We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Chateau Fort
Nearby Hotels
Le Saint-Michel(Sedan)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Ardennes(Corbion sur Semois)
$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveler rating
277
349
110
50
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
349
110
50
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorwithin the wallsthird floorle chateauwell worth a visitunusual hotelcastle courtyardplenty of parkingout of the waysuperior roomexcellent valuestone wallsboth nightsmodern roomsnice settingreal castlecastle tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 800 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel was interesting as it is built into an old fort, as you might have guessed from the name of the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lobby/bar area downstairs is very nice with a sitting room (wood fireplace) and a billiards room.

The customer service was average. At first the reception staff was not that helpful in helping us find a nice place for dinner. Not that it's a big deal, but some small stuff went missing from our room (I'm guessing from cleaning staff) such as cigarettes and change. Nothing expensive was taken but the experience just left a bad impression on us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotel Le Chateau Fort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Sir,

I am sorry to read on TripAdvisor your dissatisfaction concerning this theft.

I had no knowledge of this incident during your presence in the hotel. Please can you contact me directly to discuss it?

Aurore IWANCIW
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a delightful surprise for a fortress hotel. Well preserved fort but modern and comfortable rooms. We reserved two rooms as they only had room for two guests each, but the facility was fantastic. Would not have went to Sedan had we not found this hotel on a website....and very glad we did. Fun main floor bar with pool room, excellent museum of the fortress, and right next to downtown make this a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheffico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotel Le Chateau Fort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear guest,

Further to your stay in our hotel Le Château Fort de Sedan, you made the effort to announce your comments and we thank you for it.

We are happy to notice that your stay was pleasant to you. Be assured that your return will be us of a big help in the constant improvement of the quality which we wish to bring to our guest.

By hoping to have the occasion to welcome you again in our establishment.
Best regards,
Aurore Iwanciw - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had mixed feelings when reading some customer comments on Tripadvisor. We were not sure what to expect, some comments were very positive, others rather negative (like on quality and service in the restaurant). However, our experience was opposite. We can recommend this hotel without any doubt.
Upon arrival in the hotel the receptionist was very friendly and correct. She gave us also welcome info on opening hours of the restaurant and asked us when they could expect us that first evening in the restaurant. Room was OK in size and functionality. Furniture is maybe not antique, but it is not evident to decorate such a large hotel with real antique. Yet, it was functional and suited our needs.
We stayed there on Dec 23 and 24. We had twice a very good evening meal with accompanied wine, water and coffee included the first night. The 2nd nigth (Christmas-eve) we were offered the opportunity to pay a surplus for accompanying drinks with the (6 course) meal. We doubted due to the surplus cost which was said to be 39 euro per person, but decided to go for it. We got excellent wines with every dish, even a champagne cognac with the sorbet and a glass of champagne with our dessert. Also plenty of water and coffee after our meal. Later it turned out we were only charged 30 euro per person (i.o 39 pp). This was a nice surprize.
That same day I reported a malfunctioning cabinet door in our room. Within 5 minutes after our contact with the receptionist, there was somebody from maintenance at our door to fix the problem. And this on the afternoon of Christmas- eve !
Also breakfast was twice very good. No shortages at all, Plenty of everything and very kind and helpful staff. We did hear that hotel management changed about 1 1/2 years ago. This may very well be true, because most customer comments from after mid 2012 seem to be better than before that period.
We booked true a Belgian travel agent and had a very good deal. This might this stay also pretty cost competitive. We will likely return there.
See also further for room tips.
If you think these comments were usefull, then please indicate so by giving it your "helpful vote". Thanks

Room Tip: We were there during a storm with heavy wind, but being on the 2nd floor within the protection of the fortress walls, we had hardly any noise from the stong wind. On the other hand, we were there with another couple who lodged in a family room (they also had a dog with them) and they had some problems with the noise from the heavy wind during the night. On the other hand they were very pleased with the location of their room being on the 6th (highest floor). Funny enough, they could from their room walk straight out and let the dog out on the grass. That side of the fortress rampart leveled with the 6th floor. Also, the view from there over the city is very nice. While the hotel offers superior rooms and suits we stayed in a standard room and it satisfied our needs. Enough space for our clothing, etc... for 2-3 nights. We stayed in room 201.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHPSEDAN, Directeur général at Hotel Le Chateau Fort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Sir,

Further to your stay in our hotel Le Château de Sedan, you made the effort to announce your comments and we thank you for it.

We are happy to notice that your stay was pleasant to you. Be assured that your return will be us of a big help in the constant improvement of the quality which we wish to bring to our customers.

By hoping to have the occasion to welcome you again in our establishment.
Best regards,
Aurore Iwanciw - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a spare day to do nothing in particular between Bruxelles and Reims, looking at the map Sedan looked like a good place to stay overnight. Doing a little web search this looked like the obvious place to stay - a hotel right in the castle! The overall environs are superb, and the superior room overlooking the ramparts was certainly worth the few extra euros on booking.com (much less than what is listed on the hotel website...). The entrance lobby is very nice, my only reason for not giving an excellent rating is the overall quality of the room (principally décor & quality of furniture). In such a lovely environment, just a little extra touch could make the difference form pleasant to superb. Based on other reviews here, we did not try the in-house restaurant but walked into the town (5 minutes) for dinner.

Room Tip: The superior rooms opening to the ramparts are definitely worth the extra, if you don't mind walking one level up on stairs.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Sleeping in a castle is always nice, specially when the entrance walls are up to 26 meters wide!!
The room was confortable and pleasant thanks to the front stony wall, a pitty that the furniture used inside was cheap, no antique at all, without any charm and they use carpet even in the restaurant!. The white painting of the walls was scratched and flaky in a corner of the bathroom.
Despite of this, it is a nice place to stay (specially for a week end) with a very good restaurant (despite the slooooow service) and a good breakfast too.
Not to miss: the visit to the castle (expensive but worth it) and the pool table (free of charge) in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgataLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews