We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins De La Glaciere
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Corte
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It took a little time to fnd it , but it was well worth it. The room gave us a wonderful, serene view of the mountain, and the pool area below. We drove into the town at night for dinner. The parking situation is tight if you don't park below,because the road is quite narrow. The room is definetly a great place, but we couldn't figure, p out why there were two extra twin beds in the room, espicially since there was just two of us. Great room with super view

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    199
    53
    19
    18
See reviews for
136
237
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were so looking forward to staying here but were completely disappointed with the service. The woman on the front desk basically did everything to avoid being helpful. When we arrived, we drove down the driveway only to have no where to park or turn around - really stressful. When I tried to order snacks and food, she basically talked to her friends on the phone and didn't give me the time of day. It felt like a hotel with no service whatsoever.
Nice creek for swimming nearby though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location of this hotel is truly amazing, but finding it and making your way up a one way road (with traffic coming from the opposite direction) can be difficult. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was especially nice. We arrived in the afternoon and our room was not ready, we had a little difficulty communicating...no one spoke English, but we managed to muddle through.

No matter what the signs say the only food I saw served was breakfast, which was the standard European buffet...although I believe they did have scrambled eggs. The only choice for dinner is the next hotel up the road, not far and it was a decent meal, but take a flash light with you it's a very narrow road and if it's after dark the cars coming at you are a little frightening., same thing if you walk to Corte. It was a little late in the season to swim in the river, but it did look inviting. We spent most of our time sightseeing in the area (by car) but I would love to go back and do some hiking. I'm not sure if it was just the time of year we were there (Sept) but there were many, many motorcycle clubs touring, in fact most of the hotel was filled with motorcycle enthusiasts. It's a really lovely spot and an amazing change from Calvi and Bonafacio. The whole Restonica Valley is definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldreamsII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for two nights at Les Jardins recently. On the plus side, the location is superb - right at start point of the Restonica Gorge. The views are terrific and sitting outside in the garden or by the pool is really lovely. The breakfast is great and the staff are unfailingly helpful. I had a slight problem with my room, which was dealt with enthusiastically (and mostly effectively!). The rooms are clean, relatively sparse. The one thing to bear in mind is that it is at least 20 minutes walk from the centre of town - which is particularly interesting after a good meal. I enjoyed the walk, but others might not!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penyderyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This review is overdue. My husband and I stayed here in November of 2011 and while it was a lovely hotel, we did not get to enjoy it. There was a flash flood and our car was almost swept away into the river below (which is far below the hotel, the flooding was just very intense and a completely random event for the area). There were no one on staff at night, but there is a number to contact the owner at his house. In our panic, we forgot our French(!) but he was very calm and spoke excellent English. He drove over in the storm to help us out. The next day when the flooding had subsided a bit, the lady at the front desk called the Gendarme to make sure that our route was clear of debris and that the road still existed! It was a frightening event, but everything was ok thanks to the owner and staff.

There was a beautiful pool and a gorgeous seating area outside. The rooms were lovely too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel is in the most beautiful location. It is nestled in the Restonica valley (which itself is very wild and impressive), about a 15 minute walk away from Corte. There is a small (free) car park which holds about 6 cars, with additional parking on the road. Our room was on the 3rd floor which is level with the road, so preferred to park on the road for convenience. The room itself was quite large and very clean, the room had often been cleaned before we returned from breakfast. The reception staff were very pleasant but couldn't speak very good English. One particular member of staff who worked at night was a bit unhelpful. We returned from Corte one night at approximately 9.30pm looking forward to a nice drink on the outside terrace. We waited at the bar and asked for a drink, to be told 'ferme', although the notice on the door said the bar was open until 11.30. Also, on the first night when we arrived after a long journey, we checked in quite late at around 7pm. The notice said they served snacks until 9.00pm, but when we asked, we were (helpfully)told that the hotel next door served snacks and food. They obviously aren't concerned about making any money. However, the breakfast is fantastic with a wide range of pastries, local cheese (which was amazing), local charcuterie, fruit, cereal, etc. The highlight for us was the natural pool in the river at the bottom of the garden. There was a pool and a jacuzzi at the hotel, but we didn't use these. The natural pool was so clear and warm. It was beautiful. As I mentioned before the hotel was a 15 minute walk away from Corte. If you are walking back when it is dark (like we did after a meal) make sure you take a torch, as half of the walk is not lit by street lighting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

In June 2012 we staid 4 nights in Les Jardins De La Glacière in Corte.

What can we say. Fantastic in all aspects.

The hotel is located at the beginning of a narrow dead-end valley (Gorges de la Restonica). This road ends after a good 3 quarter hour drive at a car park and all along this road there are plenty opportunites to be near the river and/or sunbathe so the location of the hotel is perfect.

The road is heavyly used but in our room (on the 2nd floor) we didn’t notice that at all. The main entrance of the hotel is a bit below the road ond a small side path. At the end there is space for about 8 cars. If there are no spaces left there is parking on the ‘main’ road with a side entrance into the hotel on the 3rd floor (which is at the same level as this ‘main’ road).

The hotel is in the middle of the forest but the terrace, garden and swimming pool were even in June very sunny. With all the trees around you could also find a place in the shade. The terrace, garden and swimming pool could not be seen from the main road so it felt very private.

The checking in went ok. The receptionist (owner?) spoke very good English.
As said our room was on the 2nd floor and this was one level below the road and nice and quiet. The only thing we heard was the river.

The room was very big, had a safe and a nice bathroom. No hook for the showerhead but a nice big double bath and a wall by the side of part of the bath so no chance of flooding the bathroom. The beds were sometimes already made after we came back from breakfast.

We had a garden view. Directly below our room was the swimming pool. Nice size, plenty of deckchairs and a hottub for 8 people. Unfortunately the tub was broken and it took a couple of days before it got fixed. By then the water was not at temperature anymore so we didn’t enjoy the tub as much as we may have wanted.

The breakfast was fantastic. Lots of regional cheeses and meats. Also a big selection of jams, tea and bread. Maybe the staff could be a little quicker with clearing the tables after people had left.

The terrace is spacious and is directly by the side of the river. At the end of the terrace you can walk into the garden with loads of lounge chairs, deckchairs and normal chairs and tables just to sit; all of this by the side of the river.

The hotel does not offer evening meals but they have a good selection of snacks and light lunches. After ordering something the staff will bring it to you even if you are in the very back of the garden.
Packed picknick can be ordered.

Wifi with a great reach.

Including breakfast we ordered about 30 times something to eat/drink from the bar and the bill at the end was exactly right. To us that showed that the staff is very accurate. Every time we ordered something they asked us for our room number but we wondered if they actually made a note of that. Obviously they did. Good work.

Fantastic place! Maybe for some too far to walk to town but if you can get over that this is a must-stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte
0.8 mi away
Hotel Arena Le Refuge
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Nord
Hotel du Nord
#3 of 9 in Corte
195 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel E Caselle
Hotel E Caselle
#2 of 3 in Venaco
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
22.4 mi away
Capo d'Orto Hotel
Capo d'Orto Hotel
#1 of 15 in Porto
362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Duc de Padoue
Hotel Duc de Padoue
#5 of 9 in Corte
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins De La Glaciere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins De La Glaciere

Property: Les Jardins De La Glaciere
Address: route de la Restonica | Vallée de la Restonica, 20250 Corte, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Corte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Corte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Jardins De La Glaciere 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel open all year around in the heart of the Restonica Valley in the waterfront, with pool, Jacuzzi, wooded and shaded terrace fancing the torrent free parking, wifi high speed inside and outside. 31 rooms with king size bed, mini bar, safe, flat screen 32 "with international satellite channels, bathtub, and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Les Jardins De La Glaciere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De La Glaciere Corte, Corsica, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing