We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience this hotel if you are in or around Rodez”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie de Fontanges
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Onet-le-Chateau
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience this hotel if you are in or around Rodez”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here in August this summer as we were picking up family arriving at Rodez airoprt early on a Saturday morning. The Chateau itself it a lovely old rambling building with nice gardens a golf course and swimming pool. We were not expecting anything amazing as its billed as a three star hotel.Our room was clean and nicely and modestly furnished, as we expected.Wifi available in the room with all the instructions readily available in the welcome pack.It is busy hotel with a restaurant open also to non residents. We decided to dine there that evening and we were very pleasantly surprised with the excellent food, extensive wine list, amazing service and a great terrace overlooking the city of Rodez..All the above made for a wonderful stay but I think the attention to detail and the professionalism of the staff make this an exceptional hotel especially at 70 euros for a double room!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkk0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    80
    48
    20
    5
See reviews for
28
86
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After 7-hour-drive from Geneva to the Hostellerie de Fontanges, my husband and I were extremely exhausted. But as soon as we arrived in front of the hotel, we forgot about the long trip we just had. Beautiful and romantic lights on the Hostellerie!
Perfect place to have a wedding reception and dinner+party until at 4-5 am!

It was just a pity that the breakfast costs extra 10 euros per person per breakfast. For the price, the buffet wasn't extraordinary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeiYun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Lovely old chateau turned into good hotel. Bedrooms a little small (due to need to provide en-suite facilities) but otherwise comfortable. Restaurant very good and reasonable if you stick to the set menus, especially the Menu Gourmand at 24 Euros. And the service was excellent.
The outdoor swimming pool looked good.

Had a bit of difficulty finding it from Rodez. Signs for Onet-le-Chateau took us in wrong direction, better to follow road numbers (or use satnav).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraza
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a great looking place, part old castle, part modern place. It has all: Great location on the edge of the woods, close to the city of Rodez, it has a Pool, a good and not too expensive restaurant, but poorly renovated rooms. There is no extra chain or lock at the inside of the front door to make sure nobody enters. It is understandable that there is no AC, but why no mosquito screens at the windows? On our ground floor room there was also no window protection against entry into the room, which made leaving the window open (in summer) a dicy thing to do. The room, not older than max 2 years, had peeling wallpaper, paint missing, hardware pulled form the wall and wobbly table lamps. This could be, with a little effort, a great place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UbErich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good hotel. Reasonable quality room. Excellent restaurant and very good staff. Lovely grounds. No shower in our room but we were lucky to get the last room available on a busy Saturday.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bixkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This hotel is very pretty the rooms are nice and clean very quite...bad points nothing for children no body understands english and if you cant speak french they look down at you
the pool outside is dirty with flies in it

would I go back? NO ONLY BECAUSE I DIDNT LIKE THE STAFF

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyshaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed for a few days for a wedding. The room furniture and decor was a little odd (think crossroad's motel!) but the bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, the bathroom adequate and there were plenty of towels - everywhere was spotlessly clean!

Breakfast was not the best, but the dinner in the restaurant was absolutely superb - serving very good regional food and specialities.

The Hotel staff were, without exception, polite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruwysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onet-le-Chateau
1.4 mi away
La Ferme de Bourran
La Ferme de Bourran
#3 of 20 in Rodez
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Causse Comtal
Causse Comtal
#1 of 1 in Gages
112 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Rodez Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
L'Hotel Bastide
L'Hotel Bastide
#2 of 5 in Onet-le-Chateau
38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#4 of 20 in Rodez
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Rodez
Ibis Budget Rodez
#2 of 20 in Rodez
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de Fontanges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de Fontanges

Property: Hostellerie de Fontanges
Address: Fontanges | Route de Conques - Marcillac, 12850 Onet-le-Chateau, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Onet-le-Chateau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Onet-le-Chateau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de Fontanges 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from the old city, the traveler who arrives at the Hostelry of Fontanges can be surprised by the ancient impressive house, renoved recently, of wich he will be the privileged host, and from the evening come, he will contemplate the magnificence of the bell tower illuminated of the cathedral of Rodez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie de Fontanges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing