We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gerl
Nearby Hotels
$156
$144
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
$152
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
117
81
16
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
81
16
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolfree parkinglovely hoteltwo nightsplenty of parkingsofa bedbasic roomsalzburg airportpoolssaunaaustriacitytrunkannex15minscleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 219 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2007

I highly recommend this B&B in Austria. We went to Salzburg for a five day trip with our two children. We rented the "family room" which consists of two separate bedrooms and a small living area. The rooms were spotless and exactly what we were hoping for. The beds are twins pushed together to make a larger size, and each one is made up European style with fluffy duvets.

The room comes with a self-serve breakfast buffet with everything from cold cereals, fruits, juices, breads, and boiled eggs (and all the coffee you can drink) There is an outdoor pool and small indoor pool. We were looking for a place with a pool since it's fun for the kids to swim a bit after a long day of sightseeing. This worked out well. There is also a playarea outside the hotel with a swingset and slide, and a "life-size" chess set.

The location of the hotel worked perfectly for us. I wanted a place a bit out of the city of Salzburg so we could have a little breathing room and space for the children to play outside. The bus stop is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and the front desk helps you figure out the timing. The ride into Salzburg takes about 20 mintues and it passes the airport, bus station, and ends a Mirabelle Gardens. Mirabelle Gardens seemed to be the center of everything where you can pick up tours and also walk easily into the old city center.

The best part about this hotel, though, is its staff. Our waitress in the evenings (there is a good restaurant open for dinner as well as breakfast) was lovely and sweet with the children. The woman at the front desk was extremely helpful and kind every single day. The owners, the cleaning staff, everyone was just very welcoming.

If you are looking for a hotel to stay in with children, I highly recommend Hotel Gerl.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank scdBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We booked the Gerl at the last minute (just a day before we travelled) because we needed a place to stay for one night near the airport. This is just 2 or 3 minutes drive from the terminal so perfect either for those picking up a hire car or for those wishing to get a short taxi ride from the airport.

The staff were friendly and helpful on email and arranged for us to access our room late (past 10pm) even though they shut their desk by then.

We were delighted by the Gerl, the bar was lovely for a late drink, just what we needed after a late flight into Salzburg! There are tables and chairs to sit outside.

The hotel has plenty of parking.

The room and bathroom were just perfect - comfortable and clean.

Breakfast was OK and it was lovely to be able to sit outside first thing in the morning.

Although we only stayed overnight and had to leave the next morning to travel on to another location the Hotel Pension Gerl left a lovely impression on us and we would definitely return on our next visit to the Salzburg area.

Hopefully next time we will be able to stay a little longer to experience the hotels other facilities (pool, restaurant etc).

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmberRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

What a fabulous pension! It more than surpassed our expectations! We will probably never find another pension this nice for the price in all of Europe! We have stayed many places throughout Europe, but this one even surpasses our stays in the hotels here!

It is newly remodeled, and done very nicely. Everything is fresh and well decorated. Very comfortable rooms, with space to breathe. The staff is more than friendly and very helpful. They speak very good English here too, which is nice.

The playground was nice to have for the children, and though the outdoor pool was closed for renovations, the indoor pool suited our needs perfectly, for the weather wasn't warm enough to swim outside anyway.

The restaurant was reasonably priced and had good food.

Though it was located outside of town, and you had to drive 10 minutes to the city, it was so worth it. We saved a bundle on hotel costs, plus the quality of the whole experience was so much better than a city hotel with the noise and no view. The views from our rooms were of the beautiful Alps!

Our favorite place to stay by far, and hope to return again on our next journey through Austria!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yerebels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

This pension is outside of the town of Salzburg, so if you are looking to be near the heart of Salzburg, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for hospitality, good food, wonderful cozy rooms, attention to detail, and wonderful room prices, then this is the place for you! My husband and I stayed there in June 2006 and we were greeted with friendly staff and a clean cute suite. It's large enough to hold many rooms, but is quaint and has a feeling of closeness. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank natalieh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: unbedingt nach ruheigem Zimmer (Innen oder Hinten) fragen.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews