We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel de l'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Langres
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here as a convenient stop-over through France. It was very central and had car parking, but was very scruffy and reception area dark, and uncared for. We did not eat here as the dining area looked depressing and untidy as well. Our room was ok, but shower room tiny and on second floor overlooking the car park.

Langres has some beautiful buildings and is very historical but is a really run-down town with many empty shops and houses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    33
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
14
47
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

A decent small hotel right on the main high street in the town with its own private courtyard parking. stayed in block at the back where the rooms are a good size and all very clean (the stairs are a bit tight!) looked at the restaurant and it looked like the hotel ‘botsie’ but adequate!! Couldn’t really complain for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We first stayed here 20+ years ago on a couple of occasions. It's in the old part of Langres, in southern Champagne, quite a convenient place for a stopover. It had a bit of a reputation 20 years ago as a good stopover, and I think that it has sat on it's laurels, such as they were. What passed muster 20 years ago doesn't necessarily work now. The hotel is still old fashioned (good) although the rooms have been renovated in the last 20 years (also good). The staff were efficient enough, but not what you'd call welcoming. The restaurant has, I think, gone down in quality; the old lady and I tried to work out whether our standards had gone up or the restaurant's had gone down; a bit of both, we concluded, but mainly the latter.

If we find ourselves in need of a stopover around here again, we'll try somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theblackhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langres hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked in advance seeing this was a Logis de France approved hotel. The room was good, we were given the most expensive family room.The hotel itself is a lovely ancient building, clearly an old post hotel. The furniture and fittings suggest it is currenlty on its very last legs. The restaurant promised an interesting menu but the service! two bad tempered women who stomped up and down, being rude to all the clientele, we felt we must have come to the wrong place. The food was poor and served tepid, the house wine dreadful. Breakfast was worse. Tiny packets of jam and butter, poor bread, stale croissants, packet ham and attrocious coffee. The staff were clearly unhappy and maybe the hotel is undergoing a crisis. Wait till it's over before considering visiting! If you are a member of Logis de France, please let them know.

Room Tip: ASk for rooms in the main hotel building, not the annexe. Parking is complicated as you have to shuf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandraKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stopped in Langres on our way home from the south of france, found this hotel on route through the town centre - the receptionist was friendly and helpful and our room was good with excellent double glazing to stop the traffic noise from the street.
We ate in the hotel restaurant that evening and the food was excellent, especially the cheese souffle starter! Good breakfast too the next morning, and easy access back to the motorway to continue our journey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Granja de San Ildefonso, Spain
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel during one week in april 2012, and I can say that this hotel is very nice, with an old style but in very good conditions.
The room is big with two big beds.

The restaurant is very good, the menu is enough and good quality, too.
The situation is perfect, in the center of Langres.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancescTort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Bit disappointed initially as the reception area is rather unprepossessing, and the landings are papered in a somewhat old fashioned yellow and blue. However our room (as requested at the back of the hotel) was large, with a comfortable bed and big bathroom. At around 80 euros, we felt it was good value. We did not eat there, the restaurant did not look appealing. While not necessarily choosing it as a destination in itself, we would stay there again while travelling through France. Langres is a very pretty town and well located for a stop over from North to South or vice versa.

Room Tip: Our room was in at the back, and peeking in to some of the others, all the rooms seemed good at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMHDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langres
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
#1 of 5 in Langres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Langres
0.2 mi away
Hotel De La Poste
Hotel De La Poste
#2 of 5 in Langres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Lion d'Or
Hotel le Lion d'Or
#5 of 5 in Langres
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jum'Hotel
Jum'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saints-Geosmes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chez Francoise
Chez Francoise
#1 of 1 in Bannes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de l'Europe

Property: Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Address: 23 rue Diderot, 52200 Langres, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haute-Marne > Langres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Langres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel de l'Europe 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel De L'Europe Langres, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing