We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sedan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

As most people have said the hotel itself is amazing. Built onto the inner wall of the courtyard it is approached by a tunnel through the unbelievably thick walls of the castle itself. It is worth climbing the last flight of stairs to have a room on the sixth floor as those rooms actually open out onto the battlements and chairs are provided for you to sit outside. Our room was very pleasant, a little hot perhaps in the recent heatwave but we're not used to AC so didn't find it too bad. Nice bathroom but I think someone else has commented on the slippery bath, just be warned.
Unfortunately the restaurant lets the hotel down; O.K. it is fairly expensive but the food is very good: it's the service that is poor. I don't mind a leisurely meal but I do like to know that I have been noticed and not forgotten. Breakfast was worse; tables weren't cleared and relaid, and the buffet was slow in being replenished. It's the staffing levels at meals that needs improving. All in all I enjoyed our stay and would go back, especially as there is a wonderful restaurant in town! The town itself is rather dull but I wouldn't call it threatening and it's not far to the Ardennes so Sedan is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you can manage the stairs to the 6th floor (the lift only goes to the floor below) it's worth...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 764 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is great, but as other reviewers have commented avoid the restaurant, both for a evening meal & breakfast. The superior rooms & suites are on the 6th floor. Pay the extra. You are 5 minutes away from the centre of town, so do not waste your money & book the in-house restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveG1955_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The castle is impressive, its big, with a hotel, a closed part that you can visite, a resturant, cafe, parking and a roof-garden.

The room 612 is at the top of the castle, with its own hal, castle view, toilett, bathroom with shower and bathtube, big bedroom and garden.

There is no AC!! Or fan... So be prepared to be hot at night, is was 35 degrees mid day when we were there.

Dont eat at the hotel resturant, walk 5 min downtown and go to Les Halles:)

But its lovely and romantic, stay for 2 nights then you get to see Sedan, the castle and the hills around.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

OK so you want to stay in a castle in france...that was the request from the family, this is one of a very few that will take a family comfortably. You even get to park your car inside the walls of the massive castle during the night...its quite remarkable. The superior rooms are a must as they are 2 level, have a garden door that exists to a grassy meadow on top of the battlements....which provides views down to the old part of Sedan and other walls around the castle. We are an australian family travelling in summer and this was a welcome respite from the road, not a big tourist destination which meant its very much a local feel on the streets which was really nice for a change (albeit it looks a little rough - the town). Don't be challenged by what looks like a rough little town, its actually really nice on the streets and the town centre near the forte have lovely little restaurants and bars. During mid summer they even stage jousting competitions on the outer castle grounds....we missed it by one night....next time.

We also prebooked the restaurant in the forte the first night....it was nice, a little pricey but in line with the status of the chef and kitchen. Food was pretty nice but you are opening your wallet on this one. Hotel staff were great, no hassles....they had added breakfast accidentally to our bill, but that was rectified in a jiffy....only other thing to be aware of is the lifts dont go the the upper rooms fully, so for the nice grass outdoor loft rooms you have to heave the luggage for one flight.....but for us that wasn't a big drama...had that many places on this trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed one night with friends on a European trip. The entrance to the hotel is very impressive, situated as it is in one wall of the courtyard of a large military fort. Check in was smooth, efficient and very polite and the receptionist later willingly doubled as our barista when the real thing could not be found and we wanted a drink at the small bar.
Rooms reserved overlooked the chateau courtyard, and were clean and roomy. Bathrooms were well equipped and clean. The original features of what appeared to be the old residential block of the fortress had been well preserved in the fabric of the building, which added to the pleasant ambience of the hotel.
I have visited nicer towns in France, but we had a pleasant walk through the northern gates and into the centre were we found an agreeable bar in a good location overlooking a square.
Breakfast the following day was excellent, a large choice of both hot and cold dishes and as usual in France, tasty bread and croissants. Check out was a repeat of check in, smooth, swift and efficient.
The hotel is a good place to stay, well situated in a dramatic setting, but I could not recommend the town!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pansantander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel Chateau Fort is as you might expect, a hotel within a large medieval fortress in the centre of Sedan. The rooms are tasteful and comfortable with smart bathrooms, however you have to be very careful using the shower as the shower trays and slate tiling is lethal when wet. My husband suffered a very heavy fall during our stay and several other members of our party slipped. The breakfast was good and the receptionist spoke good English which was helpful. There was a permantent unpleasant smell around the lift area on the ground floor however. We were travelling in a large car rally group and stayed in the hotel for one night, moved on down to the Vosges and then returned for a further night 4 days later. Unfortunately, following my husbands heavy fall, we had a difficult time getting him to the car when we checked out of our room on the first visit. I had a lot of bags to get to the car and inadvertantly left my camera in the room. i did not realise this for a couple of days and so on our way back 4 days later I asked if the camera had been handed in to Reception...it had not! I have left my contact details with the hotel staff and followed this up with an email, but had no response. it is a shame that this has rather clouded my view of the place. The hotel restaurant was solidly booked so we never tried it but I can recommend a very good little restaurant 5 minutes walk away, the St Michel, excellent value fixed price menu, lovely food.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the carpark can be noisy, because the carpark is enclosed the sound of cars starti...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a last night stop before Zebrugge and the ferry at the end of a European motorcycle tour with friends. On arrival the bored receptionist denied our booking in the face of their confirmation email printout. After a while she then said they had recently changed their email system so then set about getting housekeeping to provide us the 2 rooms we had booked. When we got to the room, we were short of the complimentary coffee etc so when we rang to get that sorted, we were visited by a vey grumpy lady to remedy the situation. We had asked about dinner but were told there was no room in the restaurant but we could walk into town if we wanted. We were also advised by the receptionist that the area immediately outside the hotel was not safe and that ' she wouldn't walk there...' So we left the fort by a dingy tunnel and iron gate (time locked after 20:00 presumably to keep the rougher elements in town out ?) and made our way to the town centre which was depressing, ugly and unkempt. We finally had drink in a bar (' The Whitbread Kings Arms - hardly a French classic) and were treated to a display of olympic standard disdain by the proprietress. We followed that by a poor standard Italian meal in a nearby restaurant where we were served after all the locals even those who came in much later.

We returned to the hotel to ask for a coffee, and only because the night watchman and even that was a problem. We did not after that bother with breakfast as it was an exorbitant price and we had little confidence in it's quality after our previous experiences.

On the ferry the next day we met 2 other parties from the UK who had been to the hotel the same night and they recounted similar experiences. One a party of friends in their 50's visiting war sites had used this as their last stop and after being turned down by the hotel restaurant then sat waiting so long in a town centre restaurant that they left without eating. The other part a young couple with 2 small girls, also turned away from the hotel restaurant could not find anywhere suitable in the town and resorted in the end to buying some food from a small shop and going back to their room to eat there.

This is not a pleasant town and fort though impressive in size is foreboding. The rooms are ok but small with a bathroom and separate WC.

Not to be recommended

Room Tip: Find another town to stay if you want to see the fort...........................
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KismetWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedan
4.6 mi away
Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Michel
Le Saint-Michel
#2 of 7 in Sedan
133 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
#1 of 1 in Villers-Semeuse
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Campanile Sedan
Campanile Sedan
#4 of 7 in Sedan
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Sedan
Kyriad Sedan
#3 of 7 in Sedan
104 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel Le Coeur d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort

Address: Porte des Princes, 08200 Sedan, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Ardennes > Sedan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sedan
Price Range: $114 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort Hotel Sedan
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort Sedan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing