We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
37
75
20
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
75
20
5
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 139 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2016

Average budget hotel for short term stay only. We liked:
-location
-bedding and pillows
-view from the window
-friendly and helpful staff
-luggage storage place

We didn't like that much:
-breakfast (minimum choise of food)
-wifi (very poor)
-shower

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015

The location is on a busy road (but the bypass to the town is coming soon). If possible get a room at the back or in the Annexe. The rooms are fairly basic but all very clean. The food is very good, I was there for a week and all the dietary requirements of the party were met and remembered. Continental breakfast, packed lunch good quality salads, evening meal - 3 good nutritious courses. The hotel staff were helpful and obliging. Fully recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back or in the Annexe will be quieter as away from traffic noise.
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakradice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just needed a one night stay so not too bothered about where.

This hotel (and the town of Ax) are both looking pretty faded and unloved. The room was clean but pretty small but the public areas look very dated and tired.

Like the rest of the place the buffet breakfast was about adequate with a rather silly(one croissant per person rule! - what if you want 2 croissants and nothing else!

Wouldn't rush back here for sure, and it wasn't cheap.

Room Tip: our front fronted the road and being on a hill there was road noise, earplugs solved the problem.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aledrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at La Grande Cordée for a week with a group of walkers. This family-run hotel is clean with helpful and friendly staff. We had a large and comfortable bedroom and evening meals were very good. The packed lunches were plentiful. As we arrived by night train, we got to Ax at 7.00 am, we were picked up at the station and had breakfast soon afterwards, we were given our room as soon as it was ready, around 10 am. We were also taken back to the station to catch a train at 9.20 pm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicknCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A friend and I had reserved a twin room in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel confirmed the reservation, but when we turned up they casually told us that they had taken another booking for the room and could no longer accommodate us, even though they also had a record of our record (and their confirmation of it). I was absolutely furious and very surprised. This has never happened to me in 20+ years of travelling around the world and making reservations.

The receptionist told us that they had reserved a room for us instead at another local hotel, but when we arrived there they knew nothing about it! (and were full so couldn't accommodate us either). In the end I had to walk around town until I found somewhere that did have room, but it was very stressful and ate into half a day of our 3 day trip to Ax les Thermes.

We walked past La Grande Cordee the next day and saw a coach parked outside. Clearly, the hotel had received a more lucrative booking and just dumped us without any prior communication or alternative arrangement.

This was absolutely disgraceful behaviour on their part and breaches the relationship of trust between any hotel and its guests.

Ax is a beautiful little town with lovely friendly people, good skiing and a fab thermal baths, but find somewhere else to stay. If you still want to reserve a room in this hotel, then feel free, but be aware that you might get there and be told that your room has been given to someone else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bootlemarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews