We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect place to relax and enjoy...”
Review of Chateau Mcely

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Mcely
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mcely
Certificate of Excellence
Deutschland
2 reviews
“the perfect place to relax and enjoy...”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The chateau is perfectly beautiful, the food of exquisite quality with local ingredients and the staff is very friendly and kind. We spent three days at the chateau and enjoyed the spa treatments as well as some outdoor activities such as horse back riding and clay pigeon shooting arranged by the hotel at locations in the area... Breakfasts, lunches and dinners we always enjoyed at the chateau, we did not miss anything at all here. The room, the bed, the restaurant and tea-room,they all are beautiful and of a very well-entertained beauty. The perfect feeling of being a princess:).

The jacuzzi and sauna are very nice as well and the massages are great. As we were here in winter the garden and the outside swimming pool were only sleeping beauties, but we are sure to come back and see the chateau again in its summer shape....The chateau offers a wine cellar and a juke box where you can listen to some Elvis songs covered by the hotel owner. Very entertaining. We loved our stay and would like to send special thanks to Luzia who was so friendly and spent some funny chatting time with us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    28
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
85
237
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We visited Chateau Mcely with my girlfriend for 3 day stay and it was the most perfect 3 days. The rooms, the food, the service and the stuff, everything is there for you, not the other way around. Want Sauna? Sure. Jakuzi? No problem. Steam? Of course. Want to finish your dinner in smoking lounge? They will do everything for you and despite being quite busy, we found ourselves leaving cellphones in the room and literally not caring about the time:-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warpeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaumcely, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for such a positive comments regarding our hotel. It was a pleasure to read that your stay in our hotel was perfect and we are looking forward to your return.

Sincerely Yours,

Michaela Červená
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent five days at the Chateau for meetings. The environment presented the perfect backdrop for our effort - peace and thrivability. The Chateau reflects the love and warmth of its owners and offers true world class service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExtremeExplorer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaumcely, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Chateau Mcely.
We really appreciate your words.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Chateau Mcely.

Sincerely Yours,

Michaela Červená
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed for 1 night in this hotel. I new what I want to get from this hotel. It is about 40 minutes away from Prague and it is nice calm place. It is perfect service starting from bellman who waiting for you at front of the door (when you coming by car at front of the gate you have to call) helping you with bag and offcouse can re-park your car. Then reception who is not just making check inn but also showing your room and explaining what is in the room. They are not disturbing and very careful asking about your needs as dinner or spa and if you wish smthng they are give you advice or some information.
Dinner: good service but a bit more expansive.
Breakfast: I was surprised, breakfast is a pure, but It didn't came to my mind that you need to ask for some special food ( as eggs as they are not served on the buffet). And they do not have special breakfast menu on table so you can take a look and you understand that you have to ask for it.
Spa: It is not in the same building but, it is really nice and professional, nice atmosphere.
Nice area to walk.
Check out. As you know 1st preauthorization on your credit card and 2nd - payment, so just ask to finish your preauthorization and your money won't be blocked twice.
I will come back 100%

Room Tip: ask for suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaumcely, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guests,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you weren’t fully satisfied with the breakfasts. We decided to serve the special food like eggs separately, cause we would like to bring it fresh to our guests. Usually we have the menu on each table and I am sorry that you did not find it. Next time, I am sure, you will have opportunity to enjoy our breakfast in better way.

We all look forward to welcoming you again at Chateau Mcely in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Michaela Červená
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Christmas at the Castle were magical, shimmering, fragrant and very romantic. Room Equator is smaller, but cozy. All services are perfect. At Christmas hotel also offers special programs for guests, such as letting hazel boats, slicing apples accompaniment to Mass in a nearby church, also for children decorating gingerbread and finally a romantic carriage ride through the surrounding forest and feeding wild animals. The menu offers a few dishes, but their taste is amazing, also including mulled wine are very good. Atmosphere of the restaurant is beautiful and the live piano music time spent in the restaurant really pleasant. Another pleasant time you can spend in amazing spas, there are three therapeutic apartments which offers treatments for couples and amazing cosmetics, is also an unforgettable swim in the outdoor hot tub, which was surrounded by a blanket of snow and take a view of the partly frozen swimming pool. The staff is nice and makes my job really like. Awards spa and the restaurant is totally justified! We look forward to spring visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vondrackovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaumcely, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. I am more than happy, that your Christmas time at Chateau Mcely was so wonderful, we really appreciate your words.

It is nice to hear that such a small details like feeding wild animals make your stay memorable.

I am happy that you decided to stay in our hotel again and we are looking forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely Yours,

Michaela Červená
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Everything you expect from a relaxing, romantic and luxurious week end for two. Very pleasant and helping staff, nice rooms, great massage, fantastic food, fairy tale Honey terapeutic suite, relaxing jacuzzi - wonderful even in a wet gray winter day. I hope it was not our last visit.

Room Tip: You can choose your room thanks to the pictures on the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuzana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaumcely, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guests,

It was a pleasure to read that your stay in our hotel was perfect. I am happy that you found everything to your satisfaction.

We are looking forward to your return.

Sincerely Yours,

Michaela Červená
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've stayed here twice with my wife, the second time our baby was also with us. The staff are very, very good - they've been trained to a high standard and they absolutely prioritise comfort and experience.

Initial Impression: It's like a lovely country Chateau, restored to greatness. Lovely old trees, beautiful gardens, an impressive gate and driveway.

Reception Area: Everything is in place. Perfect, balanced. The staff welcome you, help you unpack your car, and will park your car in the carpark around the corner for you.

The rooms: Very nice - understated luxury, tastefully done with the occasional eclectic touch, as in the hallways etc. On our second stay with our new baby the staff had put out a baby bed as requested and put in some toys and decorated the baby bed with a welcome note - see photo. This was a lovely touch. Other baby amenities had also been made available - a few toys, some baby bathing amenities. That's service, and that's what you come to a top hotel for.

Atmosphere: So relaxing even just to sit in your room and read a book looking at the trees through the window, or to sit outside anywhere on the grounds, or walk around the grounds. Really lovely.

Dinner: Some very good choices on the menu - the wine list, while extensive, is also quite expensive. But a nice touch is that if you are staying multiple nights and don't want to finish your bottle that evening the staff will store it in appropriate conditions for you and you can drink it the next day - which helps keep the cost under control. Had a Kir Royale which was served well balanced - not too much cassis, which was good. Set menus with a few choices are available for the price conscious.

Breakfast: Very nice, good spread. Small-ish but lots of good stuff there. Hot breakfast is also available if you ask. If you get scrambled eggs beware they may be cooked more "Czech Style" which is slightly on the raw side and with sliced onions - so be specific on what you want. Tobasco sauce is also available if you ask.

The Grounds: Lovely. Stunning. Really relaxing. You'll enjoy just being here.

The Spa: My wife and I had massages on both occasions, and on both occasions it was a wonderful experience. Relaxing, refreshing, professional, and caring.

Top Tip: Chateau Mcely can be expensive - so look for discount codes including here on Tripadvisor - and book early! The Chateau is frequently booked out on weekends for weddings.

Overall: You won't regret visiting Chateau Mcely, even if you just go for a meal, or for an afternoon n the grounds having tea. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PonderousDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaumcely, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Mcely, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind words towards our hotel, facilities and team. We appreciate very much your comments, which help us to focus on our custumer needs and constantly improve the quality of the service.

We all look forward to welcoming you again at Chateau Mcely in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Michaela Červená
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mcely
2.5 mi away
Maxmilian Lifestyle Resort
2.5 mi away
Loucen Castle
Loucen Castle
#1 of 2 in Loucen
15 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Kotera
Hotel Chateau Kotera
#1 of 1 in Ratbor
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Spa Hotel Felicitas
Spa Hotel Felicitas
#1 of 13 in Podebrady
53 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Golfi
Hotel Golfi
#2 of 13 in Podebrady
24 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sand Martin
Sand Martin
#2 of 9 in Mlada Boleslav
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Mcely? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Mcely

Property: Chateau Mcely
Address: Mcely 61 | Club Hotel & Forest Retreat, Mcely 289 36, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Central Bohemian Region > Mcely
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mcely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Mcely 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2008 World Travel Awards, Chateau Mcely was voted the “World’s Leading Green Hotel.” It is situated in the midst of the St. George Forest, high on a hill with breath-taking vistas, just an hour’s drive from the centre of Prague and in the heart of old Central Europe. This former rural manor of the Thurn-Taxis aristocracy is a place of magical wonder, with positive healing energy, a long history, and with a family atmosphere and personal attention to so many details that it literally guarantees its guests a balance of body, mind and spirit. Limousine service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Chateau Mcely reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Mcely Hotel Mcely
Chateau Mcely Prague
Chateau Mcely Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing