We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Skiing at Easter with friends, sunshine and lots...”
Le Bois de Marie
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Bois de Marie
Living Area Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Le Bois de Marie
Living Area
Dining Area
Kitchen
Double Room
Bunk Room
Bathroom
Shower Room
The top of Bareges and the Thermal Spa
Col du Tourmalet
Family Ski
snowboarding
Animal Park
Right by the River
Pic du Midi Observatory
The view from the Balcony
Tour de France
Main living/dining area
Mountain Restaurant at the top
Front view of the apartments
Feeding the Bears at the Animal Park
The ski lifts in the Summer
The top of the Col de Tourmalet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bareges, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
skisoph
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Skiing at Easter with friends, sunshine and lots of snow!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

what a lovely apartment with lots of space, comfy beds and living areas, easy access and full of light. the town is so easy to get around and has a fabulous spa for relaxing after a busy day up the mountain. As a keen expert skier I wasn't expecting the extensive ski areas and in April i certainly wasn't expecting to be treated to fresh knee high powder twice in one week. Wow - i shall definitely be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: huge living area and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: 20m walk from the ski bus :-)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward D
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Powder skiing in April, a relaxing spa plus an excellently located apartment”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was the first time I came skiing with my grandchildren (4&6) and the conditions were perfect for them. Not only was there plenty of snow (3-4 metres) but the ski school and the nursery slopes were perfect for them. It's their 2nd week here and so by the end of the first morning we were able to go up the chair lift to the wonderful mountain restaurant for lunch and then ski back down with them. They had mastered the blues by the end of the week. The ski school was great, especially as it was the last week of the season since they were flexible to our needs. As for the apartment, it was so comfortable and easily accommodated the 8 of us. Sometimes at the end of the day we relaxed with a DVD that was provided and other times we went off for a swim in the amazing spa over the road.

Definitely recommend it for young families. So easy to get to from either Toulouse or Lourdes. Fine with a car or without, as I've done with both ways now. In fact, even though it was April, it snowed so much that one day we had to ditch the car and take the ski bus which was excellent and only across the road from the apartment. The kids even carried their own skis.

Looking forward to going back next year....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment had everything we needed plus the proximity to the slopes and ski bus.
Liked least: Some lifts were closed because of too much snow!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbf_29
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is great, with minor exceptions.”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Bring your own towel or they'll charge you handsomely for it. They are not included in your stay, gotta rent them. Never heard of this before, seems silly and punitive. The shower in the far bathroom leaks like crazy. It's one of those that's not well constructed to keep the water in the tub area.

Other than that though, it's a beautiful, hip, clean place. I do recommend it overall.

Ciao,
Taylor

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony, and the fact that the Tour whizzed right by.
Liked least: The shower makes for a very wet floor and there's no window in the bath so it gets funky smelling.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2012
Linen and towels are chargeable, it is true - it used to be included but had to move to be in line with the french market, where it is standard. We are working on the shower leak in the bath with the builders - it is possible to put the shower guard in such a way that it doesn't leak but it isn't obvious how to do that, I agree.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy N
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern, spacious condo in a great town”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I shared this condo with a few friends and loved it. It would also be great for a family. It has everything that you need - nice kitchen, large dining table, TV, multiple bathrooms/showers and a balcony. We love the little town of Bareges - there is an awesome restaruarnt right on the corner near the condo. We did not take advantage of the thermal spa, but that looked nice. There are many great hiking trails within walking distance of the condo. The owner and the local property manager are really accomodating and made everything easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, perfectly appointed for the major cycling climbs”
Reviewed June 26, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We rented Harrsica for a week in June for a cycling holiday and had a brilliant stay. The apartment was excellent; spacious, airy, very comfortable and comes with all the utensils and white goods you need. There is both reserved parking and secure parking available. The views are simply stunning and we spent some great times sitting on the balcony watching the world go by. Although the village was quiet at the time of our stay, we were never stuck for places to eat and the local convenience store/minimart is very well stocked if you don't want to use the Carrefour in Luz. As a cyclist, the availability of so many Pyreneean monuments to ride makes this a definite must for a return trip! Stop for Crepes in La Coquelle restaurant as you descend the Tourmalet....awesome!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, warm and convenient for the slopes”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

My wife and I took our 2 children (6 and "almost 4") for their first taste of ski-ing this year with friends and had a great time staying here. The appartment is spacious, warm and convenient for the bus stop that runs you up to the the pistes "base camp" (about 5 mins ride and included in the lift pass fee). On a clear day you have a great view both left and right from the balcony of snowy mountain tops and, immediately in front, the sound of the river washing away the melted snow. We didn't come across anything that we felt was missing from the appartment in the week we were there, in fact on the contrary, there were plenty of nice-to-haves provided. Early April is late in the ski season and so the snow was receeding on the lower slopes (due largely to the heat wave they'd had locally for the preceeding 3 weeks!) and the town of Bareges wasn't the most lively, but with the children, that suited us fine. We easily sorted lessons for the kids in the morning (with English speaking instructors) and were able to ski until mid afternoon before things got a little slushy. Now we just need to keep the children patient until we can plan the next trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, comfy and convenient for the slopes
Liked least: Bareges a little sleepy in early April
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notsib
Andalucia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Already planning a return visit in January 2013”
Reviewed February 15, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Knowing Wendy and Stuart as we do, we knew that things would run smoothly and that the apartment would be very comfortable, cosy with lots of hot water for baths and showers after a hard day on the slopes... but there is so much more this location than the comforts of Harrisca.
Bareges/La Mongie is just one of numerous ski resorts within a 45min drive, the fact that Bareges was literally 5minutes up the road didn't deter us from also sampling the skiing in Luz Ardien, Cauterets and the relatively unknown gem called Gavarnie.
The snow was sparse, but we had 2 fantastic weeks skiing 4 excellent ski areas and for that reason alone want to go back - if it was fun with not much snow then it must be amazing with normal or good snow!!!
Having spent 8 winter seasons working around the 'best' Alpine resort like Courchevel 1850 and Val d'Isere I was slightly apprehensive to visit these smaller Pyrenean resorts but so glad we did. Courchevel in 2012 is no longer the Courchevel I knew and loved up until the millenium. However Bareges is a sleepy, friendly village and the villages/towns in the valleys were equally charming and a pleasure to wander around. Would I go back to the alps, yes, but no longer would they be my first choice. Would I go back to the pyrenees, oh yes - without a doubt, there was something more human, real and certainly friendlier in the pyrenees that made the skiing holiday as much a holiday/travel experience as the skiing itself. It was a more rounded experience with stunning scenery and something we look forward to enjoying again in the near future.
Thank you Wendy and Stuart, expect an email from me soon and I am even wondering about a summer break, the appeal of this area of the pyrenees is hard to resist.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No nasty suprises, all went smoothy and exceeded expectations
Liked least: No negatives - we had such a good holiday.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing