We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saint Thomas Residences
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Sozopol
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxing place for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I join the opinions that St. Thomas is definitely right place for relaxation - well run, clean (air, sea, the 4 pools and hotel rooms) and quiet small resort (a hotel and several 3-4 storeyed villas) on a top of small peninsula without the turmoil of bigger resorts; two beaches near-by. The resort fits especially families with small children – enough safe place to stroll, children pool and playground, children mini-club. The breakfast is normal for Bulgarian hotels – of good taste, but repeated most of the days. There is one main restaurant and a snack bar by the pools; you may search more restaurants in the near-by (12 km.) picturesque old town of Sozopol; 30 km. to the bigger town Bourgas. A car is a must, the parking is free. Free Internet in the rooms, wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan_sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place is an ideal paradise for family that has had enough of city and party life. No city, No party, No cars around. Walking, cycling, swimming, volleyball, basketball, football. Good kids playground. Clean pools (for those who come to the sea to skip the sea). Water fun on the beach.
But just dont count on the restaurants... (don't count on them anywhere in Bulgaria, unless you have strong recomendations from trusted sources) - here you have 2 choices, which are more or less the same varying more in decoration then in kitchen. It is all edible, and it is all of a good taste if you go bulgarian food.
Go for the place itself. Go for the chance of walk around old Sozopol (12 km away). Go for the self cooking in apartments. The fresh seafood is same good in self cooking as in a regular restaurant.
... and, YES! the SPA is also very good.

Room Tip: Apartments only. In a Hotel you should include daily dinner trips to Sozopol (20 eur), which is an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Igor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Saint Thomas is a good location for family with children. Location / view is very beautiful, much attention is given to cleanliness and order. I was staying at one of the villas complex (Kasiopea), a studio comprised of a large living room and a little bedroom with double bed. The living room was equipped with a fully equipped kitchen that we did not needed. 2 balconies with superb views different. Light food (maybe ultra light) all inclusive acceptable to good. Too little variety to our taste. No queues in the restaurant face to the most popular hotels in Bulgaria!
Two beaches: one located near the complex, with pay, rocks and algae, and one (beach Arcutino, to Primorsko) at about 15 minutes walk or 2 minute by the hotel’s car (an electric minicar that has about 10 seats race to 15 minutes) where there are free sunbeds (and umbrella) and ither with payment. In the complex we have a la carte restaurant, a bar where snacks can be taken (but high prices), a small shop where you can buy affordable alcoholic and soft drinks, sweets, fruit, etc. Parking is opposite the complex, free, fenced but unguarded and fewer places. The cleaning it’s made every day, also the towels and beds laundrys. I had one air conditioner in each room. Many swallows and nests, mosquitoes and other insects. Necessarily to take anti insect sprays and plug in devices for the same purpose. Swimming pool water clean enough. Many children (I have seen in my life so many children in a seaside resort). Very quiet location (including beaches), without music, and scandals. Most tourists were Russians and Bulgarians.
Overall, (even if below seem more disadvantages than advantages), is a coastal variant that deserves to go along with the child (ren) if you want to relax, recharge your batteries. Moreover, although the complex is said to have five stars, he is quoted by travel agencies 4 stars, otherwise correct assessment. It is a place that deserves to go one and all. Global Note 8 (scale of 1 to 10)
Advantages:
_ Location / view;
_ Quiet;
_ Cleaning;
_ Good organization of meals, without crowding;
_ Helpful staff;
_ Affordable price of stay
_ wired internet in the room but wifi only in the lobby bar area
Disadvantages:
_ Stereotype food;
_ Air conditioning in the dining room and the lobby bar almost missing;
_ Exaggerate lifeguards/baywatch at beaches;
_ too few free sunbeds;
_ 3rd floor without elevator might be a little uncomfortable for some people;

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ulyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Sibiu, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

very beautiful location, very clean and quiet. I recommend this hotel for families with children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Maybe it is the most beautiful place in Bulgarian Seaside. The hotel is clean, the pools are very cosy, SPA it is ok, landscape is great, all it is very green, water is clean. BUT (and this is a great BUT) the food is, like I already writed, awful. A lot of conserva food, tasteless, fast foodish. It is too bad that the owners skimp on the food. In a 4-5 stars hotels the good food it is esential.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AdrianMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We found this hotel to be ideal for what we wanted - a low cost, quiet break in a place suitable for children.

We had a rented car which is essential as the hotel is out of town - they did have a bus going to sozopol and the beach however. The local sandy beach has a section which belongs to the hotel, with parasols, bar etc. We saw dolphins in the bay on the first day.

Santa Thomas has 5 pools running through the complex, including a childrens pool and an infinity pool looking out to the sea. The whole arrangement is very picturesque and it was definitely the best looking hotel we saw during our visit to the area. We had an appartment with a kitchen/living room and separate bedroom.
All of the beds were a bit hard. The A/C units made a bit of noise and were clearly installed without condensate drains (ie they dripped). From looking around, this appeared to be normal for the area. The most complex meal the two ring hobs were up to was soup. We had a lovely view from one window over the sea, and the other looked onto the circular pool, and the sea. There was a small balcony on this side with a table. We enjoyed sitting out every night, watching the world go by. The hotel also had a wireless network which was great for the sons new iPod.

The Hotel has a restaurant, and there was a bar that did food throughout the day and evening by the pool. A lobby bar does quite good cocktails, we would have used this more if the hotel had worked out how to sort out bill to room accounts - generally Bulgaria appeared to want cash for everything.
We had breakfast at the Hotels buffet, which was fine. You can have a rather fatty bacon, little spicy or plain sausages, eggs etc, all sorts of bread with various fillings, fruit, yoghurt and so on. The orange juice was horrid.
We ate in the restaurant a few times. Its a bit dearer than the restaurants in Sozopol, Nessebar etc, but handy. The peasants chicken included the largest pan fried foie gras I've seen on a plate, a chicken breast and an odd pineapple and cream sauce. We'd forgotten that Bulgarian Merlot is really quite good - as was a white wine called Traminer. Generally food is ordinary in the restaurants locally. Watch the weights given on the menus as some dishes are rather big. Consider arriving early in the towns for an evening meal as parking is a nightmare!
The pool bar was good for Pizza's atc, and we had a mixed salady meal one night which was fun. We deliberately avoided Karaoke night but it was very popular.
One note of warning - mosquito repellant is essential.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dac666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

Perfect place to have a good holiday!
Near to the forest and above the sea!
Clean beaches and preserved nature!
Excellent hotel and food and services!
Good place to spend holiday for families and friends!
Location near archeological sites (Sozopol) and to big city (Burgas)!
You must visit this place!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANITSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sozopol
5.2 mi away
Santa Marina Holiday Village
5.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#2 of 33 in Sozopol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.3 mi away
Laguna Beach Resort & Spa
Laguna Beach Resort & Spa
#14 of 33 in Sozopol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Selena
Hotel Selena
#1 of 33 in Sozopol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duni Marina Royal Palace
5.1 mi away
Martinez ApartHotel
Martinez ApartHotel
#8 of 33 in Sozopol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Thomas Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Thomas Residences

Property: Saint Thomas Residences
Address: Locality Arkutino, Sozopol 8130, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sozopol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sozopol
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sozopol
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sozopol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saint Thomas Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Saint Thomas Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Thomas Residences Hotel Sozopol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing