We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
45
53
73
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
53
73
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming pool isbusiness tripthe heart of the cityhotel is locatedlovely parkbus stationfloorbulgariasearenovationgym
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 217 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We chose Hotel Bulgaria as a cheaper option to the Grand Hotel Pomoritz, for a stay during the fantastic Spirit of Burgas festival. Room was very clean, air-conditioning worked fine, staff were friendly enough. I would suggest to people who complain about the staff (anywhere) being gruff to try a few words in the local language (hello, thank you , please)..the small effort makes a huge difference. The air-conditioning in the lobby and bar wasn't very good, but that seemed to be the norm in Burgas. We had a room on the 10th floor with a fabulous view. Great location, lots of cafes nearby, and within walking distance of the train station. Warning that the pool was not open during our stay, which was quite annoying as part of the reason we chose it was for the pool, but we managed. Otherwise, recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackDahlia47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2010

Dear Sir/Madam

We are glad you were satisfied with your stay in hotel Bulgaria and with our services. At the period you have stayed at the hotel the swimming pool was in a current repair which we could have not planned in advance.

Now the swimming pool is opened again so be welcome :)

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Where to begin. First of all this is NOT a four star hotel. "Fitness center" if you can call it that is only open from 10-6 - so if you have a job forget about using it. The pool was closed for the entire month, with no explanation, apology or discount given. One particularly annoying and disturbing incident on top of it all was their refusal to give me a room service menu for my room! Unbelievable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBulgariaBurgas, Manager at Hotel Bulgaria, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Dear Mr Brian993,

I am so sorry that you were disappointed form your stay at hotel Bulgaria. Yes, the swimming pool was closed for a couple of days because of a damage we had with the pipe installations which took a few days to discover and repair.

I do not know who have you contacted to ask for a room service menu, but if you were refused one, why didn't you try to contact a manager and complain ? The room service menu is the same as the one in the restaurant, so there would be no problem to give you one. EVEN MORE IN EVERY HOTEL ROOM THERE IS AN INFORMATION BOOK IN 3 LANGUAGES WITH ROOM SERVICE MENU IN IT. I don't know the reason why you didn't find it.

Kind regards
Kiril Valkanov
Marketing Manager
Hotel Bulgaria Burgas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

good location , clean room, one lady on reception very pleasant , on site shop very useful and girl in shop very pleasant and helpful
all other staff especially the men very surly and quite rude and unpleasant to guests
hotel needs to update its in- room information as there is now only one restaurant and no room service.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank ScotlandMoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

The Hotel Bulgaria was my first lodging experience in Burgas. I located the hotel through a Bulgarian friend and was impressed with its location within the city center as well as its downtown and sea coast views. Several restaurant options were available each with excellent Bulgarian cuisine. The second floor mezzanine has a spacious coffee bar where I was able to plan my daily excursions and enjoy an espresso any time of the day. The hotel room, although small for US standards, was newly remodeled and clean. I was able to exchange USD inside the hotel’s lobby and despite my lack of a mastery of the language, the hotel staff was able to help me with food choices, directions within the city and treated me as a welcome guest.

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Matt_A_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2005

Stayed in the Hotel Bulgaria recently and found that this hotel is in a good location surrounded by nice shops bars resturants and the park. Outside of this area the city seems to be ugly and tower blocks mainly.
In the hotel the lifts are very slow especially when a large group of people are waiting at the same time. The breakfasts are of a very poor standard and not what western vistors would expect. My room was basic but clean and if you expect a 3 star hotel room thats what you get but a bit dated looking.
On the plus side the people are very friendly and dont change too much money as it is hard to spend at 3 euro for a dinner or a bottle of wine. Credit cards not taken widely and cash is king.
In the resturants food quality can vary widely but they are still learning about what the new standards will have to be so this will improve

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank pipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews