We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent, clean 2* establishment that serves its purpose”
Review of La Dame de Coeur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Dame de Coeur
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Soulac-sur-Mer
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived in Soulac-sur-Mer without having really planned to stay there. The Tourist Info was closed, so we took pot luck with the list of accommodation pinned to the door, and rang La Dame de Coeur to see if they had a room. We parked in the large-free- public car park across the rather attractive square in front of the lovely old church. The hotel is a PMU bar/tabac with rooms. The bar area is just what you expect from a PMU bar - the owner was friendly and invited us to check out the room before we committed ourselves. The room was clean, bed comfortable and modern and bed linen clean. Decent flat screen tv, and one of those all-in-one plastic moulded shower room/toilet things that are popular with Etape hotels and such-like. Perfectly clean and functional though. It was a small room, so a bit of maneuvering around our luggage and each other, but certainly adequate for a night. Breakfast was a good continental breakfast with excellent coffee. We could have eaten out on their 'terrace' area in the square opposite but sadly we were experiencing the first rain we have had for over 6 weeks! So we ate in the bar. It is a very short walk to the market (Saturdays) and shops. I quite liked Soulac-sur-Mer. It has a seaside feel,of course, so a little of the tackiness you would expect at the coast, but retains some charm and individuality. We went to the market on Saturday morning and were stunned by the selection of food available - quite different to many French markets - lovely . Spent far too much money there, but enjoyed wandering round - it is not a huge market, but good quality.Would definitely have stayed another night if we hadn't needed to head North again on the Sunday. 48,84€ for the room, plus 2 petit dejeuners at 7 € each - very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for La Dame de Coeur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 47 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

July 2012 and La Dame de Coeur has had a refurbishment in the public areas. The small outside terrace has gone, replaced by a much larger space across the road (!) so beware of the traffic. The snack menu has been improved. There is new furniture in the bar area.

The rooms are basic still, but the owner has installed new flat screen TV sets on which numerous French stations can be received. The window shutter for my room was irreparably broken; the owners promised to have it fixed by the time of the my next visit.

The areas across the road in front of the church has been tidied up and is no longer a car park. This has greatly improved the view!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 are on the ground floor, the remainder upstairs. There is no lift/elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cubsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel several times and shall be doing so again in July 2009, after which I shall write a fuller and more up to date review.

The hotels bedrooms have been refurbished and are better for it.

They also now have wifi-internet, which the proprietor makes available to customers free of charge.

It is a basic no-frills establishment above a busy bar and tabac much frequented by locals. All the town shops, banks, indoor market and restaurants plus a self-service laundromat are within five minutes walk and there is a large Champion supermarket about ten minutes walk away. There is a bike hire shop opposite with very reasonable rates.

The beach is six or seven minutes walk.

The incredibly historic church of Notre-Dame des Fins de Terre is across the road.

The hotel has a website at http://pagesperso-orange.fr/la.dame.de.coeur/

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cubsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

I have been visiting Soulac for over 20 years and although it has become busier from the surrounding campsites the very small market town has maintained its unspoilt nature, partly by being off the beaten track at the top of the peninsula and by the lack of hotels.
The Dame de Coeur is ideally situated - via the main promenade (the only shopping area) or a short walk through the quiet back streets one reaches the beach. Unusual as it retains the Victorian beach tents (which compliment the local architectural villas) at the busy lifeguard monitored centre or there are quieter spots at each end.
Remembering the D.de C. is a 2* tabac and priced as such it has all you could wish for in a seaside holiday with no driving (there is no dedicated parking but this is not a problem) The rooms are clean, comfortable and of their standard, with TV & en-suit. Some have been recently redecorated and I believe they are working through the hotel to update the rooms.
The petit dejeuner is great with wonderful homemade confiture & fresh pain / croissants made across the road, if it is not busy you can ask to take breakfast on the raised terrace otherwise in the private residence area.
Although they do not have a restaurant there is a fresh selection of tasty Tapas in the bar - or French, Vietnamese, Seafood Bistro and Pizza restaurants (with vegetarian options) are just a small walk away. Great Value. The son speaks some English or practice your French!
John King, Bath, UK.

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank JohnBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive33780, Propriétaire at La Dame de Coeur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive33780, Propriétaire at La Dame de Coeur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank montana691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive33780, Propriétaire at La Dame de Coeur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soulac-sur-Mer
1.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Dunes du Medoc
0.1 mi away
L'Ecume des Jours
L'Ecume des Jours
#4 of 9 in Soulac-sur-Mer
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Michelet
Hotel Michelet
#3 of 9 in Soulac-sur-Mer
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel des Pins
Hotel des Pins
#1 of 9 in Soulac-sur-Mer
140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Residence-Club Odalys Les Vertmarines
Residence-Club Odalys Les Vertma...
#1 of 2 in Le Verdon Sur Mer
51 reviews
3.0 mi away
Madame Vacances Le Domaine de Phare
Madame Vacances Le Domaine de Ph...
#2 of 2 in Le Verdon Sur Mer
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dame de Coeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dame de Coeur

Address: 103 rue de la Plage, 33780 Soulac-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Soulac-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Soulac-sur-Mer
Price Range: $58 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your La Dame de Coeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing