We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Friendly Oasis”
Review of Hotel du Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Centre
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wimereux
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Friendly Oasis”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Having stayed here several times each year since 1982 you would not be surprised if we said we enjoyed the Hotel du Centre! Unpretentious and welcoming, with clean rooms and the friendliest of hosts, this hotel provides pleasant rooms and a comfortable stopover outward bound or on the home leg of a journey.
Dining is always a pleasure and not overpriced compared to many others. A secure car park in a busy town is a welcome bonus and inexpensive.
After a continental breakfast or fresh cooked if you prefer it is then time to say farewell to a favourite place. We hope you enjoy this hotel as much as we have and become friends with the family who provide a consistent standard over the years.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGeeBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    90
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
31
106
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

this hotel was perfect for coming from the Eurotunnel terminal before travelling further into France. Room 21 is the family room, on two levels with a double bedroom, bathroom and table and chairs on the first level and a further 3 beds and tiny toilet on the upper level. Wouldn't be suitable for toddlers but was great for two adolescents. Basic and clean with friendly staff in a lovely seaside town. Two of our party opted for breakfast which was very much enjoyed. We would definitely return if going by Eurotunnel again. Dont bother paying for hotel parking, there is plenty on street free parking nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athectorshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I recently stayed at Hotel du Centre in Wimereux as it was the central town in between a wedding ceremony and reception I attended. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff (I emailed a few times beforehand to ensure the booking was made and that we could secure a parking spot) and the cleanliness of the room. The room is obviously quite small, but I would say only normal in French standard. Seriously good value for a 2 star hotel. And it's close to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la_fouine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Stayed here for one night at the beginning of Feb (a Sunday night) on our way to the South of France, and one night at the end of Feb (a Saturday night) on our way back. We were given Room 5 on both occasions - it's on the first floor at the front of the hotel over the main street. As one of the French reviewers noted, this is right opposite a popular bar in Wimereux. This was not a problem on the first stay because it was a Sunday night, but on the second stay the youth of Wimereux hung about outside till past 2 in the morning.
Worse than this, though, was the vile smell in the bathroom. This was noticeable at the beginning of February but was far worse on the second visit. It kept me awake for much of the night. After 2am when the young people outside finally called it a night, I opened the window and conditions became more tolerable.
In the morning after our second (and, I assure you, final visit) we complained about the smell and were told that it's a problem in rooms 5 and 28 whenever it rains. They have tried putting chemicals down the pipes but it hasn't worked. I feel offended in retrospect that we were given room 5 on both occasions (some anti-English sentiment? surely not?), especially as the hotel was not full on either date.
It's a pity about this. We were expecting the rooms to be basic, because of earlier reviews, which would be OK, but the smell most definitely wasn't OK. The hotel restaurant is good, and we would go again for the food, but only if we were staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

The rooms were small but comfortable. We had rooms at the back , so there was no view - and we certainly slept well , with no noise. Towels were good , water was hot. Soap and shampoo were standard. The hairdryer was very feeble - I would advise bringing one.
The dinner was very good. We had the €29 menu , which we enjoyed. My starter of foie gras maison was excellent and very generous. The chef kindly provided a handwritten recipe for an unusual onion marmalade which accompanied my main course. The cheese board was good and varied - nearly all local.
Breakfast was perfectly adequate - very fresh bread and croissants , a choice of jams and honey, several cereals. Sliced ham and cheese left something to be desired. There was also fruit juice and fresh fruit. Water for the tea , as often in France , could have been hotter.
We were not charged for the secure car parking.
We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghent, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Simple hotel with ditto rooms. Very friendly hosts and staff, good restaurant and very cheap parking at the back of the hotel (the hostess even gave it to us for free).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreekegmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel du Centre. Our room was located on the second floor and had a split bathroom with a stand-alone Toilet (WC) to the left and a Tub-shower and sink to the right of the room entrance. The lower room had a private bedroom and an open livingroom. The livingroom was a bit cramped with the dresser and small dining table, but it did have windows that overlooked a somewhat narrow but busy street (great for people watching) but be warned that the evening hours are noisy with the Pub that is located across the street, but quiets down around 1 am. The upper room, with the slope of the roof, had 2 twin beds. Also, at the top of the stairs across from the room was a shower.

Very clean hotel that met our expectations, mind you that the breakfast was a bit spartan and pricey but palatable. The evening Patio and Garden area was open with service through the late hours and the not free parking lot to the back of the hotel (accessible through the alley) is very convienient.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegas411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimereux
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#2 of 5 in Wimereux
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Carnot
Hotel Le Carnot
#3 of 5 in Wimereux
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
786 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
2.5 mi away
Opal'Inn
Opal'Inn
#1 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Centre

Property: Hotel du Centre
Address: 78 rue Carnot, 62930 Wimereux, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wimereux
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wimereux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Centre welcomes you to Wimereux, located just minutes from the sea and close to the Eurostar. It is in this perfect setting that we offer you our hotel and restaurant services. The restaurant : Traditional cuisine, seafood specialities and selected wines await you. Whether it is for a group, family or business meal, we can accommodate up to 30 guests. Wimereux, a resort on the Opal Coast that offers you relaxation, fun and authentic discovery in particular at the many sites nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Centre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing