We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, but make sure it is right for you....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domaine de la Vallee d'Ax
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but make sure it is right for you....”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The apartment was clean, a good size, modern, ample free parking, friendly staff and a reasonable price - so what can be wrong?
- It is quite a walk from the centre of the town at least 20 mins and much more on the way back as it is up a steep hill.
- Do read the small print before you book
You must take towels and bed linen or be charged extra for them.
You must clean the flat before leaving or be charged extra.
- One final warning, the balcony. It has wooden 'slats' and consequently is not very private. You can be seen and heard from the balcony above and/or below. During our stay some washing was hung out above and we needed an umbrella to sit outside!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    60
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
55
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

A little bit hard to find but it is nice, clean, and reasonably priced. The location is good if you want to visit the wolf park or the thermal water center.
The staff is helpful, in case you want to do some activities they will help.
As it is a little bit far from the center, you better have your food and needs with you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We chose this apartment-style accommodation because it was fairly cheap and had plenty of (free) parking -- something that nowhere else seemed to offer in Ax Les Thermes. We had a studio for two nights, for which we had to pay a small extra charge for the bed linen and towels. Weirdly, this didn't include a duvet, so we had to settle for sheets and a blanket that we found in the wardrobe -- not a prospect I'd relish any later in the year. I didn't mind paying the few euros extra for the linen but was less happy with the EUR25 cleaning charge, which we thought was a bit steep for two people for two nights. But we coughed up anyway as we didn't want the hassle of buying all the cleaning materials and doing it ourselves (they do offer a cleaning kit, I believe, but predictably there is a charge for it). The studio itself was very small but comfortable and fairly well equipped, although there was no kettle (only a coffee maker). It was also on the second floor and there are no lifts. Location-wise, it suited us perfectly. Being on the outskirts of Ax, it is peaceful and has splendid views of the surrounding mountains but the town centre is just a 10-15 minute walk away. Although somewhat faded, the town has a fairly good selection of restaurants and bars -- including an excellent creperie hidden away in the back streets. But the highlight for me was undoubtedly the thermal baths (Les Bains Du Couloubret), where you can languish in outdoor pools of naturally-warm spring water while enjoying the mountain views. In summary, if EasyJet did holiday accommodation, it would probably be like the Antipodes Domaine de la Vallee d'Ax -- efficient, practical, no-frills accommodation at a good basic price but with plenty of little extras to push up your bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank queenaliofhanover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, KS, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Residence is brand new ski resort. We rented it to be close to a stage of the Tour de France.
The appartment was small with only a fold out bed, which turned out to be pretty comfortable.
We stayed only one day, so did not have to pay for cleaning or bed linens, but towel rental was charged. People at the office were very nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kredburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ax-les-Thermes hotels
0.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Trois Domaines
0.3 mi away
Le Chalet Hotel Restaurant
Le Chalet Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 9 in Ax-les-Thermes
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Auzeraie Hotel-Restaurant
L'Auzeraie Hotel-Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Ax-les-Thermes
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Grande Cordee
La Grande Cordee
#3 of 9 in Ax-les-Thermes
106 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Castelet Hotel
Le Castelet Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ax-les-Thermes
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lagrange Confort+ Les Chalets d'Ax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Vallee d'Ax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Vallee d'Ax

Property: Domaine de la Vallee d'Ax
Address: Le Tourbillons, 09110, Ax-les-Thermes, France (Formerly Residence Domaine de la Vallee D'Ax)
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Ax-les-Thermes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ax-les-Thermes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de la Vallee d'Ax 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domaine de la Vallee d'Ax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing