We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a spa”
Review of Hotel Koniggut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Koniggut
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Wals
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. The room was very nice (2 adults, 2 kids). Breakfast was buffet style with cooked eggs on offer. Spa was great but note it shuts earlier on Saturday so check the times. Staff were friendly.

We were prepared to drive into Salzburg which took approx 20 minues, parking was easy and offset the cost of a city hotel of much lower quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windsurferdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We asked when we booked about the smoking situation and they assured us a non smoking room and that there is only one place in the whole hotel where smoking is allowed-
BUT there was second hand smoke everywhere! They allowing indoor smoking directly in the lobby and smoking on all balconies- in our so called non smoking room it smelled like in a pub. Smokers everywhere. When we went to the lobby to communicate they took no responsibility, they were unfriendly, they lied to us and said this situation would be "normal" in all hotels in austria! We left this smoking chamber after 3 hours- no thank you!
And by the way ...in the following hotel a non smoking room was in fact a non smoking room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank AmanjotKaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We booked the hotel for two nights while visiting the Salzburg/Berchtesgaden area , and extended our stay one more night after the first day. We had a bit of a problem finding it as our GPS kept telling us to turn right on a path, but once there realized our error. There was free parking in a lot right behind the hotel. If that is full there is an overflow lot further down the road. I agree that taking taxi's would be expensive, and it would be a bit of a walk to a bus stop. We loved the atmosphere, the friendliness of the Families Reiter and Mitarbeiter who run the hotel, especially their youngest son Aloice. He must work 14 hours a day and is never cranky. Actually all of the family is present during the day and over long hours.Everyone spoke some English and they were very quick to do something special for us. There was no cordon bleu or jagerschnitzel on the menu and when we asked if that was available, they said they would ask the chef. Within minutes he said of course he could make it, but it would take a little longer. We were in no rush and my husband and our friends got exactly what they wanted, I had a veal ragout which was wonderful. Every morning we found a huge breakfast bar and lots of fresh coffee. They brought pots of it to the table for as long as we wanted. There was also tea of several kinds available. I was surprised to find freshly made eggs available cooked to order one morning, but always a huge supply of bread, rolls, cereals, meats and cheese, eggs and bacon or sausage, yoghurt and jellies and jams. Had we asked for something, I think they would have tried to get it. There was a separate breakfast brunch area set up in the lounge that was for the seminars only and it was clearly marked. The room was large and confortable with a basket of spa towels in the room. Also a lovely balcony overlooking the back of the hotel and the mountains to the right, The bath was large wiht a glassed walk-in shower and towel warmers on the wall. There was a computer in the lobby which was avilable up to about 10:00 pm I think. We had brought out own mini so we didn't need it . They helped us book a tour which picked us up at the hotel, but did not return us, and we didn't realize that. We had to get a taxi back while we could have driven in and had our own car.We did let them know and they were very apologetic. Apparently it was in the brochure and we didn't see it, Be sure to ask if you book a tour. We played cards in the lounge a couple of evenings, and they brought drinks or coffee to us there. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and would stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fun4Two70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

We stayed in that hotel for a weekend to visit a concert in Salzburg and it was the ideal place to reach the city of Salzburg as well as the airport but one should have a car to go there. To reach the hotel by taxi costs about Euro 15.
The hotel is located in a countryside village called Wals, about 7 kms from the city centre. It is a good place if somebody does not want to stay downtown. Once we made a walk to the farms that are around the place. Our children enjoyed that a lot although in our room one could hear the cows and cocks quite early. The hotel is family run and the atmosphere is quite familiar.
They offer a very good breakfast and the price for the room was very much o.k. Parking was free as well as the sauna area although we had no time to use it. In a weekend there is too much to see in Salzburg!Next time we will take more time for the Salzburg area and stay in Koniggut again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lwoerndl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

We found the hotel in bedandbreakfast.com. The hotel is about 15 miles from Salzburg in Wals-Sizenheim. The hotel was too busy to send us directions but fortunately our GPS took us to the hotel without a problem.
The hotel itself was very nice. The rooms were spacious and clean. We had the following problems with the hotel:
1. On the first and second night we were bitten by mosquitoes. When we complained on the third day, the problem was fixed. The next two nights were mosquito-free.
2. The hotel is mainly a conference hotel and caters to companies that send their employees on conference. The breakfast buffet is very nice but is not replenished after 8:30am.
3. The coffee was cold on all the four days. On our last day we specially requested hot coffee and were able to enjoy it.
4. The laundry was not delivered on time because "Grandma had to go to the doctor". We said we were prepared to have the laundry back in any condition since we were leaving the next morning. The laundry was delivered cleaned but some items were still moist and not dry. They charged us 30Euros for this. The same load cost us 9 Euros in Rome and 10CHF in Switzerland.
5. There was no pool or childrens playground as shown in the pictures at bedandbreakfast.com
6. On our last night there was a lot of hammering and moving of chairs. I think they were setting up a conference room. The noise stopped at 10:30pm.
7. Although they had an internet connection, we had to provide the laptop which we did not have. Hence we could use the internet in the hotel.
The hotel staff were polite but aloof. The other people at the hotel were mostly there on business.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suns4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank brunie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Jedes Zimmer empfehlenswert
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maria4303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wals
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gerl
Hotel Gerl
#1 of 10 in Wals
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gabi
Hotel Gabi
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grunauer Hof
Grunauer Hof
#4 of 10 in Wals
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Laschenskyhof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Himmelreich
Hotel Himmelreich
#2 of 10 in Wals
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walserwirt
Hotel Walserwirt
#10 of 10 in Wals
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koniggut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koniggut

Address: Oberfeldstrasse 1, Wals 5071, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Wals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wals
Price Range: $122 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koniggut 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Koniggut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Koniggut Salzburg Region, Austria - Wals

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing