We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Hotel Selena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Selena
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Sozopol
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I spent a lovely two weeks in the Hotel Selina, Sozopol, and 27th Aug to 10th Sept 2011. The date suits us as the British school kids are back and it is near the end of the tourist season so its quieter (the temperature was still above 30C and sunny). The Hotel Selina was a remarkable find. It is almost new with lots of in-house facilities (gym, health spa, internet etc). The hotel was very clean; rooms were ample, with free view TV, a must for all those important football games. The staff was very helpful, efficient and polite; no request was too much for them. The Animation crew (kids club) were very enthusiastic and took time out to teach me basic Bulgarian phrases, which was appreciated by many of the staff in the local restaurant/bars etc.
Other reviews say that a balcony sea view room is best, we tried to upgrade when we first arrived but found the room we had (facing the street, which caught the sun all day and was great for people watching until bedtime) was far better for us.
The pool area (not large, more like a plunge pool ,it’s warmer in the sea) was well placed, but, at that time of year the sun doesn’t clear the building to well, no real competition for sun beds but you have to be prepared to move stuff around to catch the rays. The bar shuts at twelve, which does not leave a lot of time for a nightcap.
During the first week, there was international Arts Festival, which was fabulous. Many free events during the day. We found a restaurant/bar across from the Amphitheatre, which allowed us to listen to the bands free (we are from Aberdeen Scotland remember ). The program was as diverse as German heavy rock bands to classical orchestras, with all sorts of other stuff in-between.
Solzpol is a nice place, not too commercial but not too quiet. The cost of living is low. Lots of fresh produce, mussels to die for.
At the Mexicana, which is in the new town, it cost me £3 (6 Lev) for two pints of beer and a bowl of chicken soup plus a tip. A nice afternoon stop off when I got bored of the Sun bathing. The old town is quaint with lots of churches, restaurants, bars and side streets to explore. The sea is safe to swim and there are plenty of lifeguards. They have seaweed/algae which wash’s up on shore. The Romans and Macedonians used the bay as a health spa for this reason, it feels a bit strange walking through it, but when you get to swimming depth, it is gone. The locals say that it sometimes smells (we only experienced one day of this).
We only did one excursion, a jeep safari, which was great; the driver (who was a political analyst and accountant who likes the summer lifestyle) filled us in with a lot of the history of the area. Be prepared of encountering abject poverty when you go out of the towns, it seems to be the accepted way of life.
We will defiantly be back.

Room Tip: If you like looking across the bay in the dark, choose a sea view, if you like a bit more action str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Donaldo508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
87
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

For the third year running,my friend and I stayed at the Selena. The weather was so good that we had every meal outside for two weeks. We even had a few mornings when the dolphins came into the bay and swam around. What a treat over breakfast. Thanks to Silvia and Ruslen in the lobby bar for good service. The dining room, reception and cleaning staff are all excellent and nothing is too much trouble for them. We went half board and the food was very good with plenty of choice. I have already booked for 2012 and look forward to it with pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Before I write about the hotel and the resort I'd like to make a couple of things clear. This is not for you if you are looking for a wild time with plenty of burgers and British beer. If you are looking for that go to Sunny Beach. Secondly, Sozopol is primarily geared for Bulgarian tourists (with a large proportion of Russians) so you won't find "English" breakfasts and British bars.
However, if you are looking for a relaxing break in a perfectly situated hotel then the Selena is for you. There were only 4 British couples/families in the hotel when we were there (the majority were Russian) so be prepared for that before you go. The hotel itself overlooks the beach (pre-book a sea view on the second floor or higher) and breakfast is served outside with a view of the sea. The quality of the breakfast is very good with a wide choice. We went on the bed & breakfast option and found that was fine. The cost of meals in the local restaurants is very good value (the most we spent for a 3 course meal for 2 with wine was £40) so we never actually had an evening meal in the hotel. However, couples who had said the standard was very good. We did have lunch at the pool (try the ice cream!!) which was very reasonable and also had room service one night (a first) which again was very good and only cost £1 to have it served. The hotel is kept immaculate and the rooms were cleaned every day. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. For example, one breakfast one of the "Animation" staff who run the children's club (Valerie) asked if everything was OK with the holiday. My wife said we would have preferred a room with a bigger balcony, Valerie went immediately to reception and arranged for a room swap that day.
As I have said, Sozopol is mainly a Bulgarian resort. It is split into the old town and the new town, each of which has its own beach. The old town has lots of little windy streets and is full of nice restaurants serving food and drink at very reasonable prices (beer £1 for 500 mls - pint). There are restauarnts beside the city wall that overlook the sea and though a wee bit more expensive are great for a romantic meal. If you are looking for a place to go to have a meal and watch Bulgarian folk dancers and musicians go to the original Windmill at the top of the old town (not the Windmill by the beach). The old town main square has different buskers and street entertainers and is great to sit having a drink watching the world go by. There is a park next to the square with a load of children's activities (electric cars, trampolines etc).
The new town is very Bulgarian orientated although we enjoyed going down for a wander and to listen to the entertainment in the different restaurants. There are a few Bulgarian nightclubs but I couldn't tell you what they were like (too old!!).
Overall, Sozoplo is a resort where you can suit yourself with regards to what you do and the Hotel Selena is an excellent place to base yourself.

Room Tip: Pre book a sea view, get the loungers nearest the tables overlooking the beach for all day sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank brendun04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just returned from 2 weeks at Hotel Selena. Staff were great - everyone very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms were spotless and cleaners always acknowledged you with a smile when you met them (even when outside the hotel). Receptionists always smiling and helpful even offering to recharge my MP3 when my charger did not work. The Animation girls were a joy to meet, they came round each morning at breakfast always chatty and friendly. (Brightened up the mornings of all the male guests especially). Food was really good with plenty of choice and waiting staff always efficient in replenishing buffet when required. Pool small but ok for cooling down and with that lovely beach only a few steps away it was not a problem. We do not normally return to the same resort twice but we loved Sozopol and hope to go back. If we do we would definitely choose the Selena again and would highly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lizard72Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

we have spent 3weeks and had the best holiday ever, the Selena is superb in all aspects, it is clean , the food is good, and the staff are so friendly always a smile to greet you. But of course we are old hat at the selena weve been going there since it opened. Cant wait to return to lovely Sozopol.

Room Tip: pay for the seaview, fantastic day and night views and the dolphins swim in the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank banffer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at at Hotel Selena 3rd - 10th June, very clean, friendly staff, good selection of food for breakfast & it was great not to have to pay extra for air conditioning. We had a sea view room & we had no problems with building work noise. Would recommend you have a body massage at approx £20.00. We plan to go again next year.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Widget53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

we have just returned from our 4th visit to the hotel Selena.and it just get better each year . its the friendliest hotel i have ever been to . the cleaners never stop . the rooms are cleaned to perfection every day , the bar staff are happy to give you Bulgarian lessons . thanks ruslan and slyvi.my partner may can order a pancake with chesses and ham in Bulgarian .. there was some building work going on next door . but its almost finished and it did not cause any problems . it was interesting to watch them !! we have already booked for next year .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank motovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sozopol hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#2 of 33 in Sozopol
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Marina Holiday Village
0.6 mi away
Diamanti Hotel
Diamanti Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sozopol
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa List
Hotel Villa List
#5 of 33 in Sozopol
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Logatero
Hotel Logatero
#7 of 33 in Sozopol
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coral
Hotel Coral
#22 of 33 in Sozopol
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selena

Property: Hotel Selena
Address: Yani Popov 7, Sozopol 8130, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sozopol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sozopol
#3 Family Hotel in Sozopol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Selena 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Selena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selena Hotel Sozopol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing