We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good combination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Laschenskyhof
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Wals
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good combination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We seem to return to this friendly, family-run hotel every 5 to 10 years. Its good location for visiting Salzburg and the Salzkammergut, the large, multi-room restaurant serving good homely Austrian food, and the view of the nearby mountains from most of the rooms provides for an excellent combination. Salzburg is less than 15 minutes drive away. If you drive there, park at one of the two under-the-mountain, centrally located parking garages.

The hotel staff is very friendly and accomodating, the rooms are clean although somewhat on the small side; their decoration is traditional and could do with an update. Try for one of the larger rooms, perhaps with a balcony facing the local mountains.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main building, but facing the local mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    26
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
29
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panamanian in Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Salzburg was our 4th stop after 9 days of holiday. We arrived early before check in time and they were kind enough to let us check in and leave our luggage in the room. The room was clean, cozy, beautiful bathroom and a balcony. We loved to wake up every morning in this room. The sun shine through the courtains lightened the room each morning and it was just beautiful. The beds are comfortable and the staff is great. Everybody so nice and helpful, the breakfast is superb with all those wonderful Austrian breads, jams, jellies, cheeses, hams, yougurts, fruits, and many other things that I just could not eat because it was plenty. We used public transport, at the lobby they will give you information about the bus and a timetable. Bus stop is only 2 or 3 minutes walk, very easy. It takes exactly 18 minutes from/to the city center. It worked great for us. We extended one more day because Salzburg and its sorroundings are just beautiful and worth to visit. If you are in salzburg on a Saturday morning dont miss the market in the city. One big plus for the Laschenskyhof is the restaurant, besides the great breakfast, the restaurant is open all day, we had dinner one night and enjoyed very much the Austrian cusine. All we can say is that we loved the hotel, the food, the rooms, and the staff, thank you for a wonderful stay and many regards to the lovely lady that greeted us every morning with a big smile for breakfast, she was pregnant. We would very much like to stay at this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

I stayed here many times between 2004-2007 whenever I was passing through Salzburg, needed a nice hotel, but did not want to spend $400 for the Sacher downtown.

The hotel is new or newly refusbished, offers clean and comfortable rustic rooms, nice people, and a sizable restaurant serving rustic Austrian fare (soups, dumplings, roasts, wienerschnitzel, wurst - you get the picture). Good selection of beers, too (weiss as well as pils). The hotel location is very convenient: close to the Autobahn, and even downtown Salzburg is no more than 10-15 minutes by car. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel. I think Mozart Airport is close by as well.

This hotel is a terrific deal: great food, comfortable, clean, friendly - all that for a very reasonable price. It is not high-end or opulent, but for what it offers, I give it a five!

  • Liked — The rustic Austraian atmosphere
  • Disliked — Could not stay longer and devour more dumplings, pork roast and weissbier
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neworleanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach,Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2006

October 6,2006
We have just stayed at the Hotel Laschenskyhof for about the fifth time and have enjoyed staying there each time. The location is near Salzburg in the country with a great view of the surrounding mountains. The hotel is large and decorated with all the quaint furniture of the area --but new. The large rooms have all the amenities --elevator, showers, wake up calls, play area for the children, outside beer garden, and the hotel staff is very friendly and very willing to help you. A huge delicious breakfast is included. We have eaten in the restraurant and they serve very good food. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Lovely accomodations and scenic location
  • Disliked — It is alittle far from Salzburg
  • Tips/Secrets — Use your GPS to find it or have a great map
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Germanfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2004

When visiting Salzburg we originally planned to stay in the heart of the city, but after seeing the traffic in town decided to try one of the hotels just outside of town. We lucked into the Hotel Laschenskyhof which is in a rural area just a couple of miles west of the center of town. It was a great experience.

The hotel looks like an alpine lodge but is internally decked out in comfortable features. Our room was large and the bathroom almost a room by itself! This was the largest and most comfortable room we stayed in Europe.

The views include the local fields and pastures, rising up to the Alps. Fantastic.

The hotel also had no smoking FLOORS and also no smoking ROOMS in the restaurant. It was nice to sleep and enjoy meals without having to put up with the irritation of cigarette smoke!

The hotel and restaurant staff was extremely helpful, the selection and quality of food was great, and walking paths thru the surrounding area made it a nice, quiet setting. The bus line into town stops just outside the hotel, but it was easy to drive in since we were only a couple of miles out of town. It was also convenient to get on the highway to visit sites to the west and south of town.

This was a comfortable place with great people in a pleasant setting only a few miles outside of Salzburg.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wals
1.0 mi away
Hotel Himmelreich
Hotel Himmelreich
#1 of 10 in Wals
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gerl
Hotel Gerl
#2 of 10 in Wals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
1.6 mi away
Hotel Koeniggut
Hotel Koeniggut
#4 of 10 in Wals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gabi
Hotel Gabi
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Laschenskyhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Laschenskyhof

Property: Hotel Restaurant Laschenskyhof
Address: Josef-Hauthalerstrasse 2, Wals 5071, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Wals
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wals
#3 Family Hotel in Wals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Laschenskyhof 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Laschenskyhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Laschenskyhof Salzburg Region, Austria - Wals

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing