We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but slightly OTT haute cuisine”

Hotel Le Cheval Blanc Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Langres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Good but slightly OTT haute cuisine”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a serious restaurant, to be taken seriously and it has much to recommend it, although some slight oddities too. We had the 45 euro menu and basically it was very good indeed - fine ingredients, carefully cooked, beautifully presented. My only quibble was some odd pairings on the plate. Perfect slices of foie-gras were paired with an overly aggressive red-fruit jam (blackcurrant? cherry?) which drowned rather than complemented the foie gras. A main course of lamb cooked in various ways was perfect - except that the key piece of meat came with a thick peanut crust which, again, fought rather than complemented. So full marks for inventiveness, but rather lower marks for some of the results. Service was good. With an aperitif on the little terrace outside, a good bottle of Marsannay, and the (optional) cheese plate, the bill was quite large, but a good deal less than you'd pay for cooking of this quality in London or Paris.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    96
    27
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Special Treat”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very good quality restaurant, and perfect for a special occasion. That said. I had a slight feeling of disappointment, having previously read the reviews. The food was beautifully presented but just didn't quite do it for me. We ate from the cheapest 32 euro menu and whether this was reflected in the dishes we had, I don't know. Like I said, a very good restaurant, but in my book, not deserving of the full 5 stars

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noctonlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The restaurant is now called "Diderot"”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

See the review in the hotel section of le Cheval Blanc.
As is said there: do not look for something else; this is the best in Langres.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just perfect.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant is one of the best I have ever been to. The food is straight from heaven, the service is outstanding, and the interior is appealing. I had the "foie gras chaud aux pommes", it was sensational! The sommelier advise us a wine that was cheaper than the one I had selected, and his choice proved to be excellent. If you stay in Langres for no longer than one day, go to restaurant Le Cheval Blanc, you will have something to talk about for the rest of your life!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“one michelin star”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

one michelin star for me and very proffesional staff . very nice wines on the winelist and a very nice view

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fons J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Le Cheval Blanc Restaurant also viewed

Langres, Haute-Marne
Langres, Haute-Marne
 
Langres, Haute-Marne
 

Been to Hotel Le Cheval Blanc Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing