We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good with some annoyances”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Castle
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Elenite
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good with some annoyances”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spend only one night in this hotel, on the second week of April 2014 (low season), the hotel is located in a town (Elenite) which is only a few km from the famous sunny beach and nessebar.
However Elenite is not the nicest town in Bulgaria by any means, its full of hotels, with a rocky beach and basically nothing interesting to do or to see, so your best bet is to grab a car and visit nesebar, sunny beach or burgas.

On the way to the hotel (past St. Vlas) the road is awful with large holes and seems to lead nowere, but just going till the very end you will be able to see this magnificent, and quite nice looking hotel.

There is quite a lot of construction work going on around, so again the town itself is not so nice. Once in the hotel i must admit that the design was really well done (not my cup of tea tho..), and the reception staff was friendly and fast.
We were upgraded to a Studio, which was a good start for the day! The room was ample, with a peculiar decoration but nice and confy. Bathroom and toilet are on separated rooms. and bedroom/livingroom are separated just by the rotating TV stand. There is a large and comfortable couch too, so i will definitely recommend to upgrade to a Studio suite if budget allows!
The views to the see are fine, just killed by the construction work and the humongous hotel(s) right in sea shore, fortunately this hotel is sitting high on a hill so you could oversee pretty much the whole bay.

We had lunch on the Italian restaurant, again with a interesting decoration, white.. REALLY all in white,but the food was quite good, and the prices ok for a 5 star hotel. Since it was low season and we were a little late, there was really no one else on the restaurant. But the service was really good and attentive.

Then we headed to the Spa center, again with very friendly staff. The Spa its really well done and decorated, and clean, with several saunas, showers and a large pool with some hydro-massage stuff.. There was really few people there so it was specially quiet and pleasant, but during high season, it could be too crowded/noisy to be able to relax properly, but just thinking loud here...

One annoyance we found was that during the night, the terrace lights were switched on, and apparently they cannot be switched off (throughout the whole hotel) !!!! This is obviously due to how beautiful the hotel looks in the night with all those lights on, but really annoying for someone that just wants to sleep, since even after closing the curtains there was a substantial amount of light entering the room. After calling reception and confirming the "lights on all night policy" we had no other choice than manually remove all 8 light bulbs on the terrace lights...

The Breakfast was good, everything was well presented and with good quality. So no complaints there. Again the restaurant seemed to small for when the hotel occupancy reaches high levels, but that's something i cannot say for sure..

All in all, i must say that the hotel and amenities are quite good (as you must expect for the price and 5 stars), plus the staff was really outstanding on all areas.

Will i go back? probably not, just because i didn't really like Elenite or St. Vlas, and the beach was not a nice beach to spend your time on, but if the hotel was on a better location i would have come back for sure.

Room Tip: Get a sea view Studio if budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ismael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    28
    22
    21
    21
See reviews for
56
58
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel Royal Castle is a 4-5 star property with unfortunatley 3 star service and attention to detail. The building, rooms, restaurants and facilities are really top notch and high quality,easily 4-5 star quality. However the service and staff from the front desk to the restaurants is not of the same standard. Not horrible, not rude, just not in line with the high quality surroundings. I still would highly recommend it, but patience is needed when dealing with the front desk and other staff. This may be picky, but as an example one of the main restaurants is an excellent venue and the food and wine list was extensive and impressive. However the wait staff did not know how to properly pour the wine and did not check to see if we needed refills. Another example was that I called down to the front desk to request a late checkout and I was told by the very busy front office staff that it would be better for me to come down to the front desk and explain my request.

I sound like I'm being overly critical, I'm not. Like I said, I HIGHLY recommend this property. It's a new property and the staff just needs proper 4-5 star hotel level training and experience then it will rate a 5 star rating from me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

As always, expectations have been exceeded. The Royal Castle is definitely the best 5 star hotel on the Bulgarian Sea Coast.

We have stayed at Royal Castle over 12 times and will keep coming back. Previous management which had some problems has been replaced with more attentive staff.

The property and the rooms are uniquely designed and comfortable. The spa center is one of the best, if not the best in all of Bulgaria.

This hotel makes a perfect getaway destination for both winter and summer months. In the winter, it's truly secluded and nice to get away. In the summer it beats the noisy drunk crowds that you'll experience in Sunny Beach or other sea coast resorts.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suites don't have a door on the second sleeping area, as it it shared with the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Me and my husband love travelling and we always stay in 5* hotels. I must honestly say there are not many good 5 * hotels in Bulgaria. Royal Castle is close to the definition of a 5 star, however it could not be compared to a 5 star hotel in Dubai, for example, or in Europe. Mainly it lacks good service. The food in the restaurants also does not bring a 5 * dining experience.
The design of the hotel and the atmosphere in the rooms, on the other hand, really gives you a nice feeling. The SPA is really good, the indoor pool is unique with its underwater music.
The rooms are kept clean, which is the most important. The beds are very comfortable.
We are happy with our stay and we would go back. We would also reccommend it to others. After all, the money you pay is worth what you get ( if you close your eyes for the service).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doinsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is one of the most amazing ones in Bulgaria.
The atmosphere itself makes you feel as if you are in a fairy tale. Both interior and exterior are magnificent - very shiny and spectacular.
Rooms are spacious, bright and clean.
The SPA is unique and the staff is very helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ventsisslava A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is marketed as one of they best in Bulgaria. Well is it is certainly glamerous, the interiors are very glossy. I went with a Bulgarian who maybe gets a little more of the inside track than most.

It is in the vein of the recent hotels in Belek in Turkey, big and glam and attracts the sort of nouveau riche Russian and Ukrainian set that Belek does. We got the impression the emphasis could do with being realigned towards the western europeans. The room we had was a junior suite, lots of bespoke fixtures and decor. We didn't use the spa. The food was decent and the staff organised and helpful.

So what let this place down? Well hate to say maybe some of the clients, it turned out the drain in the shower had been blocked up by the previous occupants so it flooded the carpet! Why stuff toilet paper into the drain? What country, what culture do that????! Also a party of Italians were being blamed for pinching many of the halogen bulbs (come on guys, why???) so not all the lights worked, and the interior handle to the toilet room came off in my hand. Not sure why the chamber maids had not noticed all these things, but we made friends with the engineers! Note to the management. It was late in the season so I understand the reception staff were a little tired but they were smart and polite. Not enough security in the lobby, on one evening there was an inexperieced receptionist on her own and an undressed Ukrainian spawled out in the downstairs bar area - not good. The owners seemed to have more security than the hotel! and they could do with uniforms.

We did not stay long enough to get bored by the food and it should be noted that there are more than one restaurant and if you hire a car then there are hundreds of eateries within half an hour's drive.

So Britain, go and stay, have your say.

Room Tip: Here again, ask if you can up grade but I daresay the smaller rooms were good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1968JSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday staying in the Royal Castle. The appearance of the hotel is breath - taking, wonderful the room we stayed in was a suite with sea views it was lovely. And that is where it ends. Firstly the reception staff are indifferent to help organize tours etc. wake up calls requested did not happen thankfully we are early risers so didn't miss our tour no breakfast (sandwich etc) offered.We also had to spend time trying to get cleaning staff to service the room with one cleaner helping me from the floor below because she felt sorry for us, for the last two days we had one hand towel between us even though I had asked four times to four different staff that the towels had not been replaced in our room. We also ended up buying our own coffee, sugar etc from the supermarket as I got fed up running around trying to find some one to replace the coffee etc after day one. The food in the morning and evening (we where HB ) was fine something to suit everyone, hot food would always be on the cool side.Grounds are kept immaculate music playing all day repetitive tune it still comes into my head yet. Bar staff at the pool bar are with out doubt the friendliest people working there even though English was hard for them they really made the effort to speak to us everyday. Would I return to this hotel no I would not would I recommend this hotel no I would not. We are not fussy people nor do we complain easily, as I said hotel exterior and interior is beautiful but it finishes there, other than the staff at the pool bar and one girl in the restaurant and the lady who helped me from the floor below the rest of the staff are just not interested in their work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madeleine_D263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elenite
0.4 mi away
Royal Bay Hotel
Royal Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Elenite
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zornitza Sands SPA Hotel
4.2 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#7 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
117.9 mi away
Messambria Fort Beach
Messambria Fort Beach
#3 of 9 in Elenite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Privilege Fort Beach Apartments
1.0 mi away
Grand Resort (Marina, Panorama)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Castle

Property: Hotel Royal Castle
Address: Elenite Resort, Elenite 8259, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Elenite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Elenite
#3 Spa Hotel in Elenite
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Elenite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal Castle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a mountain hill Royal Castle Hotel & Spa offers a beautiful view of the bay. Designed with the intention to turn Royal Victoria Club Elenite into a fabulous place to relax even for the most discerning tastes, the hotel promotes the hotel business in Bulgaria to a prestigious position and is a true landmark in every sense of the word ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Castle Elenite, Bulgaria - Burgas Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing