We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and modern, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aminess Grand Azur Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Orebic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Arrived at the Grand Hotel on the evening of 7th September 2009 - just time for a quick drink at the bar and then retired for the night. I had booked a double room with balcony and sea view and when I woke the following morning I had a very pleasant surprise - a cracking view of the ocean and over to the neighbouring islands.

Spent several days relaxing by the pool (ample size - not very deep, very clean). There is a small food area just before the exit of the hotel to the pool that provides sandwiches and drinks with an outside bar (hidden) behind the raised sundeck area.

Back to the Hotel: The rooms were very clean and reasonable sized, Bathroom was very plush and soap/showercream (doubles as shampoo) is provided. Restaurant - large and often busy at the designated eating times... breakfast choice ok, but as many mention, the evening meal wasn't fantastic. It was often lukewarm but you could find something within the offering that was perfectly palatable.

Staff were quite helpful, especially reception. Got the feeling that as possibly winding down for the season some were ready to go - still, i'm not complaining. Orebic is beautiful - it's not a hustle and bustle place but i was surprised when walking the coastal path that there are other restaurants and shops; not too many but enough for the week i was there. Korcula is nice but prepared to come back with your sights and senses ringing from seeing/hearing Marco Polo's name everywhere!! The regular ferry to Korcula is caught from the little port a c. 20-min walk away - mistakenly i thought it went from the beach area below the pool (one does but only twice per day).

Overall i had a great trip and would consider using the Hotel again. Great location if want a little tranquillity.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donjonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 409 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2009

Spending 3 nights in Grand Hotel Orebic was lovely and I can only imagine that those who say it is not a 4 star hotel, are very much used to 5 star hotels and have had a lot of amazing hotel experiences. The Hotel was great - the rooms, the service, the pool, the views, the lack of noise. I would recommend going bed and breakfast as the food is ok (but not amazing). Orebic town is slightly disappointing as we much preferred Cavtat, Dubrovnik and Korcula - but its a good base to see them all.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swansearule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights after travelling up from Dubrovnik and would highly recommend it. We decided to get a 3 hour public bus from Dubrovnik which was worth it when we got to the hotel but we would definitely recommend booking transfers with the hotel instead! The hotel is set in a beautiful location right next to the sea with its own beach which was lovely and quiet. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but it was only a short walk along the promenade to Orebic town to find a restaurant. The room was very comfortable and clean with a great shower and air conditioning. We had a room overlooking the car park but you couldn't hear any noise at all and if you wanted a sea view you just had to step outside so it was ideal. The breakfast was good for cold food but the hot food didn't look too appealing! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and even managed to book us on a last minute transfer the day we were leaving so they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Orebic town is ok but we much prefered Korcula which is a half hour ferry ride away from Orebic - much prettier and more things to see! Overall, we would come back to the hotel if we wanted a relaxing pool-side beach holiday but probably not for a more cultural experience!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We chose this hotel as it seemed to meet all requirements we were looking for. Peace and quiet in a scenic location. This it definately was, however it was lacking a few basics to say the least. The beach is a combination of stones and rocks and the swimming pool is small for a reported 4* hotel. (Approx 14M X 4M). There is no pool towels or poolside bar which is normal in most hotels advertising 4* status. The facilities at the hotel are sparse with very little in the way of entertainment or activities either during the day or the evening. Due to the location of this hotel approx 1 mile from the nearest shops or restaurant a lot more could be provided. The food at this hotel is a DISGRACE and in the 2 weeks we were there not 1 meal was served hot despite numerous complaints made to the management. The hotel is also having a problem with the sewage system as it was not pleasant to sit by the pool with the smell of raw sewage in the air. This was again reported to the management but with no response, or action. The staff are very friendly, but their priority is to serve drinks (which you pay way over the odds for) rather than deal with the lack of food (even the cold dishes). or provide plates or crockery.
In conclusion having travelled extensively over the past 30 years I can say that whilst the structure of this hotel is 4* the rest is only 3* (at best) with the exception of the food which is not even 1*

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Classicrestorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

First trip to Croatia and thought it lovely. Hotel is recently refurbished and cannot fault the rooms ( maybe a bit small) , staff, pool,beach area etc. Beds very comfortable; showers powerful. Only one drawback is the restaurant. The food is truely dreadful- I would go so far as to say inedible.....
Away from the hotel food is ok as long as you stick to fish ( which is v fresh) or pizza ( which is from wood ovens). The nearest restarant which is about 15 minutes towards the village is good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xyzGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Our mountain view room with balcony was comfortable and modern but as it was at the front of the hotel it overlooked the car park. We stayed on a B&B basis and only had dinner at the hotel one evening which was just as well as the food was dull and uninspiring. The breakfast was OK but the coffee was dire. Our main concern was that the swimming pool got very busy in the afternoon when what seemed to be local children used it as a free bathing facility, they, (and their parents?) came up from the beach directly below the hotel and the hotel staff did not seem to do anything to dissuade them from using a facility which we paid dearly for. In the main the hotel staff were helpful but some of the male staff, (especially those in Reception) could take lessons in customer relations. I was deemed to have drunk a bottle of white wine from our room mini-bar and when I insisted that I had not the male reception staff were somewhat challenging to the point that I felt I was being called a liar. The day before we left the hotel a large group of mainly older people arrived and quite a few of them were blind. I was shocked when these visually-impared guests and their carers were left to carry their luggage down steps into the hotel, some were obviously struggling and I didn't see any hotel staff coming to their aid, so I did. The coastal footpath walk into Orebic village centre from the hotel was pleasant but somewhat dangerous at night when sections of the path were unlit, a torch would have been useful. I understand that the Grand Hotel has made distinct efforts to raise its standards but it certainly has quite a way to go to deserve a four star rating, when it does we would certainly consider staying there again. And finally - why does a supposedly four star hotel not insist that the parents of very young children put swimming costumes on them when swimming and walking around the pool, "accidents" do happen?

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CornwallKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed in Grand Orebic for few days and didn´t like it particularly. I would say that this is a 3 star hotel, not 4 star. Breakfast wasn´t the best plus we were queuing to get coffee each morning and to find a clean table was difficult as well. Hotel staff was so so- friendly but not very helpful.

The area where the hotel is situated is very nice but to get to the town centre it takes about 15/20 minutes. And there is no nightlife:(

There is only one restaurant and pizzeria which we liked. One need to go to Korcula to get something nice to eat.

There is also a mountain in the back of the hotel and in the afternoon the sun hides behind the mountain and in the effect there is no sun on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank griszkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orebic
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 12 in Orebic
122 reviews
15.2 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Makarska
21.2 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Alga
Bluesun Hotel Alga
#6 of 10 in Tucepi
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Hotel Labineca
Hotel Labineca
#2 of 3 in Gradac
106 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
502 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Meteor
Hotel Meteor
#4 of 18 in Makarska
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aminess Grand Azur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aminess Grand Azur Hotel

Address: Petra Kresimira IV 107-109, Orebic 20250, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Peljesac Peninsula > Orebic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Orebic
#1 Luxury Hotel in Orebic
Price Range: $70 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aminess Grand Azur Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aminess Grand Azur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orebic Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing