We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are much better options”
Review of Hotel De La Poste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De La Poste
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Langres
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“There are much better options”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked this as the B&B that we were staying at was full. The room that we stayed in was in serious need of repair. The bathroom has a closet shower that takes at least 5 minutes to get any hot water. If you get claustrophobic in an airplane toilet your in big trouble. The water pressure in the shower was non existent.
The room was very dark and the one window doesn't let adequate light in. The electrics are dubious with lighting "flickering" whilst turned on.
The building has alot of wood in it and if you needed a quick exit in case of fire it was difficult to determine where the fire exits were. We were on the second floor which is accessed with a wooden staircase.
Breakfast was OK but seemed a little disorganized as they kept running out of milk, juice etc.
What really annoyed me is that we were charged tax for 5 people when apparently children under 12 years are not subject to tax. It was not alot but just the principle.
Parking was charged at 6 Euros for the night hmmmm!
There is parking around town if you look.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    63
    32
    21
    21
See reviews for
33
89
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Langres is a gem of a town, set on a hilltop with medieval walls and narrow cobbled streets. And this old hotel is right in the middle. Family run, and welcoming. Full of lovely old antique furniture, but slightly odd taste in décor (other reviewers have used the term quirky, which is pretty accurate). Evening meal OK (but have had a good deal better in this part of the world). Generous breakfast. A great choice for an overnight stay just off the autoroute.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian_T_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for one night in January. The hotel has painted panels throughtout the public rooms and an eclectic style of its own. we understand that the panels were painted by a graduate of Dijon art college. Our double room was very clean, quiet and overlooked a side street. It had a good bathroom with a shower but no bath. The heating was good, which was important because it was very cold. We enjoyed our meal in the evening and the chocolate fondant was very good indeed. The breakfast in the morning was a good buffet continetal breakfast, including cold meats and cheeses, We used the hotel's car park. The wi-fi internet access was good and was freely available. Overall a good central place from which to explore Langres.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeltonJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. Possible because of the time of year, just after Christmas but we were hugely disappointed. The room was lovely although the bathroom was huge it had no bath and a plastic shower that looked like the "Tardis". The hotel was clean, but not overly friendly or welcoming. We ate dinner in the hotel and were very disappointed with the food and the wine list was incredibly expensive - a real shame.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesChristchurch56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langres hotels

Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I honestly don't really know what to make of this hotel. We like old fashioned French and places with some character and so we chose La Poste.

We stayed here for 1 night at the very end of August on our way to Switzerland. Convenient location and a good place to stop with a little time to do a bit of exploring of this walled town. There are still areas of the hotel undergoing some refurbishment (which from previous reviews seems to have been happening for over a year now) which made the stair area feel a bit grubby and the access to the 'swimming pool' was locked. There did not seem to be any outside area apart from a bit of parking so we can only assume the advertised pool was an indooor one as we never got to see it (my husband would have enjoyed a dip on arrival and again before breakfast and was one of the reasons we picked this hotel).

Madame on the desk was lovely and we exchanged pidgin French and English and were made to feel welcome.

Our room was very small and triangular in shape and very, very dark having been modernised in dark purple - purple walls, floor and ceilings and purple bedspread coupled with some possibly fake very dark wood beams. No furniture that I can recall (maybe a desk) as the room was too small for anything much other than the bed. This was large and very comfortable. The bathroom had obviously been created out of part of the room (hence its shape and size) and was modern, clean and very well appointed.

Having checked in we went out for a wander in the early evening sun and as the hotel is centrally located it was convenient for restaurants and bars or for exploring round the walls.

We decided not to eat at the hotel as when we looked in, the restaurant, although charming was quiet and rather empty. We went to a busy little bistro just up the road from the hotel in a square where we could sit outside and have some simple reasonably priced food.

Our room overlooked the front of the hotel and the street. We were woken up at about 5 a.m. by some young man who thought it would be a good idea to rev up his moped for the echoes it produced from the tall buildings all around. Not under the hotel's control obviously but annoying, especially as we had left the window open for some air, there being no air-conditioning. We enjoyed a good breakfast, met more friendly and helpful staff, were introduced to the hotel's 2 dogs (they like their tummys' scratched) and another walk around the walls before setting off on our journey.

So, would we go back? Probably - who wants to stay in clinical sameness all the time? The staff are friendly and helpful, room was clean, bed was comfortable and the location was very convenient. Our room was overpriced I felt at 120Euros but we had difficulty everywhere finding anything much cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuePerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham GB
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a very good hotel, very comfortable with excellent food. It's charm is that it is an old fashioned French provincial hotel recently refurbished to modern standards but without losing its charming traditional character. It is not Holiday Inn, so if you want that sort of thing go elsewhere. This is for those who love the feel of France and history.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is a thoughtful combination of old and new, with new where it mattered most (the bathrooms are lovely!). The 5 of us had 3 rooms, all of which were charming and comfortable, with bathrooms that were very 'user friendly' and large. The staff we encountered were welcoming and accommodating, and the breakfast was outstanding - and was served in a really lovely large dining area, with a pink glass ceiling, beautiful period wood flooring, and a combination of classic and modern furniture and decoration (including large portraits of dogs dressed in period costumes). Also, the hotel has a small swimming pool - a big plus for us, as the weather had been very hot for most of our trip.

Room Tip: Two of our three rooms faced a city square where a late-night club offered plenty of noise, so ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty08WhiteRock_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langres
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
Hotel Le Cheval Blanc
#1 of 5 in Langres
246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Langres
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel de l'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Jum'Hotel
Jum'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saints-Geosmes
86 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 1 in Villegusien-le-Lac
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Lion d'Or
Hotel le Lion d'Or
#5 of 5 in Langres
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Poste

Property: Hotel De La Poste
Address: 8 Place Ziegler, 52200 Langres, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haute-Marne > Langres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Langres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Poste 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel De La Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Poste Langres
Hotel De La Poste Langres, France, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing