We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“potential great view, lots of rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Donauschlinge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schlogen
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We used this hotel as part of a bicycle trip, including dinner and breakfast. When we arrived, it was a nice warm and sunny day. When we did drink a nice beer on the terrace, the view (the biggest asset of the hotel) overlooking the river curving was fully blocked by a big river-cruise ship.
Our room was very big, but on highest floor, facing the mountains. Only a window in the roof could be used to get some cool air. This caused a lot of noise during the night when there was a hail and thunder shower.
Both dinner and breakfast were good. Wifi was weak in the room, but fine in main area.
Great pool.

Room Tip: for wifi, do not go top top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koekeloer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel was a part of our bicycle tour and we really enjoyed staying here. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very accommodating. We had a very nice time here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is located in a beautiful spot, overlooking the Danuba. we stayed there as part of our cycling trip. The room was O.K. we got a big room with an extra bad and everything was nice and clean. No bath, just shower but they have a nice worm pool and a sauna. The restuarant was very good although quite crowded. The hotel is very remote so one must eat in the hotel restaurant. There was a free salad bar at dinner. Breakfast was great.
They have an indoor garage for the bicycle. WiFi wise - the best place to get internet was the bike-garage...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is the location. The hotel itself was dated. Rooms had a real 70s feel about them but they were clean and large with lovely views of the Danube. Service was average including both checkin and dining. Food was average and the stand out at this hotel was really the terrace where you could enjoy a beer or wine while overlooking the river in the sun.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Shooshonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We loved our stay in this hotel. Fantastic location. Make sure you get a room overlooking the Danube. Slightly dated hotel and rooms but this is really trivial when you see the location . It should be on everyone's "bucket list" don't miss it.

Room Tip: You must get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on our first day of the Danube cycle journey. The hotel is beautiful, located right on the waterfront. The room is very big and has a private terrace looking at the danube. The restaurant is very nice, and they were very cooperative and made us special vegan dishes not included in the menu.
The spa is free of charge and includes an indoor pool, wet and dry sauna, and even free tea and beverages.
After a day of cycling in the rain this was a perfect place for rest and renewing your energy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I couldn't wait to get here after an incredibly long cycling day. However,service from reception, to the dinner restaurant and breakfast service was almost surly. I got the impression that the dirndl wearing staff were sick and tired of guests. In the restaurant, it seemed that we were ignored (hoping we'd go away?) for 15 minutes before they even acknowledged our presence. The menu was very meaty. The dinner that arrived was ordinary but without a car there were few options.

Views from the room, (of theDanube) ,were spectacular and made the room a very relaxing place to be. Otherwise the room was ok, nothing special and on the smaller side? There were some odd 'special effects' like blue lighting behind the spare toilet paper roll. The room was quite 'tired' and in need of being refurbished.

There seemed to be many recreational pursuits available and there was a HUGE number of cycle tourists at the hotel. The bicycle garage was large but not quite big enough for the number of bikes being stored.

I wouldn't go back on account of the unfriendly service and seemingly unhappy staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porcupinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva G, Inhaber at Hotel Donauschlinge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Porcupinegirl,
thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.
We are terribly sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our Hotel. I would like to apologize for the unfriendly service and staff I promise you that I will talk to my staff immediately.
Our dinner menu offers three different main courses: a meat, fish and vegetarian option.
When our bicycle garage is full, we offer to store the bicycles in our yard. We are sorry when you were not informed about this option.
Yours sincerely, Eva Gugler & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schlogen
2.8 mi away
Revita Hotel Kocher
Revita Hotel Kocher
#1 of 1 in Sankt Agatha
82 reviews
11.3 mi away
Schloss Muehldorf
Schloss Muehldorf
#1 of 3 in Muhldorf
72 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Faustschloessl
Hotel-Restaurant Faustschloessl
#1 of 1 in Oberlandshaag
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Landhaus Falkner
Landhaus Falkner
#1 of 1 in Hofkirchen im Muhlkreis
9 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel Weisser Hase
Hotel Weisser Hase
#3 of 24 in Passau
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donauschlinge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donauschlinge

Address: Schloegen 2, Schlogen 4083, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Schlogen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schlogen
Price Range: $141 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Donauschlinge 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Donauschlinge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing