We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable fine dining in lovely setting.”

Hotel Le Cheval Blanc Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Langres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable fine dining in lovely setting.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

All of the dishes chosen from the 42E menu were excellent and beautifully presented and the Givry wine excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Odile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    92
    26
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place isn’t cheap but that probably doesn’t matter once you savour the flavour. The restaurant is in the Hotel Cheval Blanc in Langres which is in the middle of France and an extremely convenient stop over either en route to or from Alpine slopes or the Cote d’Azur. You can go for one of the fixed price menus or a la carte and whichever way you go you will be treated to additional amuse bouche treats, superbly tasty mainly regional food and a pleasant setting. The staff may be a bit variable but the owners do keep their eye on things to ensure standards don’t drop. Just be aware that Sunday night may be when the chef has pre prepared the food for warming by underlings and it simply isn’t as good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“unbeatable”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A really great formal restaurant. The service is spot on and the food while being truly tasty fine dining is also pleasantly filling. A great place for a real treat and to top it all its good value for money when you take into account the excellent food and service. Will be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD, WINES AT SENSIBLE PRICES”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

we have never had anything which wasn't good/very good in the restaurant with one piece of meat (venison) the best I have ever eaten and several desserts to quite exceptional standards. We are fussy - this place works. , Not a huge wine list but some very interesting half bottles.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gilstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic French Food”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The food was exceptional and the location very pretty. All four of us really enjoyed our meal - my wife's lobster looked magnificent. The menu was well balanced and there was a choice of several set alternatives as well as the a la carte. Portions were sensibly ample - no ridiculous micro servings at Le Cheval Blanc - and we left the table feeling replete. This is not a budget restaurant but for what is served it is very good value for money. The wine list was interesting and reasonably priced, however, as it was the last night of the holiday we were extravagent and did not regret our choices. The service was friendly and efficient without being overly pressing - enhancing the occasion rather than making things starchily formal. Overall an excellent evening ending our holiday on a high note.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bexxy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Le Cheval Blanc Restaurant also viewed

Langres, Haute-Marne
 
Langres, Haute-Marne
 

Been to Hotel Le Cheval Blanc Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing