We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location nearby main promenade”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bulgaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bulgaria
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Burgas
Suwalki, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location nearby main promenade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Building from outside didn’t look good but room was clean. Temperature from air condition was sensible, but not inside room (only in front hall). Fortunately temperature in Burgas wasn’t high. Breakfast was very good, especially olives, but there was a juice machine with orange and grapefruit juice which gives only grapefruit juice from both. I think if I will be in Burgas next time I stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review hotel Bulgaria Burgas !

I am glad that you were satisfied with your stay in hotel Bulgaria Burgas. We are always happy to see our guests coming back and even more happy to see that all our efforts to provide first class service and comfort at the best possible price are paying back with loyal guests.

I hope we shall see you again in hotel Bulgaria Burgas soon again.

P.S. The juice machine is working properly now :)

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    47
    57
    18
    14
See reviews for
18
41
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The reception, bar & restaurant are terrible. Service is non-existent & poor public areas. On the good side the suite room itself was clean, well maintained & comfortable. Although once outside the room everything else was 4th class. The surrounding area is nice with good access to Burgas town centre. Plenty of good restaurants & shops to choose from.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186487Mrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel ! I am glad that you liked the room or the suite that you have stayed in and I cannot understand why you have got such a negative opinion about our services. I would be glad if you contact us and send us much more detailed information, so that we can check the issues that you have had and work on changing and improving ourselves.

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Burgas hotels

California City, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

the rooms were old but clean. bathroom clean. no musty odor . carpet clean. bed decent. amenities okay. staff friendly. View exhilarating. The aircon was okay in our room.... not so with my friend's room down the hall.... it felt like sauna in there. When they complained, the front desk clerk said to open the window!!! ???? The buffet had mixed reviews from my friends. There were several of them who had stomach upset. The people at the buffet breakfast (staff) could be more friendly.... but most of them middle age....hard for them to smile and be friendly..... need more meat in their buffet...like bacon or ham or chicken or pork....... it is often many cheese, fruits and vegetables.......

Location is the best.... a few minutes walk and you are in the row of shops. the central beach and ice cream stalls are great. Food in Bulgaria is great. Happy Grille restaurant has excellent food. Ate there almost every meal.....had no problem experimenting with their food. Mussels were fresh and great ..... The view from the rooms are breathtaking !!! The hallways a little bit gloomy and dark near the elevators.....add more lights and brighter carpets? Somebody got stuck in elevators...... too few elevators.....took the stairs many times during my stay with friends..... need trashcans near elevators. the elevators were a struggle to operate and open/close doors....maybe hotel should change them to new models. Overall a great hotel....just need to update a few things like elevator etc..... Location and View is your best asset. Old hotel is okay as long as all things are CLEAN. That's the most important thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ong_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing hotel Bulgaria for your stay in Burgas and for taking your time to review our hotel. I must admit that I find your review rather objective. We definitely are aware that there is place for improvement, and now we are working on our future renovation and investment plans as the hotel was totally refurbished in the period 2003-2009.

I am so glad that you highly appreciated our perfect location and of coarse the magnificent panoramic views over the city of Burgas and the Black sea.

I hope to see you again as a guest at hotel Bulgaria Burgas.

Best regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at hotel Bulgaria on the 12th of July 2013 for a couple of nights and couldn't fault it , our room was nice, very clean with a big comfortable bed, the view was amazing especially at night you could see all over Burgas, the staff was polite and the breakfast had a good choice for every nationality.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savanah1514351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Bulgaria for your stay in Burgas and for taking your time to give feedback about our hotel. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations and the we could offer to you the comfort and services that made your stay at hotel Bulgaria a pleasant and comfortable experience.

We hope you enjoyed your stay and we shall see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Its Stalinist exterior should have warned us. Equally we were not deterred by the unfriendly welcome at the reception desk. The sheets on the bed were threadbare. Other than that the room was I suppose adequate. But for an establishment proclaiming itself to be four star, it needs to step up a few gears to compete with international standards. The breakfast was boarding-school fare. Appropriate I suppose as the far greater majority of guests were students (schoolchildren) attending the Mathematics competition which Burgas was hosting (although why should schoolkids have to put up with that anyway?).
But the most memorable part was a visit to the indoor swimming pool. There was no one else there -save for the male attendant, who lurched (yes I choose my word carefully) at us on arrival. His demeanour was menacing. He said something in Bulgarian. Fortunately my partner is Bulgarian-speaking. He could not string together a one-word sentence in English. I was to wear a swimming cap. i could rent one. So I complied. I could also rent a towel ( a four star hotel? I declined.) After having swum a length or two, I could no longer abide the stench emanating from the cap which clearly had never acquainted itself with a cleansing agent, so I flung it aside and carried on swimming. (I didn't put my head below water anyway doing breast stroke).This prompted our resplendent pool attendant to get very animated. It was explained to him what the problem was. He claimed that the caps were thoroughly cleaned after use. He was invited to show my partner the cleaning process. He declined, and reiterated his objections to my continuing swimming. This carried on for some time. He maintained his refusal to produce the evidence. He professed not to understand why my partner was "taking" my side, since I was an "idiot". And then the real chestnut -he said to my partner that it was unfortunate that she was present otherwise he would have "sorted" me "out". This from an employee -of a four star hotel- to paying guests. Need I say more. The wi-fi was also inoperative from our room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Bulgaria for your stay in Burgas and for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that you had such a bad experience at the swimming pool. I just want to clarify that the swimming pool is not operated directly by the hotel, so the person who met you there is not our employee. This said, I agree with you that it is unacceptable to receive such an attitude in hotel, no matter how many stars it has, so it would be good if you have complained right away at the reception desk and we would have taken adequate measures. The least we could do is demand an apology from the company that operates the swimming complex.

I am also sorry that this bad experience obviously influenced your whole estimation for our hotel. I cannot agree that we deserve 1 point for value, cleanliness, rooms and services. I hope that you have the opportunity to visit hotel Bulgaria again and we have the chance to show you that hotel Bulgaria is a place were it's worth staying and you will find your stay enjoyable and satisfying as almost 80% of our guests think.

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

due all other was fully booked, we took the Executive Room and it was a nice and pleasant Surprise. Located in one of the higher Floor,we had a amazing Viw over Burgas - especially in the Night, it was fantastic.
After the two Nights there, we really can recommend it to other Travellers here.
Location: Shopping Street in front of the Hotel!!!
Well Breakfast Service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tomatocup66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing hotel Bulgaria for your stay in Burgas and for taking your time to review our hotel. I am glad the you had the opportunity to enjoy the comfort of our executive room and sweeping views over Burgas and the sea.
I hope next time you visit Burgas you will choose hotel Bulgaria again and this time you might savor our Chef's masterpieces and the beautiful swimming complex - a place to relax and enjoy.

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

... perfect Location in Burgas and it was recommended to us by our Friends, who had been there already several Times. Most of the Places are just few Minutes away from the Hotel (Train Station just 5 Minutes away). Good Breakfastbuffet and also we had two Times dinner at the Restaurant and theService there was good and friendly. There was also a very good Pizza Restaurant nearby, where we went many times!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barradSUN1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at hotel Bulgaria Burgas and for taking your time to review our hotel !

I am glad that you were satisfied with the comfort and the services that we offer to our guests. We are happy with your positive attitude and we hope that we shall see you as a frequent returning guest to our hotel. This is what we love about our job - making people happy and seeing them stay at hotel Bulgaria again and again.

Kind regards,
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgas
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & SPA Primoretz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#2 of 21 in Burgas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Aqua Bourgas
Hotel Aqua Bourgas
#4 of 21 in Burgas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Burgas
Hotel Burgas
#7 of 21 in Burgas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luxor
Hotel Luxor
#10 of 21 in Burgas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sol Nessebar Bay
Sol Nessebar Bay
#4 of 35 in Nessebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bulgaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bulgaria

Property: Hotel Bulgaria
Address: Aleksandrovska str 21, Burgas 8000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Burgas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Burgas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bulgaria 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas combines traditional Bulgarian character with the elegant sophistication on an international luxury hotel.The highest building in the city, the one of Hotel Bulgaria rises in the very center of Burgas. The four-star business hotel is one of the city's symbols and constantly implements its 35 years of hospitality experience in continuous improving of the services offered at first class, worldwide acknowledged level. Hotel Bulgaria is preferred by guests looking for comfortable, luxury and quiet accommodation in close proximity to all the city's attractions, with magnificent panoramic views over the sea and the city and of course with unique location in the heart of Burgas. Free highspeed internet access is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bulgaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing