We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sedan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The good thing about being off the beaten path is that costs are usually less and locations seem more real than in the usual tourist locations. We chose this castle to spend a night on the way between Luxembourg Findel Airport and Bruges for that reason. The outer walls were authenic and our room was thoroughly modern, which we liked. The room and hotel were very clean and service was prompt and attentive, which were points in its favor. In addition, the food in the restaurant was as good as any I have found in Paris but for much less. The only negative was that we did not time our trip to be there during the Renaissance Festival.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 761 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

We opted for the free upgrade to a two floored suite and what a nice place. The room had a galleried bedroom and a door onto a communal grass area (the old battlements). Massive kingsize bed and great reception area. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Look out for the free upgrades to a suite
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comedypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Exquisite hotel in every respect. The hotel is literally in an old fort and has been beautifully appointed with every modern convenience, yet it has the original fort walls in the rooms and the fort windows. The staff is formal and efficient. Lovely, sohisticated lobby bar and the restaurant was a destination in itself. The food was fabulous, service excellent, reasonable, wonderful portions, and sumptuous desserts. Elegant without being stuffy. Just staying in this hotel was an experience in itself.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wright1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

What a fabulous sight, the fort is well worth a visit even if you don't stay there. It was fairly easy to locate but since the hotel hadn't bothered gritting the road it was an exciting drive into the fort. The car park was really icy too. The reception was ok, the room was very nice, good sized bathroom, very comfortable beds, well decorated and we found it quite exciting to be in the actual fort. The room was warm. The restaurant was fully booked the evening we arrived so we asked if we could order room service. We were told that the menu was in the room so we spent a while looking through the mouthwatering dishes on offer. After making our selections we called down to reception to be told that room service wasn't available. Not great service. So we had to drive out for food. That was our only negetive comment about the place. The next evening we booked a table and we both agreed that it rated as one of the best meals we'd eaten out. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank PenelopevanSchliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I stayed here from 5/11 to 7/11 with my girlfriend. The hotel is in the middle of the biggest castle in europe. And man what a location! It a quiet, romantic place with an autentic surrounding.

You go here to relax & for the food. You have the fortress and some other castles but that is it. Sedan is a small town with nothing to experience. If you want to do more culture, you can go to Reims or Verdun. It is only an 1 hour drive.

The rooms; All the rooms have ( partially ) authentic walls & windows. This gives a very nice romantic touch to the room. The furniture is OK but there is allready some wear & tear. The bathroom is small but very modern. The toilet is also in another room, what we liked. The wall between the rooms was from gyproc. So we heared some stuff ( that you dont want the hear )

The food; The breakfast is like a better 3 star hotel. You have some cheese, some meat, eggs & bacon and offcourse a limited choice in viennoiserie. All from the well known brands.

The restaurant is mentioned in gault millau and yes the food is great. We ate here twice. Know what to expect!!! It is classic french cuisine with the classic, small portions. I took the wild boar and I received only 2 racks of boar. But man it was the best piece of wild boar I ever tasted. It was made to perfection. Every dish is a little piece of art.

We only had a problem with the waiter on the second evening, he was young and unexperienced. We ordered an expensive bottle of wine but he didnt let us taste it. We also fond cork in our wine. Unforgivable! They where so very busy, it feeled like they could handle the room ( and there where not so many guests!!! ).

Final conclusion; this is a 3 star hotel in a perfect location. You come here to relax and taste the beautiful food. Most of the time you think that you are in a 4 star hotel for the most services. You only pay 75 euro for a normal room in low season and that is very good value for your money. My best 3 star hotel visit ever

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoffke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We've stayed a couple of times in this hotel. The location in the old fort is super! The rooms are very nice, with old fireplaces and walls in large old stones(pierres Lorraines). We've had some problems in the bathrooms. In the suite the bath tub (on the vide) was broken so the water dripped out of the ceiling of the toilet (on the ground floor). Another time the heating didn't work and the water from the toilet dripped on the floor...
We ate a couple of times in the restaurant. The service is not very accurate with long waiting times and wrong orders all the time (a bit like fawlty towers) but we were in no rush, had a good laugh and the food was OK.
This hotel is good value for money and the best in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iandvBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is simply a fabulous hotel. The chateau itself is breathtaking. The staff are great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trinitycall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedan
4.6 mi away
Le Domaine Chateau du Faucon
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Michel
Le Saint-Michel
#2 of 7 in Sedan
133 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
Ibis Charleville Mezieres
#1 of 1 in Villers-Semeuse
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kyriad Sedan
Kyriad Sedan
#3 of 7 in Sedan
101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Campanile Sedan
Campanile Sedan
#4 of 7 in Sedan
145 reviews
11.1 mi away
Le Dormeur du Val
Le Dormeur du Val
#4 of 15 in Charleville-Mezieres
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort

Address: Porte des Princes, 08200 Sedan, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Ardennes > Sedan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sedan
Price Range: $114 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort Hotel Sedan
Hotellerie Le Chateau Fort Sedan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing