal, except for the cheese course, that it got a bit intrusive. Having read another review where the lady had an upset stomach after the meal, I recalled that I had been similarly affected in the night, though not quite as badly and I had not had oysters but other shellfish, so perhaps their kitchens are more of a French standard of cleanliness than British - gastro-enteritis is endemic in France after all.
Breakfast the next morning was self-service with burnt croissants, indifferent yoghurts (not the nice set ones in glass jars, but more like Ski) and the usual insipid French teabags which you had to use to make your own tea. Strangely though the juice was ok - not concentrate muck which has become the norm in most hotels whatever their star-rating.
The receptionist was welcoming, but when we arrived, I spoke in French and we conversed in French until she had looked up our booking and saw we were English and then proceeded to speak to us in English so badly that we couldn't understand her, when she had obviously understood my French perfectly. Why do the French do that? It's no wonder the British can't be bothered to speak French. The man who carried our bags was not so rude and continued to speak French to us and was very pleasant.
On our experience, we will be returning to Le Chateau de Montreuil which is cheaper, but of a far higher standard and every room is unique and the food is much better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagIul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimereux
2.6 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Carnot
Hotel Le Carnot
#3 of 5 in Wimereux
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,733 reviews
7.6 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
631 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic

Address: 6 rue Notre Dame, 62930 Wimereux, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wimereux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wimereux
Price Range: $161 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantic 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Wimereux Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing