We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Saint Die des Vosges
Post
Inbox
Search

“Depressing, disappointing”

Restaurant Logan LAUG
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 10/24
8:00 PM
Price range: $16 - $58
Description: "Logan LAUG et son équipe, vous accueille dans son tout nouveau restaurant gastronomique à Saint Dié dans les vosges. Venez déguster une cuisine de produits frais, cuisinée sur place avec des influences asiatiques. Notre sommelier vous proposera une carte des vins diverses et variées, de plus de 250 références. Le restaurant vous accueil du mercredi au dimanche, midi et soir. Un parking gratuit est à votre disposition, accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Menu affaire le midi et formule groupe. Possibilité de prestations traiteur sur demande."
Restaurant details
Description: "Logan LAUG et son équipe, vous accueille dans son tout nouveau restaurant gastronomique à Saint Dié dans les vosges. Venez déguster une cuisine de produits frais, cuisinée sur place avec des influences asiatiques. Notre sommelier vous proposera une carte des vins diverses et variées, de plus de 250 références. Le restaurant vous accueil du mercredi au dimanche, midi et soir. Un parking gratuit est à votre disposition, accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Menu affaire le midi et formule groupe. Possibilité de prestations traiteur sur demande."
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As the other half of Namklim's party, I feel I can only confirm his forensic analysis. We have seen a lot of St Die over the past 20 years, having had a second home there for 10 of them.We knew and loved this restaurant in the early 2000's as the Petit Chantilly, and felt we should try its latest embodiment as the Logan Laugh. Not least in view of the difficulty of eating at any kind of gastronomic level in the immediate area (thank goodness for Alsace but that is an hour away).
Our welcome with the remark "Are you tourists?", and being wedged into a rather modest table so that service involved reaching over us to get to the punter in the corner did not bode well, but worse was to follow.
The first disappointment was the absence of choice on the menus, and as my wife does not eat veal and is not that fond of farmed salmon (from Norway if you please at the Logan) she ate a la carte, i.e. the previously slow cooked (and thus reheated to a lukewarm degree) lamb and a "deconstructed Magnum" (i.e. choc ice) dessert. The latter lacked visual appeal, say no more in polite company.The former arrived on a cool plate, and suffered from a problem others have noted: too many flavours jumbled up in the veg with the result that there was in total virtually no flavour at all.
My glass of pinot noir was not up to the standard achieved in Alsace for the same price the day before, begging the question "Where does Logan L buy his wine?"
Enough of this. I am trying to forget this meal, not relive it! And for the avoidance of doubt, you may be completely sure we will not be going back

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Redgwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l-log, Gérant at Restaurant Logan LAUG, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

bonjour merci pour votre commentaire, nous en avons pris bonne note .... a jamais !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Living near Saint-Dié for over fifteen years, we are always looking for a closer restaurant to entertain friends rather than travelling 40 minutes or more to our favourites. This is only 10 minutes away.

A poor reception with no offer to take coats. Despite other empty (and never used) tables, we were given a corner table with a wall on one side so the server had to lean over or pass everything. The carafe of water was filled to the brim and not poured. So we served ourselves and it was spilt.

We chose the three-course menu (amuse-bouche, le veau, le saumon, les madeleines) with two glasses of wine (42€).

The first three amuse bouche seemed to have been reconstructed from the components of the first course of the lunchtime menu (rémoulade de choux blanc, granny et haddock). They were followed by a deconstructed tarte flambée comprising cheesy crème fraiche, caramelized onions, and bacon with flour sticks.

The white wine for the veal tartare and cold low-temperature egg did not arrive until we were halfway through the course.

The wine for the salmon (an insipid red) arrived soon after. We were introduced individually to everyone of the diced vegetables and pineapple cube. The “poireaux brulés” (there was only a few centimetres of one leek, which was well charred but also mainly a stringy top rather than a succulent inner.

One of us had the low-temperature lamb gigot but that had not been cooked long enough so was chewy and not melting in the mouth. Both the main courses were served only just warm. Most of the cutlery has thin spindle handles so is very light. The heavy knife for the lamb did not balance well in the hand.

The unexciting, over-baked with a rock-like exterior, madeleines dessert came with poached pear and vanilla ice cream.

So no, this is not a good example of bistronomy and certainly did not meet our criteria of tasty, well-cooked and -presented food. Much of it was obviously pre-prepared and put together just before being served.

We will not be returning.

(And look carefully when evaluating the ratings. Of the ninety-five reviews before this one, forty-four come from (mainly local) individuals who have not posted any other review and another eleven with only two reviews)

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank namklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l-log, Propriétaire at Restaurant Logan LAUG, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Logan LAUG also viewed

Saint Die des Vosges, Vosges
Saint Die des Vosges, Vosges
 
Saint Die des Vosges, Vosges
Saint Die des Vosges, Vosges
 
Saint Die des Vosges, Vosges
Saint Die des Vosges, Vosges
 

Been to Restaurant Logan LAUG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing