We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Bains du Couloubret”

Les Bains du Couloubret
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Les Bains du Couloubret”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Refurbished and re-opened in 2010 this spa baths is brilliant. Many different types of massage jets, and every kind of pool you would expect to find, you can easily use the 2 hours you pay for.

Worth every penny.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KtMehers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    149
    48
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great way to relax during an active holiday”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I visited twice during a weeks stay in Ax while on a walking holiday. Unfortunately we left it too late to get a massage at the times we wanted but soon found that the different jets and things in the baths themselves provided a great tonic for tired and aching bodies. Having been to similar thermal baths in Germany, I found these onces much more interesting, fun and modern. I wouldnt go in the hot sulphur smelling room again, and couldn't bear to totally plunge into the cold pool, but having the indoor and out door pools, and the saunas etc was great. Spent the full two hours there on both occasions.

As an aside, we were told men could only wear spedo style swim suits, but this turns out to be not correct - their swimmers just need to be above their knees (although there did still seem to be differing views from the staff on this.....).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieBijoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle on Tyne England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Taking the waters with a modern twist”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

With a town called Aix les Thermes we expected something spa like but we were extremely impressed by the bains du Couloubret they look new and include a large indoor bath a hot and cold room plus a very steamy Turkish bath room. You can move outside to a large area with a lazy river and a further bath outside on the second floor there was a warm irlando- romain bath where you could lie down in the water as if on a bed . My husband and I spent about 100 mins there on our way back from a circuit through Andorra. Each session costs 16 euros per adult for a two hour session. You can also book treatments or aqua gym sessions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Summersall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foix, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best out of season”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been several times but it is best avoided during the school holidays. Ax is a busy ski resort in winter and is situated in a very popular touristic region during the summer. Out of season, however, it very calm and relaxing.
The pools are not too deep (about shoulder high) so even if you do not know how to swim there are handrails everywhere. Fountains work for a while in one area of a pool until another group of fountains start up. This avoids selfish people staying put in one place and gives everyone a turn. The main pool is at about 33C. There is a pool at 15C and another at 38C. The indoor pool connects with the outdoor pool.
The price of a ticket for 2 hours is 16 euros 2013, but beware, your time begins from when you go through the turnstile into the changing rooms to when you leave through the turnstile.
There is free access to hairdryers, and your locker key is worn around your wrist as a bracelet.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeabashFoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Call it paradise”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thermal baths. Usually quite a pleasure. But baths while on ski vacation are just perfect.
This resort being quite large and well-fitted with outside pools; ice-cold baths and a few other features on top of the usual pools/sauna/hammam, taking some time off there adds perfection to holidays.
Employees being not only very nice but also definitely caring and helpful. I definitely recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Bains du Couloubret also viewed

Ax-les-Thermes, Ariege
Ax-les-Thermes, Ariege
 

Been to Les Bains du Couloubret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing