We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel.”
Review of Hotel Villa List

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa List
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Sozopol
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Excellent hotel and best place on the sea side. The best rooms begin with A A21, a31 ....the STAFF IN THE HOTEL WAS FRIENDLY.
I don't know because my revue must be minimum not less than two hundred
characters? Yes.

Room Tip: with sea side vew.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakov108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa List
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 131 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading previous reviews I arrived around midnight expecting the worst and hoping for better.
The room we were given was a small twin overlooking the bins with a small walk-in shower/ wc. I asked for a different room and after repeating my request when the duty manager Dillian arrived in the morning we were given a nicer double with a bath.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and location is great. Didn't bother with pool as there are great beaches so close by. Overall we were pleasantly surprised and plan to return next year

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bionicdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is not cheap. So you would expect a high standard of room and cleanliness. You will get neither. Apart from the young man on the desk, the rest of the staff are rude and unhelpful. When we arrived we found they had given our room to someone else. They tried to blame us because we made the booking back in April and apparently that is so long ago from August it might make the booking invalid (?!). Then they told us they had to give the room away because the couple who had been staying in it insisted on having an extra night. They didn't think to insist that they were full. We were allowed to come back a day later to check in but were delayed again because of a problem with the TV! 25 hours after we arrived, we finally checked in. They booked us a room in a cheap guesthouse nearby but offered us no discount or recompense or, most importantly, any apology at any point. We argued with them a lot and eventually were offered a 10% discount. Just bad. You will also need to rise before 7 and have your towel on hand if you want a sun lounger. This is all a shame because the pool, location (next to the beach and 10 min walk to the old town) and breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were happy about the hotel and room. Make sure you book&pay for the room with the sea view, as we did. The room was clean, big and with tiny balcony, only the noise from the corridor and other rooms was a bit of pain.
The staff in the hotel and restaurant or bar was very nice, friendly and smiling – they made our stay nice. The only disappointment is that they are not offering the families with small children (they need to sleep after lunch) a room to use in case of late flight. They have offered to move to another room (due to the occupancy in our room) and pay 50% of the room rate if we stay till 4 p.m.
Breakfast was fine, every day the same food, expecting pastry - this was changed, sometimes had to wait for clean cups for coffee, but they try to do it fast. (I guess there were not enough of dishes). Wi-Fi connection in our room was perfect, but I guess it is not so in every room because people have been sitting on the stairways near our room with laptops and smart phones regular. The hotel elevator could be better, while sometimes we have to wait quite long to get him - we had baby carriage. As everybody has mentioned - the pool has less sun beds then is demand, so everybody had try hard to get the place with putting the towel on the sun bed in the morning.
If you go with small children (as we did) there is not much entertainment in the hotel, there is only swimming pool with warmer water close by the swimming pool and Kids club - which is for extra charge but due to a language barrier and age of our little girl we had not use it. Hotel next door made Disco for kids outside so music make us to stop by and join, there was also activities you could join and pay. If you walk around the beach to old Sozopol, there is a park with playgrounds - old metal and new plastics, trampolines, bouncy castle, cars for kids to drive around..asw..
The beach was just behind the "garden" and we were happy about it. There is one more beach walking distance which is busier, and I would say much better than the one close to the hotel, both are offering umbrellas to rent for extra charge.
The food in Bulgarian is nothing special and healthy, but we have found quite nice restaurant in Old Sozopol and that was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JarkaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is not 4 star and the rates are very high for what they offer.

There was a cigarette smell in the room despite the fact that the rooms are for non-smokers, the curtains were smelling.
There is no wi-fi in the rooms.
The safe in the room is additionaly paid for each day and the hotel is not responsible for your things and values.
The neighbours were very noisy, there was someone knocking on the door at 5 am.
The PVC windows were not noise isolated and we couldn't sleep all night almost.
The bed sheets were old and unpleasant.

I wiil never go again there.

Despite the sea view - half of the rooms are viewing the back street which is very noisy (from early in the morning and late in night).

Room Tip: The sea view rooms should be more quieter!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff was friendly and it was a nice terrace with lovely view.
The room was fine (a lot of the balconies are terrible, we were lucky to have to chairs and som space), but if you like to have a nice sleep and relax when you are on a holiday, do not go there! We had 3 kids with us and they would like to stay in the pool. If you are going to have a sunbed, you have to get ut before seven. The hotel do not organize the poolarea at all, and a lot of guests leave their towels and go to beach! Empty sunbeds and overcrowded. It is uncomfortable to stay by the pool because the the space between the sunbeds were 2-3 cm!!

It is not possible to book two rooms side by side. If you are going with kids it is a big problem. We got rooms in different floors. 3 kids in 2nd and the adults in 4th! (After two nights and with some help, we got rooms at the same floor. We did send an e-mail and caled in advance, it didnt help at all)

We will not go there again.

Room Tip: you can not choose. We tried, they do not manage (or want to)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne40Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I didnt expect so bad behavior and service . The villa Sozopol is the most worse hotel that I have visited in my life. Very bad service, not clean rooms, rude behavior, and they lie about everything.
I could not trust to have a nice vacation. It was also very loud and they didnt care, that there are guests in the hotel.
Do not go there.

Room Tip: do not go to this hotel, you will be sorry for the decision you have made.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eeeee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sozopol hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#2 of 33 in Sozopol
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Selena
Hotel Selena
#1 of 33 in Sozopol
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Marina Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Martinez ApartHotel
Martinez ApartHotel
#7 of 33 in Sozopol
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diamanti Hotel
Diamanti Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sozopol
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coral
Hotel Coral
#17 of 33 in Sozopol
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa List? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa List

Address: Yani Popov Street 5, Sozopol 8130, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sozopol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sozopol
#2 Spa Hotel in Sozopol
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sozopol
Price Range: $39 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa List 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa List reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
List Hotel Sozopol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing